We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Travelled for our honeymoon, beautiful resort and amazing infinity swimming pools.
Check in was very quick and were originally given a corner room on 3rd floor with a part ocean view room. Went back to reception and they were happy to assist and moved us to a 5th floor room with ocean view, a fantastic view.
The higher the floor the better the view!!!
Great location, right opposite the Market.
Not a great night life but more of a relaxing holiday.
Swimming pools were amazing and although busy hotel especially when cruises arrive there was still plenty of space to sit around the pool.
The entire resort was stunning, rooms very clean, although bathroom was a bit old.
All the staff were extremely friendly and would recommend the resort.
We went on the Cave Tours and would advise to visit but rather expensive.
Overall we had a fabulous time and enjoyed the experience.
$22 taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Motra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello Motra11,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely appreciate all the lovely remarks. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,215 - 2,221 of 3,035 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friends and I purchased a Living Social deal. We anticipated extra resort fees and taxes; however, we were charged for way more than that. We were billed for getaway packages we never purchased, energy surcharges, service fees, and government taxes on all of the above.

It took 3.5 hours and multiple visits to the front desk to get our bill sorted out. If we had waited until the morning of departure, we would have either missed our flight, or just paid it out of frustration.

The property is beautiful, but the lack of customer service was extremely frustrating. We ended up getting the bill settled at 11:30 pm the day before our departure. We woke up the next morning to find they added two extra getaway packages overnight (which we obviously didn't use). Their computer system seems to be really messed up and the staff isn't equipped to handle it efficiently. I would not recommend this hotel since the last half of our vacation was consumed by administrative clean up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear AD432,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. We sincerely regret not meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration experienced with the billing of extra charges. We would like to look further into the situation. Please contact us at info@grandlucayan.com. Thank you, Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was nice. The beach and pools are beautiful. I would have to agree with PRFlyer26 that the pool bar is understaffed. We were there when the schools had spring break. Bought the hotel room with Celebration cruise line. This hotel is a tourist trap!!! It took them forever to check us in and give the room keys. We were without lugguage and tired from the cruise and even though we made frequent requests to check-in we were not allowed to check-in. I would most likely stay at another resort. Their international themed restaurant had great breakfast. Other restaurants were decent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Good day RonilP,
We sincerely apologize for the frustration experienced at check in. Please know that our standard check in time is 3pm. This is to allow our housekeeping staff ample time to clean the guestrooms since our check out time is 12 Noon. Have you had a chance to explore our grounds? we have 3 beautiful swimming pools include an infinity pool which is very serene. The resort also offers daily resort activities that the entire family can particiapte in such as: yoga and pilates, kids games, beach volleyball to name a few. We have a 25,000 square feet of Senses Spa for those who desire some pampering, a fitness center with state of the art equipments. We have 8 dining outlets throughout the property. There are also attractions that are available for those who want to see a different side of the island. For example across the street is Port Lucaya marketplace, there is also deep sea fishing and scuba and swimming with the dolphins. There is a fair amount of things to do. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great time staying at this resort. The pools, grounds, and club house are immaculate. I was worried when I read some of the other reviews but no problems. We were welcomed and in out room w/in 20 minutes. My only complaint was there was no king size beds available which was what we booked! That is the reason for my 4 star rating. I went with my husband and some other friends to celebrate a 40th b-day. We hung out at the far pool (4th) pool and there were no children it was just us and a couple of other adults. The beach was raked every morning. Our room was adequate for the price and I would have taken the shower home with me if I could have. Best hotel shower ever! For the price this resort is great. We loved having the marketplace across the street. We ate at a different restaurant every night and they were all so friendly and nice. Coming from a Southerner this is a two thumbs up!!!! We rented scooters and traveled the island to see what it was about. It will make you appreciate living in the USA. What a poor area. But it doesn't seem to bother the locals. They are friendly and helpful. Great trip we plan to do it again same time next year!

Room Tip: We were on the ocean side and it was so peaceful we slept with our doors open to hear the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burggirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello burggirl39,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was a very nice resort in an amazing setting. However 2 out of the 3 branches of the resort were closed for "renovations" leaving the resort short of it potential. The location and rooms were very nice. Service was Island speed but very friendly, and the food options were subpar for the pricing. All in all I had a good time but there sure could have been more bang for the buck!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoachMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Came for our honeymoon and have had better service at a HoJo back home. The hotel itself needs a major renovation, and I repeat the service is horrible--to expect from Radisson. The beach is very pretty and the pools are nice. The pool bar is understaffed and it takes approx 20-30 mins to get drinks from the pool side. On a good note, the people over in the market are very friendly and there is tons to do. Definitely an average hotel, not sure it is worth the price. Will never come back.

Ps. Kids everywhere!!!!

Room Tip: Marina and ocean view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRFlyer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear PRFlyer26,
We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Many of our guests leave very positive reviews, and we are always disappointed when a guest has a poor experience. We are currently undergoing repairs in some of our facilities. have you had a chance to explore our grounds? Our resort offers a wide range of complimentary activities for our guests, including, Movie nights, fitness classes, beach volleyball, to name a few. 9-restaurants, bars and lounges, complete access to the spa and fitness center, 3 amazing swimming pools, including our serene and quiet infinity pool, 2 hot tubs; and, of course, the 1-mile stretch of white sand beach. Our hotel concierge is able to assist in coordinating many off property activities, such as swimming with the dolphins, nature tours, and beach bonfire to name a few. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed in a 10th fl suite - yes, it's not brand new but it's perfectly fine. Both rooms and bathroom were large and comfortable for a family of 5. Plenty of room in living room for an extra cot to be brought in for our youngest....with room to spare. Also a useul kitchen area with microwave and fridge. Had a problem with a shower door...two guys were in the room in minutes to fix it. View of Caribbean, of course, was fantastic. Staff was friendly...greet them with a smile and you get it back. Includes the front desk, bellmen, and the housekeepers we saw in the halls. Weather was rough during our stay but still a great time. Got bfast included in our price...buffet was excellent everyday...no complaints about the food here.

Side notes...enjoyed Saboro's (might be a little off on the name) back deck restaurant a couple times. Find the happy hour times...it's next to Unexso and Pelican Bay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank PDXOR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £223 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing