We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly rated and excellent service”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #1 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With unmatched service & attention to detail, Flying Fish offers a blend of traditional & modernist cuisine techniques not used anywhere else in the Bahamas. Focusing on local seafood & indigenous ingredients prepared with the utmost skill & creativity. Flying Fish boasts an in-house sommelier. Chef Tim Tibbitts is named in the Top 25 Chefs for 2014 in the Caribbean by Caribbean Journal. The restaurant has also been named one of the Top 5 in the Caribbean, is Fodor recommended for Grand Bahama Island and has been awarded 4 Diamond rating by AAA. Waterside dining at its finest.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly rated and excellent service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I selected "Flying Fish" to celebrate our wedding anniversary on our return trip to Freeport, Bahamas after 40 years. We read the wonderful reviews on the restaurant prior to scheduling our reservation and all of them are correct. We also had the chance to meet the owners who were gracious and actually came to our table to meet us. The snapper dish was fabulous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    76
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Food is AMAZING. Great burgers and live music. It's right across from the grand lucayan. The food is a bit pricey though but overall its a great restreraunt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Delight!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Charming staff is a given everywhere in this locale, but here it was matched with polished professionalism I am familiar with from great restaurants in major cities. The food lived up to my wildest high expectations, from the delightful Asian fusion shrimp ceviche all the way through the charming frozen lollipops (dollops of frozen sorbet happiness that cleansed the palate and lifted the soul). The cilantro-mango margarita was a standout on an island that is overpopulated with novelty drinks - and this Texan knows margaritas! Everything I put in my mouth at this beautiful restaurant was beyond delicious! It was creative, skillfully prepared, beautifully presented and impeccably fresh. Local fish entrees with worldly flair served in a perfectly relaxed, modern-elegant outdoor dining room kept touch with a great sense of place matched with an educated world food view. (Wordy way to say YUM!). We are going back for a second visit during our vacation stay - must make a reservation!

Helpful?
2 Thank Nahranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food and service on Grand Bahama”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Outstanding restaurant in a great little spot by the marina at Pelican Bay. Our drinks were outstanding, including a "fizzy" fresh raspberry margarita with basil-infused tequila. The ponzu-cured tuna with watermelon was one of the best dishes I've had anywhere. Fried goat cheese balsamic caviar, red onion, and cucumber foam accompanied the tuna and watermelon...just an awesome first course. For main courses, we had the local Mahi Mahi and crispy snapper. The Mahi steak was enormous and perfectly cooked but incredibly rich with spaetzle and tomato curry oil. The crispy snapper was even better with great clean flavors that combined well (smoked corn & tomato salsa, cheesy grit cake). The tempura banana split for desert was great as well.

The service was a welcome change from some other "disinterested" service we received at other establishments. Top-notch service that you would expect to find at most if not all fine dining restaurants but really stood out here as it was so much better than anywhere else on the island.

Overall, it's a pricey meal but worth every bit. Food that holds its own with the best meals we've had in the US and great service. Outstanding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanJM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rock Your Socks!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

i have very fortunate to have eaten some great meals and the meal that i had at the Flying Fish was one of the BEST i've ever had! the entire experience was fabulous! From the grilled calamari to the seafood mouse, to my AMAZING tuna dish! this place is an absolute MUST if you are in the area. it's a bit of splurge but worth EVERY dollar!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tracytaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing