We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but a couple things to be desired...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 16 June 2012

On the first day that we arrived here, the check in process seemed ok until we were told it would be about 20 minutes before our room was ready. We were fine with that, but after half an hour, we were still sitting in the lobby (which was full of people also waiting for their rooms) so I went back up to the desk to ask how much longer and was told "It's not quite ready, maybe another 15 minutes." Yeah right. We ended up waiting two and half hours in the lobby for our room, and then we had to get back in the long line to get our room key card. What a horrible way to start vacation. We left the U.S. at 6 am to get to Bahamas after 1 pm just to sit in a lobby tired and hungry for two and half hours? If it was not for the fact that we had paid in advance, we would have left and gone to another hotel. And the people at the front desk were unapologetic and unhurried despite the the lobby full of people waiting to check in.
So to start off our trip, we were disgusted with this place, but our trip did pick up after that. Our room was decent and clean, housekeeping was great and almost always cleaned our room in the morning while we were working out. Speaking of working out, the fitness center there is phenomenal. It was better than any fitness center I have ever seen at a hotel. Seriously, it was a full gym with plenty of machines, a room with spinning bikes, and another room where they have some group classes. They also had free weights as well as many weight machines.
The other great thing about this hotel was the pool. In fact, they had numerous massive pools, and their hot tubs were awesome. Oh, and the location of the hotel is great. It is right next to Port Lucayan so there are plenty of restaurants to eat outside of the hotel. Eating in Bahamas is expensive, but there were a couple of places that were reasonably priced and cheaper than the restaurant hotel.
The only other thing we did not like about the hotel was the internet. The wi fi didn't work most of the time unless you were in the lobby.
At the end of our trip, my opinion changed from day one. The only other thing I would advise is take a look at your bill the day you are leaving because we got a check out bill for meals and drinks we never ate and drank. However, the woman at the check out counter was able to track the wrong purchase was charged to us and got rid of the charges. The management needs to come up with a system so that this occurs less often.
In conclusion, the resort itself is impressive, and our room itself was fine. The check in process was awful, but some other guests had a better check in experience. If it was not for that and the internet, I would have rated it a 5.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChichiEze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hi ChichiEze,

We are so glad that your stay improved after the initial check in process. We apologize for the inconvenience of slow check in. We know that can be frustrating. However, we do thank you for your fair review. Though you had some issues, you seemed to note a majority of positive, enjoyable experiences throughout your stay, including the gym and the pools, and for that we are pleased. We know how one bad experience can sometimes ruin a vacation experience, and we are very pleased that was not the case. In regards to the WIFI, we're sorry you had some issues, but we do have an ethernet cable in every room so that you can access high speed internet at your convenience. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience during check in and we thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

The lobby is gorgeous...I thought we were really in for a treat! Unfortunately, the rest of the property hasn't been quite brought up to the standard set by the welcome facade. The rooms are clean...no furniture for your clothes (strange), and still has the old style tv's. The pools are nicely configured (need to be resurfaced - nothing alarming...just, again, not up to the standard set by the lobby). Little things annoyed me...no complimentary morning coffee (except the yucky kind you make in your room)...no towels at the towel hut (and even after asking a staff member and explaining i didn't want to leave 2 kids poolside unattended)...had to go inside in my swimsuit, dragging 2 unwilling wet kids with me. One whole area seems to be closed (where the waterside was). Otherwise, it was a nice time for my kids...beach was nice, junkanoo parade daily was a nice touch, movie nights were nice, breakfast buffet at willy t's was surprisingly VERY nice....again, the staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the big, cruise ship looking building (the breakers?)...but, the best rooms seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hello luxforless,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate all the feedback both positive and constructive. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. You bring up some very valuable criticisms and we appreciate that, as we are always trying to improve. We will certainly consider some of the items you brought to our attention and assess how we can do better. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your carefully considered feedback.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Learn to relax like the Bahamians! We enjoyed a week at the Grand Lucayan. Perfect location on the beach with the marketplace and marina just across the street. Loved the infinity pools, the Calypso music, Junkanoo parade, shopping & dining at the marketplace, and swimming with the dolphins (a must!). Great restaurants at the resort (China Beach has an awesome view of the beach), and also enjoyed waterfront dining at the marina/marketplace. Our ocean view from our room/balcony was beautiful. The service is good, it's not speedy - get used to being on Bahama time. :)

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hi Jill P,

We are so pleased that you had such a relaxing stay at the Grand Lucayan. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write this review and to rate us on TripAdvisor. We always love to read glowing reviews like yours. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Beachfront and across from the marketplace. It would be nice if they had umbrellas on the beach though. The pool area is nice w/ umbrellas. Just be prepared when the cruise ships come in though. They can pay for a day pass to use the beach and pool area. So your peace and quiet is gone until they ALL leave at 3 or 4oclock.
Rooms were clean, but could use some updating. Bathrooms were falling apart, the desk in our room was also falling apart.
In the summer months there is a $10 energy surcharge per night added to your bill. They do not tell you about this upon check in. You find out when you receive your bill at check out.
The drinks at Hammerheads pool bar are more expensive on the weekends. The buffet breakfast is very good and there are a lot of choices to eat for the price of $11.99 plus 15% gratuity pp.
The staff at the Plantation Cafe and Sundry Shop were not very pleasant, they always seemed "put out" when you walked in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear chocoj,

We are pleased that you have chosen Grand Lucayan for your stay. We take all feeback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in certian areas. Some of the changes we are implementing include maintaining the upkeep of the property on a regular basis, including ensuring that all guestrooms are well maintained and all appliances inside guestrooms are functional. The $10 energy surcharge per night added to your bill should have been communicated upon make the reservation (online or through a travel agent) and added on to the bill. We apologize if this was not the case. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I went on a short trip (we live in Orlando) last week to the Radisson Grand Lucayan in Freeport and really enjoyed our stay. The room itself was outdated but clean and overall very nice and the awesome beach and pools made up for the room. We did not opt to upgrade to ocean view but it was okay because we had a nice view of the marina and marketplace from our 6th floor room.
We enjoyed Willy Broadleaf restaurant for breakfast each morning for just $11.99 each. They had a very nice buffet with special order omelets. Our cabbie 'Walter' gave us a great tip about the Pisces Pizzeria in the marketplace. We had a delicious sausage and pepperoni pizza dinner one night and it was only about $20.
Loved the pools and the beach at the resort. Very nice sand and the water was fantastic. Appreciated that the security guard kept all non-paying cruisers on a separate beach so the resort beach was not crowded. The resort was at low capacity and it's sad to see it's still struggling from the 2004 hurricanes and the economy but yet they manage to keep everything running well. A little dissapointing that there weren't more restaurants open at the resort.
Visitors can pay a fee to enjoy the resorts amenities and a few of them said they'd wished they've booked at the Radisson rather than where they were staying. I think as the economy grows, if they keep running things as they do now this will continue to be a great escape resort for many years to come.
If you like high-end luxury resorts this one is not for you but if you are looking for a great beach and great pools to laze around in the sun at a family-friendly resort, all for a great price, then please consider this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hello mkl54,

We really appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. So glad that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. Thanks for all the great tips and recommendations. Pisces is a much loved favorite of ours too! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Place was beautiful we were on the third floor facing the ocean clear blue water white sand beaches. The hotel was very nice and well kept and the grounds of the resort were also well kept and very nice. It is busy when cruise ships come in on the beach but around 5PM when they leave it turns to a ghost town which was very nice. The only down side is there was not much of food choice unless you wanted to spend over 50 dollars. You can walk across the street to the market place which has various types of food the only one worth going to is Agave. Not much for local food unless you like conch or coconut everything. But still a great place to stay and if you want to save money rent a moped instead of taking all the trips the hotel offers we got one for 2 days and were able to see the entire island.

Room Tip: Anything facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samcroaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hello Samcroaz,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had fun exploring the island on your own moped tour. It's always fun to set off on your own for a bit. Once again, thanks for the kind review.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel was a steal! For 7 nights plus airfare (from NY) it only cost me $600. I could not have asked for more. The rooms were large and clean, the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is perfect; right across from the marketplace. The pool and beach were fantastic! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I am definitely planning on returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avz156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Hello avz156,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the kind words! So glad that you enjoyed us enough to recommend us. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £222 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing