We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excruciatingly Slow Service, Too many Bones, Poorly Displayed Menu and Lack of Shade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robinson's Seafood Delight

Robinson's Seafood Delight
Ranked #9 of 119 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a great little place right at the cruise ship pier in Freeport Harbour. Delores, the owner, is very friendly and her food is homemade. Conch!
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excruciatingly Slow Service, Too many Bones, Poorly Displayed Menu and Lack of Shade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate here based upon the many excellent reviews. It is a small shack with access to nearby, mostly unshaded (a problem at noon on a 90 degree F day) concrete tables. We were expecting to eat lobster, but apparently it was not in- season (early June) and was not on the difficult-to-read-sun-faded posted menus. We decided to try the fried fish and conch salad instead. We never have had conch salad before, and found it rather bland & tasteless… I would not order it again. I loved the fried fish, but my wife found it too difficult to eat…always getting a mouthful of bones…and she did not appreciate the head still being on. They prepare everything fresh in a very primitive kitchen…. and it takes over 20 minutes, even with only a couple of people ahead of you. The orders are hand written in a small ledger…nothing modern or electronic…not even acash register…a very casual way to do business. We’d go back on a cooler day and when they have lobster.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    31
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, Tasty Fried Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Robinson's is the place to go. Located in a tiny shack at the Freeport cruise ship harbor, Robinson's serves up some of the best, tastiest fried seafood ever. The Cracked Conch was incredibly tender, cooked to perfection and light as air. The shrimp was delightful and the fries were "da bomb". I am ready to go back for more!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
“Excellent Cracked Conch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After disembarking from the Carnival Sunshine, we were mere steps away from the finest Cracked Conch we ever ate! Fried to golden-brown perfection, the sweet, tender conch contrasts well with its light, crispy batter. Try it with the spicy house salsa! This salsa--which I believe is habanero based--provides an excellent balance of flavor and heat that compliments an already delicious dish. The next time our cruise ship stops in Freeport, we will definitely make it a point to visit Robinson's Seafood Delight again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AN47130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best little conch shack in Freeport!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Mr. Robinson and his crew whip up the salad right in front of you, make sure if you want it spicy ask for extra goat pepper!!!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A member of the staff on my cruise ship told me I *had* to go to Robinson's and get the fish.
It's a whole fish, I didn't ask what kind it was, flaky,white, lightly seasoned, and cooked/fried to perfection. I plan on trying a lot more items from the menu when I visit again next year. .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PresDuLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robinson's Seafood Delight also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Robinson's Seafood Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing