We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeport Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freeport Resort & Club
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We went here on our honeymoon as a gift from a friend with a time share. It was awful. First, it is in the middle of nowhere. The beach is 2+ miles away. Second, you are at the mercy of their drivers to take you anywhere tourist-like. There are no restaurants nearby so you must cook your own meals. Third, the water was cold, the toilet barely flushed, and the a/c didn't cool the muggy atmosphere. We immediately switched to Our Lucaya Reef Village on the day we flew into the Bahamas and were much happier. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Stay in Lucaya, not in Freeport!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNewBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from a week at the resort and had a great time. The place is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and willing to help you out with anything you need. The resort is very community based and you really get to know others who are vacationing the same week. It is not a young adult college/ spring break type of place, but definetely very enjoyable. The resort is very clean and well maintained. We did not rent a car, but used the resort's shuttle and the island taxis almost everyday. The beach is 2 mile walk away- but there is a shuttle most days to and from, as well as the local supermarket. The dinner cooked onsight on Wednesday night was the best meal we had all week!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBullfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed here through our timeshare and had a great time! It is a small "resort" with a very friendly atmosphere. I sat at the pool the first day and when I got up to leave, an older gentleman said "I was just about to come over and introduce myself." He then proceeded to do just that, along with his wife, and asked me about myself. Most of the guests are regular visitors, know each other, and love to meet the newbies.
The staff was all very nice and eager to help. As stated in previous reviews, Billy is a great guy who is happy to give advice on places to see or where to eat. He even called and ordered takeout for us! Locals hung out at the tennis court in the afternoon and then sat at the tiki bar making drinks into the evening. For me, this gave it an even more local feel.
Our room was big- one bedroom with a queen size bed and TWO pull-out couches, with two full baths. Its a shame there were only 2 of us, we could have fit 2-4 more comfortably. It was tiled floors throughout (which was great) but they also had carpeted rooms, which I would have liked to see for comparison.
Draw backs: no on-site restaurant. The closest is Ruby Swiss which we heard great things about but when we stopped by we were turned off by the somewhat priciness. Also, the abovementioned tiki bar was only opened one afternoon, that we noticed. They sold some food and jugs of Bahama Mamas. An on-site fitness center would have been nice too, but you can go for a run down the streets and feel comfortable.
This hotel is in an area that was bustling before the hurricane(s): International Bazaar, but now its somewhat rundown. Meaning, there isn't alot going on here. I HIGHLY recommend renting a car if you want to get around at all. The hotel offers shuttles to the grocery store, but it is not regular. They also have a free shuttle to the local beach (Xanadu) but you leave at 11am and they return at 3pm. No other shuttles are offered. So if you want to leave the beach early, or go anywhere else on the island, you need to get a taxi or take the bus. We LOVED having a car. We were able to go to Gold Rock Beach on the eastern side of the island (beautiful!) and then Deadman's Reef on the west side (amazing!). The freedom of having a car also allowed us to go into Port Lucaya every day for meals, drinks, and entertainment. That said, there were plenty of people there who did not have a car. They were happy spending the day at the beach, or they joined tour groups that picked them up at the hotel. So it depends on what you're looking for.
We loved the island and, if we decide to return, would be happy to stay at FR&C again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

This resort has survived two major hurricanes about 4 years ago that devastated the island. Now with the U.S. recession, the island is also suffering. The resort is beautiful and well maintained, an oasis in the centre of Grand Bahama island. The resort is well managed with a loyal and friendly staff. One of the two golf courses is now open which have been closed since the hurricanes. Daily shuttle service is provided to the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

This is a timeshare resort with many families that have owned fixed weeks for 20-30 years, and the focus is on the long-standing owners. A major "older" clientelle dominates, that even though friendly, are very comfortable with the resort "as is". The pool is nice and the grounds are very well kept. There is NOTHING near in regards to amusement or entertainment. Island transportation from the resort for an extended stay can get expensive with cabs running anywhere from $12 to $14 to Lucaya (take the public bus for only $1.25 each way). The staff is very friendly and have a fantastic relationship with the timeshare owners. The resort rooms are very basic -- the only provisions in the bathroom are a very small bar of soap, toilet paper and tissues. If you are looking for a no frills vacation, this is the place. If you are looking for Bahamas tropic memories, I suggest the Westin.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Hopewell Junction, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

My husband and I traveled to Freeport in January. We read the reviews before we went so I was prepared for a bad experience and we got the opposite. We had a great time at the resort. Now keep in mind these are timeshares (like condos) not a 5 star hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and had a great kitchen stocked with plates, utensils, pans etc. The timeshare owners (ones that own units at the Freeport Resort) are so friendly. They come right up to you and introduce themselves and love to learn about the new people in the resort. They are also a great resource on where to go on the island. There were many days and nights were my husband and I sat in the hot tub and chatted with different timeshare owners. The pool is small but perfect for lounging and the hot tubs were great.

I highly recommend renting a car. This resort is not right on the beach but they will provide transportation to the super market and to area beaches etc but we enjoyed the freedom of being able to go anywhere we want. It was easy to navigate around the island and find all the beaches and driving was easy even at night. I recommend introducing yourself to and getting to know Billy who works at the resort. He will give you plenty of recommendations on where to go, where to eat and he makes a mean Bahama Mama. Every recommendation that Billy gave us was spot on and we always had a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchessLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, ME
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I recently traded our timeshare for a stay at FR&C for our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved our stay. Unfortunately, we picked one of the coldest weeks in Bahamian history to visit, but we still had an amazing time, thanks in large part to the staff at the resort. No, this is not a luxury resort, but we knew that going into the vacation. It is, however, a great place to stay if you want to have a relaxing vacation and if you like to get to know your resort staff and fellow guests, which we do. The resort's landscaping is beautiful, the pool is heated and hot tub is nice and roomy. We saved a lot of money by cooking our own breakfasts, lunches, and some dinners. Our kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals, and the resort offered convenient shuttle runs all week to the grocery store, as well as complimentary rides to and pickup from Xanadu beach. FR&C is an easy walk to the Ruby Swiss restaurant (where you MUST have the Steak Diana), to the Silk Cafe (a breakfast place), and to the International Bazaar and a movie theater. It is close to Port Lucaya (beaches, casino, watersports, marketplace, dining, etc.) and horseback riding. Definitely sign up for the traditional Bahamian dinner Tuesday night prepared by Rose and Rochelle. It was delicious! FR&C offers happy hour several evenings a week where you can get drinks and snacks from the grill. There are also tennis courts, bike rentals, a volleyball court, and two large trampolines. You can access you e-mail and make phone calls at the check-in area. The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, and go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. They will book any tour for you, call you a taxi, or arrange for a car rental. We had an amazing vacation and will definitely go back and stay at FR&C again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineSaraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
4.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#12 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport Resort & Club

Property: Freeport Resort & Club
Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freeport Resort & Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Freeport Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeport Resort And Club
Freeport Resort & Club Hotel Freeport
Freeport Resort & Club Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing