We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for "over 50" persons who enjoy mingling/touring with others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freeport Resort & Club
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for "over 50" persons who enjoy mingling/touring with others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

On the drive from the airport to the Freeport Resort and Club, you observe that this section of the Bahama Islands appears to be a bit depressed, i.e. you see a lot of half-completed buildings, developments and homes. Some formerly open hotels/resorts are shuttered. The parking lots surrounding them are splintered by weeds, and are flecked with societies detritus, e.g. rubbish cans, plastic chairs, wind-driven plastic rubbish bags. Apparently, a few years ago, three hurricanes caused destruction from which the area has not yet fully recovered. Close to the resort, a casino closed, and the International Bazaar, where locals displayed and sold their wares, was shuttered. Therefore, your initial impression might be one of disappointment and trepidation of the week to come.

Arriving at the resort, you discover that the registration area is a bit smallish, crowded and not well lit. The person behind the desk was very nice and told us where our room was located, provided our keys and relieved us of $40.00 for maintenance and utility fees. You will be responsible for bringing your luggage to your apartment. If that apartment happens to be on the 2nd or 3rd level, you will need to carry your bags up the stairs – there are no elevators.

The apartment itself was quite clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The kitchen has a full complement of dishes, cutlery, microwave oven, coffee maker, etc. The TV is the older picture tube version, not the newer flat screen type, but adequate for viewing.

The resort provides a “Supermarket Run” on Saturday, Monday and Wednesday mornings where you can purchase food. The prices, of course, are higher than in the US stores and the selection is not as expansive. If you will be only staying at the resort for a week, you probably will be going to some of the Freeport Resorts’ sponsored/organized dinners (more on that later), so I caution you not to buy much food for evening meals but rather focus on buying breakfast cereal and/or eggs, juices etc.

The weekly Sunday 3:00 PM orientation meeting takes place in a smallish bar area adjacent to the pool. This was hosted by Billy, a rather affable young man who tries to put at ease all new arrivals and give them a perspective as to what to expect during their stay at the resort. His overall emphasis is to relax, take it easy, get to greet/meet the other “newbies” and look upon your vacation as one big happy family event.

Billy then introduced, “Smiling Pat” a lovely full-sized native with an beautiful infectious smile and keening laughter. Although “Smiling Pat” is not employed directly by Freeport Resort and Club, she apparently is favorably sponsored by the resort. Smiling Pat then explained/offered three events to take place during the week for which one can make reservations
:
Tuesday – Tour Botanical Gardens, Gold Rock Beach, an underwater cave, a tour to the east of the island where we were feted to fried lobster boxed lunch (with corn and dark rice) and Bahama Mama cocktails

Weds. – an expedition/boat ride to a private island, complete with a Bahamian style cookout and Bahama Mama cocktails

Thurs Evening – Junkanoo Lobster Fest which took place at the Caribbean Sports Bar, a local, open-air bar. Included were two free drinks (either beer or Bahamian cocktails; i.e. no hard liquor)

The total cost of these 3 events is $199.00 per person and, as Smiling Pat points out, does not include admission fees to the Botanical Gardens, does not include lobster lunch on Tuesday (paid to a local woman at the lunch site) and other miscellaneous items (a total of $33.00 additional costs). Also, Smiling Pat was unable to accommodate credit card payment, so several guests were driven to a local ATM machine to make a cash withdrawal to pay Smiling Pat in advance. After partaking of the 3 functions, the group decided that the $200 per person price was a bit on the high side; a more palatable/equitable price would be $150.00 per person, given the quality of what was received, BUT, when on vacation, higher prices are normal.

Most guests conceded that Smiling Pat needs to improve her organization, siteing, content and control of these tours. Every tour was late in starting. It appears that she arranged for a Taxi/Van/Bus on a last minute ad hoc basis and, as a result, there were some occasions where the party had to split up because the vehicle was too small to accommodate everyone. At the Thursday Lobster Fest , several persons were promised a complete lobster (not just the tail) but were only served the tail. Smiling Pat “appeared” to be concerned, but nevertheless, was unable to repair the situation.

Of the three events, the Wednesday event was best, the Thursday evening Junkanoo Lobsterfest, second and the Tuesday tours, third. However all 3 events were pleasant and provides one the opportunity to meet, socialize and build memories with the other guests at the resort.

The dominant demographic profile of guests at the Freeport Resort and Club is married persons, nearing or already retired. Singles probably would be disappointed in spending a week there.

The Smiling Pat tours/events, although lacking a bit on overall quality, nevertheless provide an environment where the guests mingle and get to know each other. And it is that camaraderie, those friendships that become the seasoning, the spice that makes the vacation total experience successful at the Freeport Resort and Club.

Would my wife and I go back to the Freeport Resort and Club ? Despite our disappointment at the overall quality of the Smiling Pat events, we met some wonderful people and therefore had a very enjoyable vacation, with some very special memories. However, “catching light in a bottle twice” is unlikely and therefore we probably will not return to Freeport Resort and Club.

Hope that this review/commentary provides you with some guidance in choosing your next vacation spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcGEastBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have been there twice and are going back this year. It is a beautiful, well maintained place to go. The beaches are only a short drive away with diving available. Two gold courses close by if you want to play. The pool is wonderful and the staff couldn't be nicer. We go with our son and his wife and our inlaws. Our grandson has gone in the past but will be in school when we go this year. Always great people to visit with and their Bahama Mommas cannot be beat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear200a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We went here on our honeymoon as a gift from a friend with a time share. It was awful. First, it is in the middle of nowhere. The beach is 2+ miles away. Second, you are at the mercy of their drivers to take you anywhere tourist-like. There are no restaurants nearby so you must cook your own meals. Third, the water was cold, the toilet barely flushed, and the a/c didn't cool the muggy atmosphere. We immediately switched to Our Lucaya Reef Village on the day we flew into the Bahamas and were much happier. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Stay in Lucaya, not in Freeport!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNewBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from a week at the resort and had a great time. The place is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and willing to help you out with anything you need. The resort is very community based and you really get to know others who are vacationing the same week. It is not a young adult college/ spring break type of place, but definetely very enjoyable. The resort is very clean and well maintained. We did not rent a car, but used the resort's shuttle and the island taxis almost everyday. The beach is 2 mile walk away- but there is a shuttle most days to and from, as well as the local supermarket. The dinner cooked onsight on Wednesday night was the best meal we had all week!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBullfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed here through our timeshare and had a great time! It is a small "resort" with a very friendly atmosphere. I sat at the pool the first day and when I got up to leave, an older gentleman said "I was just about to come over and introduce myself." He then proceeded to do just that, along with his wife, and asked me about myself. Most of the guests are regular visitors, know each other, and love to meet the newbies.
The staff was all very nice and eager to help. As stated in previous reviews, Billy is a great guy who is happy to give advice on places to see or where to eat. He even called and ordered takeout for us! Locals hung out at the tennis court in the afternoon and then sat at the tiki bar making drinks into the evening. For me, this gave it an even more local feel.
Our room was big- one bedroom with a queen size bed and TWO pull-out couches, with two full baths. Its a shame there were only 2 of us, we could have fit 2-4 more comfortably. It was tiled floors throughout (which was great) but they also had carpeted rooms, which I would have liked to see for comparison.
Draw backs: no on-site restaurant. The closest is Ruby Swiss which we heard great things about but when we stopped by we were turned off by the somewhat priciness. Also, the abovementioned tiki bar was only opened one afternoon, that we noticed. They sold some food and jugs of Bahama Mamas. An on-site fitness center would have been nice too, but you can go for a run down the streets and feel comfortable.
This hotel is in an area that was bustling before the hurricane(s): International Bazaar, but now its somewhat rundown. Meaning, there isn't alot going on here. I HIGHLY recommend renting a car if you want to get around at all. The hotel offers shuttles to the grocery store, but it is not regular. They also have a free shuttle to the local beach (Xanadu) but you leave at 11am and they return at 3pm. No other shuttles are offered. So if you want to leave the beach early, or go anywhere else on the island, you need to get a taxi or take the bus. We LOVED having a car. We were able to go to Gold Rock Beach on the eastern side of the island (beautiful!) and then Deadman's Reef on the west side (amazing!). The freedom of having a car also allowed us to go into Port Lucaya every day for meals, drinks, and entertainment. That said, there were plenty of people there who did not have a car. They were happy spending the day at the beach, or they joined tour groups that picked them up at the hotel. So it depends on what you're looking for.
We loved the island and, if we decide to return, would be happy to stay at FR&C again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

This resort has survived two major hurricanes about 4 years ago that devastated the island. Now with the U.S. recession, the island is also suffering. The resort is beautiful and well maintained, an oasis in the centre of Grand Bahama island. The resort is well managed with a loyal and friendly staff. One of the two golf courses is now open which have been closed since the hurricanes. Daily shuttle service is provided to the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

This is a timeshare resort with many families that have owned fixed weeks for 20-30 years, and the focus is on the long-standing owners. A major "older" clientelle dominates, that even though friendly, are very comfortable with the resort "as is". The pool is nice and the grounds are very well kept. There is NOTHING near in regards to amusement or entertainment. Island transportation from the resort for an extended stay can get expensive with cabs running anywhere from $12 to $14 to Lucaya (take the public bus for only $1.25 each way). The staff is very friendly and have a fantastic relationship with the timeshare owners. The resort rooms are very basic -- the only provisions in the bathroom are a very small bar of soap, toilet paper and tissues. If you are looking for a no frills vacation, this is the place. If you are looking for Bahamas tropic memories, I suggest the Westin.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
4.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,958 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport Resort & Club

Property: Freeport Resort & Club
Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freeport Resort & Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freeport Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeport Resort And Club
Freeport Resort & Club Hotel Freeport
Freeport Resort & Club Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing