We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Returned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Had a great trip to Freeport and stayed at the Grand Lucayan .. Property was well maintained and very clean..Service was good and ocean view (rooms) were very nice.. Island is struggeling a bit financially..but hope occupancy picks up with new airline coming in November 4.. Port Lucaya (accross the street offers restuarants ,bars and entertainment and shopping..Casino offers gamblers action..in summary ..a very nice property and a good travel value....

Room Tip: Ocean View..6th foor or above..Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslandJim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,515 - 2,521 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Location: Amazing. Shops and restaurants across the street.
Beach: This is the place where i want to die.
Rooms: Best bedding ever. Clean and beautiful decor.
Lobby: Starbucks lobby which was great.
Breakfast: Awesome
Dinner: Awesome
Service: Awesome
Staff: Very accommodating.
Value for money: Excellent.
Will I return? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ernest f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for your kind review Ernest! We look forward to having you with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Beautiful property. 3 of the restaurants were closed due to remodeling but you are so close to the market where there are dozens of restaurants. Poolside service is great. The rooms are beautiful and the views are...well gorgeous! Lots of things to do. You are close to shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

11/4/11-11/6/11: We stayed at the Grand Lucayan as part of a cruise package. We had read reviews prior to our arrival that guests getting off a cruise ship can expect a lengthy check in process at the hotel and were advised to do an excursion or something until the lines died down. This is mostly true. The best advice is to arrange your own transportation from the cruise to the hotel, we took a taxi, it is cheaper and faster. It took us about 30 minutes to get through the check in line. As we were waiting, a bus from the cruise dropped people off and judging from the amount of people I knew that their wait time was going to be at least an hour to an hour and a half. We had a small issue with our A/C at first, but maintenance had it up and running within a couple of hours. My sister-in-law on the other hand had more serious issues. First, their door didn't lock so they had to get moved, but they got moved into a room with mold and ants so they were moved again. Handicap guests should be aware that the showers are in fact a tub and are not wheelchair accessible. The food at the resort is good, but be prepared to wait, I think all of our meals took at least an hour, including lunch by the pool. The casino is not "in" the hotel but is on property, it is about a 5 minute walk outside from the main tower. The activities could be better planned, somehow we were given an incorrect schedule and the BINGO cards desparately need replacing. There were a lot of small problems but overall I do recommend the Grand Lucayan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lowly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have been going here for the past 10 years and honestly its my FAVORITE vacationing place to go!!! Lots of fun activities and SAFE AS EVER!! what i like most about it is that you can go for pleasure and to relax and you can also go with children and have fun!! Their is always something going on here and the best part is YOU CAN LEAVE YOUR HOTEL AND BE SAFE!!! theirs soooo much to do out side of the hotel btw eating,bars are on every corner,shopping and even fireworks and dancing EVERY NIGHT!! i highly reccomend it for people of all ages and cant wait to have kids one day and bring them here and create the same memories I had growing up!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are great here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Greetings from Grand Bahama Chris W! It is wonderful to hear that we have been able to be a part of your annual vacation for the past decade and we hope to have the opportuity to welcome you back for a great many more, as well as your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Maybe I'm becoming more of a travel snob than I want to admit, but I was not at all impressed with this resort... The professional photos paint a picture of a much nicer property than what is seen in person...Our room was ocean front, but felt very much like a basic Holiday Inn. We did enjoy the fitness center and thought it was well equipped. The pools were okay and would not have been nearly as exciting had you not been overlooking the beautiful blue ocean and white sand beaches.

For those wanting to visit a more low-key Island without spending alot of money, this is probably a good choice. Otherwise, you would be better off over on Paradise Island staying at the Atlantis or the One Only....

Room Tip: request an unobstructed ocean view.. We had ocean front, but that didn't matter because the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nkwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

me and my wife stayed 3 days and 2 nights as part of the celebration cruise and we couldnt have been happier,The staff were beyond friendly and helpful,the room was fantastic,and the beach and beach activities were awesome.On site restaurants and those across the street were a little pricey,but the food was very good-2 for $5 beers at rumrunners in the market area made up for this.We are ready to go back as soon as we can!!!!!!

Room Tip: upgrade to beach view-well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rturn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Greetings from Grand Bahama Rturn1! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £248 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing