We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will not return...”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The pics def look better than the actual resort. Just returned today. I definitely agree that the people are not very friendly. An ocean view cost $50 extra per day. It is not all inclusive and the drinks and food are expensive. Not really much to do at or around the hotel. For peak season, the area was pretty dead. It was a cheap deal but I have learned by lesson as far as that goes...you def get what you pay for! The water was also a little too cold. There weren't too many people getting in the ocean or pools.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yountao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just came home from the Grand Lucayan Bahamas. All though there were a few grumpy people just doing their jobs, for the most part the jobs were done well. Even a bit of extra effort was made in getting peanut butter for us at breakfast!
The problem we experienced was the huge restrictions in the all inclusive package.
Along with an EXTREMELY limited menu for the lunches and dinners (4 choices and for lunch they were a hotdog a hamburger a chicken sandwich or a salad like a kids menu!) for dinner 4 choices again. Then the issue of the confusing this place is closed this night, that place is allowed on this day - this is not included and SIGNING for everything that you eat or drink (you want a coke? sign this...).
We don't understand if the "cost" of the meal that is allowed on the restricted menu was at whatever price, why were we not allowed to order anything from the regular menu at or lower than that price - and heaven forbid - if you want something more expensive, just pay THAT difference out of pocket?
At least we would have had variety.
I know, I should have listened to the other tripadvisor people and not take the all inclusive option....
Oh, and please, fix the doors and clean up the bathrooms in the pool area!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seishinannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just got back from our stay at the Grand Lucayan and had a really good time. The hotel/resort allowed us to relax and have a great time. It is a huge place that can accommodate just about anything you would need when staying there.

They have several restaurants that were decent (I think because it was early in the travel season that not all of them were open but we were happy with our choices...the Prop Club was opening the Friday after we left and it looked like it was going to be a big party). They had a Starbucks right outside the wing that we stayed in. The Irises restaurant was good, not great but for the hotel it was nice. They have a dining section and also a bar section with two different menus. We ate at Willy's for breakfast each morning. They have a breakfast buffet. It was a little pricey but it was convenient. You could order scrambled eggs or omelets and they also had a variety of meat on the warm side of the buffet. Then on the cold side you could choose from cereals, pastries, fruit (not a great variety), etc.

They had a spa and fitness club on the property that was nice. The equipment is a little old and many of the machines did not work but I was still able to work out without any trouble. They also had a wide range of classes available throughout the day. They even had spinning classes, but again their equipment is a little outdated. A lot of the people that live in the area have memberships to the gym so it was nice to talk with them.

There was a variety of pools to choose from which was nice. They were not heated so again the time of year it was a little cold for my liking. Their beach was great to plant yourself for the day also. They had people from the bars/restaurants coming around asking if you wanted anything to drink or eat on both the poolside and beach. It was very nice.

The hotel/resort location was also wonderful. You are right across the street from the market and marina. The market is not your typical caribbean market that I have seen. They have their local vendors selling just about anything you wanted but they also have real retail places that had nice clothing, jewelry, restaurants, etc. It is a great market to visit.

Our room faced the street and the market. It wasn't bad at all. I really didn't have any complaints with the noise but again it was not their busiest time of the year, that could be different during high tourist season. They do have 4 tennis courts in the front of the hotel that our room looked over and someone was giving lessons each morning around 7:30 am but it wasn't that bad. The room itself was big enough that you didn't feel closed in. The beds were very comfortable and they gave you plenty of pillows. The bathroom was nice sized also. I was very pleased with our room overall. We could have upgraded to an oceanview for $50/night but we didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room so we decided against it.

The staff was very pleasant and friendly. I was very pleased with this. We did not have a meal plan because we usually like to explore other places to eat other than just the hotel. However, when you did eat/drink on the hotel property you could simply charge it to the room. This was convenient so you don't have to carry money with you.

Overall it was a great place to stay. The area is very nice and clean and the hotel/resort was great to sit back and relax!

Room Tip: I asked for an upgrade availability but without paying the $50/night we were not upgraded like other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bknicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotels grounds were beautiful. Loved the hammocks...The restaurants were not all open at the same time which wasn't a problem because there are a number of choices right accross the street. Please do not book a marina or bayfront room. The view is of the tops of other building and it is VERY loud due to the air conditioner units being on the roof of those buildings which make the balcony un-usable and it made it hard to get and stay asleep. The beaches and pools were great. The rooms themselves were okay, the bedskirt was dirty and the carpet a little worn.

Room Tip: go beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our stay was for 2 nights as an excursion with Celebration Cruise Line we loved the resort. This location is perfect with plenty to do. Our only disapointment was the time of year we chose to vist. The weather in January is high 60's and too cold to swim.
The day we left reached low to mid 70's and was nice to lay by the pool. We definately want to return when we can swim.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Lovely hotel at a prime location right on the beach. Beautiful grounds and infinity pools and rooms with fantastic views of the ocean. A couple of restaurants at the location and market place across the street with many restaurant choices and shops. However, many are high priced. The shops are only open during the day and close at 5pm. A Coffee shop that serves Starbucks is on site. This is a great spot for younger people and families. Be prepared to do lots of walking. Not recommended for people who can't walk longer distances. Our first room was at the end of the building. It had a fantastic view but was 145 steps just from the elevator!!! The hotel rooms are also a walk from the main lobby. Hotel had a Spa area I didn't use as prices were quite high. The one thing about the hotel I didn't like was they "required" guests to wear ugly wrist bands like the ones a hospital patient must wear for your entire stay. They were distributed in various hideous colors. I refused to comply and was firmly lectured by staff. This rule is for "security" but only once in five days did anyone in security ask to see my ID. Other than that, the hotel was a good value. Ocean sports are right on the location which was convenient. Keep in mind that TheBahamas are parallel to south Florida, and winter months are not that hot and the water is cool. Swimming pool was also cold - few dared to get in. (January).

Room Tip: The hotel upgraded us to an ocean view at no charge. View was incredible! It was our second stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattienns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at this resort last week - and it was great! Ocean-front, balconied, serpentine pool, beach chairs, and all at a cheap price through CheapCaribbean. We went para-sailing, ate on the beach, Bahama-mama-ed, and had a great time. The help was unfailingly smiling and helpful, and there were activities throughout the day, including a manager's reception on the beautiful front lawn. The marketplace was steps away with lots of restaurant choices if you didn't want to eat on-property - but we found the China Beach restaurant outstanding. Having taken a bus tour around town and spoken to guests of other properties, it became clear that we were the winners - especially because everything was within walking distance with no need for cabs.

Room Tip: Ocean view on any floor is worth the up-charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing