We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The message on the beach was relaxing. Kim is a good yoga instructor. Dereck is a good pool excersise instructor. The beach is beautiful. Its warmer here than Colorado right now. Its a good Christmas gift. The braid ladies is fun to talk to there very funny. Everything you need is at Grand Lucayan.Thank you. Rita Bennett.

Room Tip: room 862 ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetotravvel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hello ilovetotravvel2,

Kim, Dereck and everyone at the Grand Lucayan says Hi! Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! We sincerely appreciate all the kind words, and we are so thrilled to hear that you were able to make so many friends along the way! Come back and see us again some day soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We took a taxi from the cruise port to the Grand Lucayan, stopping first at the market across the street. We walked over to the guard gate and paid $10 per person to fully enjoy the beautiful pools and ocean. Everything was clean and well maintained, staff was friendly and we fully enjoyed our day spent at this resort. The price is well worth it to enjoy a clean beach and a nice resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJMNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi HJMNorthCarolina,

We love to hear from our cruisers. Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. And thanks for recommending us! Come back and stay with us some time soon. If you think our beaches are amazing, just wait until you see the ocean view!

Thanks again,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed there in November. Loved it! Love the beach. Their alot of things to do. The people are so nice and freindly. The service was great. I would recommed it. The beach is so white and the water is so crystal clear. The weather is great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallaslovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi dallaslovey,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the kind words and the great rating. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very average but extremely expensive for what you get. Gestapo run hotel with bad service, mediocre rooms, terrible wifi, bad food and rude and abnoxiuos front desk personnel. Even off season when hotel has rooms, they ask for $35 late check out till 3pm. $65 for 5pm! Daylight robbery. Save your money and go to Florida. The only good thing is the Chinese restaurant and the Unexso complex across the street. Thank you Unexso - you saved our vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Aaari,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor, We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. We would like to look further into the matter, please contact us at info@grandlucayan.com. Again, we apologize for the frustrations you have encoutered during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Overall experience was very positive - a few items worth mentioning: accross the street is a market/port - excellent affordable restaurants - Zorbas - greek, Cappiccino's - Italian both authentic and delicious - fun nightlife - rum runners - shows in the square - an awesome off resort experience right accross the street - shopping - from high end to island trinkets - safe and clean

not a true all inclusive - some premium drinks are not included - you need to sign for EVERYTHING - make sure you write A/I on the top of every bill you sign or you will have to deal with charges at check out - NOT FUN. So if you are looking for a true all inclusive this isn't the place for you - we paid extra at several restaurants on the resort - well worth the money - delicious steak and fab room service (also extra)

Super clean - super friendly - beautiful beach - only casino on the island is at this resort - super fun

Room Tip: Obviously ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi Sara S,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all of your feedback as well as all of the kind words. We are so thrilled to know that you enjoyed the resort and the marketplace. And we want you to know that we take it as such a wonderful compliment to hear that you found our staff "super friendly." However, we are sorry to hear that you felt the resort was not a true all inclusive. We apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding you may have experienced. You mentioned that the premium drinks are not included in the all inclusive. We do apologize if this was unclear. Many hotels avoid confusion by limiting the selection they carry, but we like to offer a large selection of drinks to choose from for our guests enjoyment. As for having to write A/I at the top of every bill to avoid being charged—Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will certainly look into this more thoroughly. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope that you come back see us soon.

Sincerely, Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We spent our honeymoon at this resort and had a wonderful stay. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. We spent quite a bit of time at the bars near the pool, and the bartenders were just so much fun and so nice! I can't remember all their names anymore but I think it was Solomon, Dewayne, and another one who had a pet pig. They were a hoot and treated us like family. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiep918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hi Angiep918,

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. We are so thrilled to hear that we were able to contribute to such a wonderful memory. We wish you all the happiness in the world! Come back and see us some day soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossil
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Ocean view is unbeatable (make sure you have an even numbered room), the pools are clean and fun, the beach is soft white sand. The facilities are clean and neat. There is a no money beach bar (charged to room) with a swim up pool that actually is on the beach. Very fun. There is a spa and I'm certain it is great but I didn't take advantage of it. The Lucaya Marina is just across the street along with two liquor stores, bars and restaurants plus many other shopping opportunities. We were suppose to do the diving and glass bottom boat but being the 2nd week of December the Ocean was too rough. The tickets said no refund but my money was refunded cheerfully. The grounds are policed and seem very safe. You are required to wear a wrist band indicating you are a guest. This is a very small inconvenience for the added safety.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Hello Thomas C,

I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate all the kind words. So glad to hear that you found your vacation a great value. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing