We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
New Orleans
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing and wonderful time”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Recently returned to Freeport after almost 25 years. The area is different but hasn't changed much. Still rather remote and lowkeyed. This is why we enjoyed ourselves so much.
The hotel was in a GREAT location to EVERYTHING.....entertainment, food, casino, beach, scooter rentals....EVERYTHING!
The people of Freeport are so wonderful....can't do enough to please you...help with directions which we needed on the scooters one day!
Recommend seeing the island away from the main town....garden of the groves, national park and beach area, Diamond Sunrise Restaurant in High Rock....Bonfire on Taino Beach.

Room Tip: ask for oceanview rooms.....marina is way across street and not the greatest view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vfsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a very nice seaside resort. It was too cold for water activities when we were there, but it was still nice. They have a Star$ which is an excellent addition after suffering cruise ship coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Grand Lucayan. The hotel is very clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We had an ocean view room on the 8th floor and it was wonderful. The hotel is located on a beautiful beach. When the tide goes out you can walk for miles and it is truly wonderful. I am a picky person when it comes to rooms. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I had no complaints.
The marketplace across the street was a great place to visit and stock up on water and fruit. There is a little store named Santorini's located in the back part of the marketplace. Very small but a good place to buy oranges and bananas at a fraction of the cost of the hotel store. If you buy water at the hotel go to the sundry store connected to the coffee shop. It is $1 at the store and $2 or more at the coffee shop. That made no sense to me but if people want to save money shop around a little.
We had a great time and would return to this resort again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room on an upper floor. We had a corner room and the balcony was super large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tutu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Loved it!!The landscape was beautiful as was the pools and the oceanfront.The hotel is clean and well keep.The room was a little tired but spacious. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We saw a few other hotels in the area and this is by far the nicest. You will not be disappointed!! Only a short drive by taxi to reach the resort. We did not eat on the resort only at the marketplace but the restaurants looked nice. Lots to do on the resort if you like the water. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: oceanview or marina both good views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just returned from an 8 day stay at the Grand Lucayan. The resort is everything it claims to be. Room was spacious and clean. Beds were super comfortable. We had paid for an "Island view" room but to our surprise ended up with a corner room that overlooked both the island and the ocean! What an amazing view to wake up to in the morning. Here's a brief breakdown on different features of our stay.

Fitness Center: While there my husband & I used the fitness center frequently, the spinning class we took was an amazing workout & the instructor was great. The equipment was also for the most part up to date (there were a few treadmills that didn't work but were enough working that it wasn't a big deal). Staff were very nice & helpful.

Beach & Pools: Beautiful!! Plenty of chairs to lay out and the China Beach/Hammerhead restaurant comes by to bring you any drinks/food you may need. The pool was a tad cold but the ocean was not bad at all!

Wi-fi: Free! And worked from the rooms all the way to the beach :) This was a wonderful bonus.

Staff/Service: Have to say I don't understand all of the reviews about the rude service. Almost every single person we met on the Island from the hotel to the taxi driver to the wait service accross in the Marketplace were so friendly and hospitable. This was one of the biggest plusses of our trip!

Food at the hotel: We had the buffet for breakfast a few mornings while we were there. It was OK not spectacular and more expensive than just getting breakfast accross the street at the market place. The only reason we liked it was because of the egg station and fresh fruit. We had a small lunch at China Beach which was good (the drinks were STRONG not complaining :)) but also more expensive than accross the street.

Food at the Marketplace: We visitied most of the restaurants over our 8 day stay. All of the food was fresh and delicious. Our favorite restaurants were first of all Zorbas (best Gyro I have EVER eaten), After Deck (GREAT food, smaller portions, pricier than Zorbas, slower service), Le Med (they have a great early bird special), Agave (Pricey) and Cappucinos (also pricey but delicious). Stay away from Mermaids, this was the only restaurant we did not like, I ordered Jerk Pork and got a plate full of fat. A MUST try is coconut pancakes (delicious at After Deck and Zorbas).

Overall this was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. Very relaxing. I should note though that if you are going here looking for a Nassau-Like experience (Clubs, nightlife, partying etc) you will be dissapointed. The nightlife here is almost nonexistant. But that was fine with us b/c we were looking to just unplug & relax which this trip was PERFECT for.

Grand Lucayan: the only thing I could say they could improve on is the housekeeping. Some days they didn't replace all of the washcloths, towels, or bottled water (complimentary in the room). But one phone call and someone was always there right away with whatever was needed.

Also beware of all of the timeshare sellers! You will be hounded by them constantly accross at the Marketplace. Annoying!

Feel free to message with any questions!! You will not regret your stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

ROOM: We spent a little extra and got a 2 bedroom luxury suite - one br with king bed, one with TWO full, and pull out sleeper sofa, so we were able to sleep two teens and two adults and everyone had their own bed! The room was enormous, with a dining area and a wrap-around balcony that gave us views of the ocean, the main entrance and the market area across the street. Our room and the building we stayed in was very attractive and clean. They need to do a bit better at cleaning things like shower areas, where there was some mold or mildew in places. Not enough to be a problem and sad to see as it is easy to fix (Tilex anyone?). The FITNESS CENTER/GYM was the best I've ever seen at a hotel or resort - top notch equipment and facility. It is at the far north end of the property past the lighthouse. If the hotel is reading this, break down and post some good pics of the equipment so others can see how it's a great place!
NOISE: Ok, the one real beef we had, other than the cold weather (January, our bad) was that for 3-4 days some air handling equipment on top of the main lobby building went into squeak mode, so we had to fully close the balcony doors even tho we didn't want to.
SERVICE: generally a bit warmer than many have reported previously, but we did run into a few staff that were aloof at first. I learned however that if you worked at being friendly, people would usually come around. Times aren't great these days in the tourist industry, so please be generous when tipping - we found it was greatly appreciated.
FOOD: While very expensive, the room service menu was pretty good - we ate in one evening - and I have to tell you the pork chops was the best food I had the entire week we were on the island ( I believe it's from the Willey Broadleaf restaurant downstairs). Like others have noted, best place to have breakfast is Zorbas in the market across the street - recommend the coconut french toast. The China Beach restaurant on the hotel property was fancy looking, but a completely underwhelming experience food wise, as was Agave and Sabor, the restaurant at the Pelican Reef hotel, where I would however recommend the fried Conch, which was good. NOTE!: the "Kitchenette" in the suites only has a microwave and frig - no cooktop! After a run of so-so meals out we went to a local supermarket got some groceries and made BLTs inside with creative use of the microwave...one of the best lunches we had on the island.
ACTIVITIES: Dolphins - Our youngest teen went on the assistant trainer experience with the dolphins (UNEXSO) - if you can spring for the money, highly recommended. Instead of a few minutes in the water with the dolphins, you're there most of the day assisting the staff in feeding them, etc, and you get some fantastic quality time with them. If your kid is young, one parent needs to go too; they charge a much smaller amount for you to tag along. Scooters - please do not underestimate how fast they can go or how confusing driving on the "wrong" side of the road can be, particularly when making turns. A friend of ours almost crashed headlong into a car on a turn and went home with some huge bruises as souvenirs. Just go slow at first and remember that the RIGHT lane is the passing lane down there, so stay to the left when cars are around. Snorkeling - despite the cold weather we took in the scooba diving offered at a desk down in the lobby of the hotel (the building we were in, not the lobby proper). For a little extra, you can get wetsuits which made a huge difference in the chilly water. Recommend you bring your own snorkel and mask, as their masks all leaked a bit, which made trying to dive down a bit tricky.
All in all, a real nice vacation, but next time we'll come when the weather and water is warmer!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This has to be one of the most relaxing holidays I have had in years!! We were generously upgraded to a sea view room and I would recommend paying a little bit extra to have a view of the ocean. Very spacious rooms, balcony big enough for pre-dinner drinks (!) and an adequate bathroom. Michael, the best bartender in the world, prepared the best cocktails, delicious. He was also a fountain of knowledge about the island and gave us good advice on day trips. The beach was spotless, the sea glorious and the infinity pool clear and cool. Lobster pizza was simply outrageously fabulous, as was most of the food on offer. I would advise going out of the hotel for breakfast as this was a let down. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to families, couples and singles looking for relaxation and pampering in the great spa. Thank you to GM Ben for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Ocean view fifth floor up to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lush28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing