We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book "All inclusive"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not book "All inclusive"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked 7 days "all inclusive" with this property through a travel agency.
The worst mistake ever made. From the moment of getting our "special" fancier wristband we were treated with all exclusive. The buffet is for breakfast only with very limited choices, 2restaurants to choose for dinner one is closed at least once a week, you dress up for dinner and the host welcomes you until you show your wristband than you get the worst service possible. The all inclusive menu contains 3-4 dishes to choose from same every single day. There was no nightly entertainment inside the resort absolutely nothing. No music or show NOTHING. The only club within is the Prop Club that was not part of the all inclusive and was empty every single night...no wonder if you had to pay for drinks...You had to sign receipts each time you got a drink, than spent hours at the front desk try to get them void the charges that accumulated on your credit card....The staff was confused and miserable, service was terrible. The property and beach is beautiful but for the all inclusive price you can go to Cuba or Dominican or Mexico and enjoy 5 stars all inclusive with all included. We will never go back there and not recommending Grand Lucayan for all inclusive.

Room Tip: Ocean view above 8 th floor anything below palms trees will cover the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aniand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Christian at the Prop Club was an amazing host. She took customer service to a whole new level!
Catherine and Dwain worked the pool bar like true professionals. They made our vacation.
Def will come here again.

Thank you for the great staff.

Room Tip: Rooms were average but don't stay in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This resort was gorgeous! Rooms were spacious, clean and very nice. Our boat came in early morning and our room was ready for us when we got there - big plus! We got this as part of those packages where you have to go look at properties while staying in Florida (which we had already done ) so this resort was a great surprise. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We never ate at any of the resort restaurants but our room was clean and inviting. Good water pressure in the shower and a nice island view. The pool was a bit cold but it was nice having the beach right there. The only downside was the hot tub. It was a bit dirty and there wasn't enought water in it the one day, the jets were partly out of the water and water wasshooting up. Other than that we really enjoyed the Bahamas. The staff were exceptional especially the maids and bellmen. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were just lucky I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaGludy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just returned from a 4 night visit the first week of Feb. stayed in a ninth-floor, ocean view room. had a great package deal with Vision Air. strengths: great view from the room....the sunrise was gorgeous, clean/well-maintained room, comfortable beds, very nice pool/beach, friendly staff, free wireless, nice fitness center, and right across the street from the market with restaurants/shopping. weaknesses: could not get a king/queen bed (had to take 2 doubles) and thought restaurants on the resort were only ok. also, during the first week of Feb, pool and ocean water temp a bit chilly with only a few brave folks going in. recommendations: go for the ocean view room...it's well worth it, go for the higher floors (~6 or higher) to ensure a good view on the ocean side, and if you live near a city that Vision Air serves, check them out sooner vs later. there were only ~10 pax on the flight down and maybe ~20 on the return flight...would seem like it would be difficult for them to continue the service.

Room Tip: Go for the upper (6th or greater) on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingGulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This lovely property was a joy and a surprise. Beautiful water views with infinity pools, wildlife, and well-kept property.
Room was very nice. We had a "marina view" on the 7th floor of the main building, which was fine, except for the mild annoyance of the air conditioning units always running on the roof several floor below us.
We would return should the occasion allow, and would recommend it to friends.
By the way, this is a Radisson 4-star resort as well.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean is more expensive, but should be considered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Positives:
Awesome view from room of beach and property. HUGE sliding doors and high ceilings onto balcony. Floors 5 thru 10 best views since palm trees obstruct view lower. Free internet access a big plus, bring your MagicJAck to avoid high roaming fees from your mobile phone or international calling from room. Pools were too cold to swim in but jacuzzi tub warm. Beach well raked and clean, GREAT fine sand.

Casino somewhat small, no TVs and too much cigarette smoke but overall safe & friendly, especially Tonia the casino hostess. Got $75 credit toward room bill even though only played BlackJack for a few hours (but I played 100-200/hand often). Free $10 credit casino slot sign up.

Avoid taking the taxis from the hotel or the boat and go to common areas for great rates. Quoted $27 each from hotel to transfer to harbor but got a stretch limo offer of $20 plus $10 tip for both of us as we walked across street.

Negatives:
Not sure if air quality in room lousy or just being in new environment with new allergens, but both of us stuffed up. Overall friendly staff even though general culture seems to be a bit laid back. Grounds were VERY clean although leaf blower annoyed us in the early morning. Baggage/bus boys pushy about taking bags once arrived (looking for tips of course!) but eventually "let" us take our own bags to room (a bit of a walk so you might WANT to use them).

Across street was the marketplace with mostly overpriced shops/restaurants but found Zorbas to be quite fairly priced, especially for breakfast until 1pm. Fantastic seafood pizza at Peices thou pricy at $22.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bel420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing