We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All a bit weird”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of China Beach

China Beach
Ranked #24 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Asian, Bahamian, Chinese, Caribbean, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our chic China Beach restaurant offers a culinary tour of the Pacific Rim, with an appetizing menu inspired by the exotic flavors of Vietnam, Thailand, Korea, Indonesia and Malaysia. Specialties prepared by our talented chefs include mouth-watering sushi dishes and fresh Bahamian seafood. Imaginative and colourful Asian decor sees scarlet parasols doubling as chandeliers in a restaurant that seems to float above the resort's serpentine swimming pool.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“All a bit weird”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

China Beach sounds like it should offer Chinese food, right ? Well, yes but also Japanese and Thai dishes in a strange fusion type menu, which includes 'Asian soup'. Service was OK, the wine list totally inappropriate (no Reisling let alone any Gewurztraminer for example) and the food we tried was mediocre. The tables are laid with cutlery and chopsticks but everything is served on flat plates which make the latter tough to use. If you're staying in the Grand Lucayan anyway and want a change, fair enough. Not worth the trip otherwise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adrianloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    61
    39
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Have been here a few times and have never been disappointed. Try the tiger shrimp or the sweet & sour chicken! Great place to take a date or spouse for a nice dinner

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interlaken, NJ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful view on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed at thge grand lucayan, so the location was great, rainy night which made us try it. Good service, tasty food, nicely platted, portions are large, two of shared a rice dish and one entree and it was more than enough.
the prices are high, but that is true in general of the islands. Worth a try, I would return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutch531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, but Service was Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We got in late and just had the Pu Pu Platters. Service was great, again, 3 people were taking care of us and so nice. Our server even offered to drive us around and show us the island! WE have a great photo with Delphine who was the best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne5842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The food was great - portions were generous and everything was as I would have expected; but the pricing seemed a little steep. The view at sunset through the floor to ceiling windows added to the ambience though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Korczy427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Beach also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to China Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing