We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Lucayan was spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grand Lucayan was spectacular!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just got back from the Grand Lucayan in Freeport, Bahamas! Excellent trip! Really relaxed and enjoyed the resort. Not too many people, lots of choices at the beach and pool when it came to lounge chairs and where you wanted to sit. The weather, well could of been a little better, cold a few days,, but all in all a great vacation and great resort. Our room was imaculate, cleaned by our great housekeeper every day who was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Every one at the resort was so friendly and helpful, except for one person in the cigar bar in the evening who was not friendly. He needs a lesson in customer service. I believe his name was Brent, short guy with the same disease. But even in spite of him, this resort is awesome. Everyone there is so friendly and helpful. I would go back in a heart beat! The grounds are spectacular! The beach is gorgeous! The shopping and restaurant choices across the street amazing! We spend Xmas and New Years eve there! Count Basey Square was full of action and the fire works at New Years eve were amazing! Hotel bar drinks were inconsistent in price, a little pricey, but from day to day, time of day and who was serving you the price changed all the time, which was a little concerning and really should be regulated, but all in all a great vacation! Wish I were still there!!

Room Tip: Whether you choose ocean view or island view, make sure you are higher than the 6th floor and room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaysee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hello jaysee2011,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the great review and all the great feedback. I'm so happy to hear that you received such wonderful service and that the staff was so friendly. However, I do apologize that you experienced less than friendly service at the Cigar Bar. That is certainly not our standard and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm very pleased to hear that the incident did not effect your overall enjoyment and that you would consider staying with us again. Once again, thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Great location, near to all amenities and on a great beach. Water is crystal clear and the sand is like powder. Hotels rooms are a good size and were clean and tidy. Service we received was brill but after speaking to another couple found out the service they received wasn't great, however I no complaints about the service. Food was of a good standard and the excursions are plentiful.
@mason_5

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmason5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Hello kmason5,

Thanks for the kind words and the great rating. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. Come back and see us again soon.

Thank you!!

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Don't bother to tip the porter, room cleaning or the waitress. Restaurant add 15% tip automatically. Hotel charge additional service charge and resort fee $16 + $18 regardless of how you booked. Hotwire didn't mention the service charge of $16. It took forever for the frontdesk to find my booking. She had to call for someone to enter the record from another system. Not sure why it wasn't updated as soon as new reservation comes in. And it seems to happen to almost everyone who didn't book from them directly. Super long wait to check in, didn't get into the room until 5pm. Breakfast buffet is reasonable priced. Kids until 5 is free. Pool is not heated, so no swim in winter. Grounds is beautiful. The gym is a long long way of walk from the room... all the way to the end of the resort, above the spa. Equipment are not very well maintained with rust on the metal bars. Beach is beautiful with sugar white sand. Room with very thin walls. Considering the condition of the entire island, this hotel is the jewel of the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Wen Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grand Lucayan. We apologize for the frustrations you have encountered during your stay with us. Our restaurant policy does state that a 15% gratuity will automatically be added to the bill. This amount is distributed to our restaurant associates. When making a reservation online, our travel partners are required to disclose that the room rate pricing are per room/unit and do not include taxes and service fees or any extra guest charges. Our resort fees are $8 per person/day and our service charges are $9 per person/day. Some of the changes we are implementing include having more associates available at the front desk as to ensure a smooth check-in and check-out. Putting in place an express check out lane. We are currently doing repairs to our gym and spa equipments. We apologize for the many frustrations you have encountered, and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My first stay at the Grand Lucayan encouraged me to come back again this year for 15 days. What a beautiful resort! The beach and pools are refreshing, with lots of lounge chairs for everyone who wants one. Room service is a little expensive, but the food taste and quantity is well worth the price. It is always brought to the room still hot, right out of the kitchen. Services are good, although the new management took away the "guest laundry room" this year, much to my disappointment. They do however offer a laundry and dry cleaning service, but be prepared to pay. The clothes come back in excellent condition, cleaned and pressed the same day. The Senses Spa is absolutely exceptional. I have had the massage by the ocean, manicure and pedicure, and general massages and have been very pleased with the entire experience there. Aurtia (pronounced Ortia-not sure of spelling) is a master of a wonderful massage and I would ask for her every time I go. Senses is very lucky to have her on their staff. She even remembered me from the year before. They have activities daily for children to keep them busy, right in the pool area. Restaurants very good, but I agree with other reviews that it is much less expensive to eat across the street in the Port Lucaya Marketplace restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and will stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are spectacular, and are very quiet in the evenings and overnight. The sun was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hi Gayle M,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm so thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your last trip that you came to stay with us for 15 days. We can't tell you what a compliment that is to hear you say that. So glad to hear that you got some wonderful attention at the Senses Spa and that your stay lived up to your memories. Thank you for being such an outspoken fan of Grand Lucayan. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Just arrived back from a month's travel in the US and the Bahamas. This was the most average hotel we stayed in. Booked through Expedia and the hotel didn't have our reservation recorded. Reception staff were very helpful and got us a room with a side ocean view. Our room on the 8th floor had a very NOISY airconditioning unit outside and the room smelt very musty/mouldy. Cleaning staff did a fantastic job the next day getting rid of the smell. The grounds are lovely but one day we had pool staff arguing with 2 females (not sure who they were). It was so loud that we had to move to another area of the pool. Market across the road was great, we ate all our meals there. When we checked out we were told there was nothing to pay but 5 days later $132 of charges appeared on my credit card for resort fee and other charges - very bad look for both Expedia who advised a misleading price and Grand Lucayan for not advising us of these additional charges - simple customer service! From Grand Bahama we moved onto Harbour Island and the pink sand beach. The Coral Sands Resort and beach here are fantastic!! Spend a little more and go there, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view on a high level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheryl_gavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear sheryl_gavin,
Thank you for posting about your recent stay at Grand Lucayan. Our apologies for the frustrations you encountered. Our travel partners are required to disclose that the room rate is for the room/unit and excludes taxes, resort fees and service charges, as well as any other guest charges payable upon check-out. Our apologies for the mis-communication at the front desk and should have advised what extra amount would be charged to your credit card. We have placed a "frequently asked questions" section on our website as to answer many general questions from our guests. Again we apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a mixed review, but disappointments abound. I'm torn between thinking they should cater more to thier guests' tastes while preserving the laid back culture of the Bahamas. Is it so wrong to want to read a news paper while on vacation? I could not find one at all apart from the Nassau local that comes out once a week. And I think vacationers expect food to be readily avaialble in a variety of options throughout the day.

Here are some of the positives:

Spacious oceanview room with balcony. Very pleased with the size and the view. Beds were comfy.

Great outdoor bar and pool area. Cocktails were fantastic.

Beautiful grounds, but they seemed mostly deserted.

Friendly staff, though seemingly inept at times. The pace is a lot slower here, which I can accept, but the stock answer for many questions was "I don't know," with no motivation to even seek out an answer.

Ample activities and tours

Now for the lowlights of the trip:

Room rate/special (e.g.e third nite free) was not honoured as advertised on thier website, from which I booked my stay. Front desk management did not seem to care that it was deceptive advertising. Even called two days ahead to re-confirm and verify pricing.

Food situation on site is abysimal. The "fine dining" restaurant food was wretched. I ordered three dishes - starter, entree and side - and did not finish any of them. The cocktail, however, was spectacular.

Dining options are very limited on site - as there is not "go to" restaurant open all day for the last breakfast/ full lunch / early dinner guests. One must walk to the marketplace across the street or order out at the pool for midday dining. Room service ends at 1am.

Several of the eight resort restaurants were actually closed. Again, one is forced to either order room service or trek across the street for dinner.

The AC did not get as cool as one would like. I felt muggy in the room most of the time.

Bathrooms were moldy and sticky - a by product of hi humidity areas for most of the year.

The music at the pool area is way too loud. I mean really loud. Base and all.

The spa is a very long walk from the rooms. And they did not honor the 10% off coupon the front desk gave me. Stated that the massage prices were already discounted. Smacks of false advertising yet again.

The market is quant and there are so many lovely wares for purchase. But many of the proprieters of the booths are overly aggressive with the cat calls as you walk by, trying to induce and cajole you in to buying form them. If you see something you like, check the other sellers to see of you can find it for less. Haggling welcome.

The Island was absolutely beautiful but I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Make reservations over the phone. And be sure to get negotiated rates in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Good day amb917,
Our sincere apologies for the frustrations you encountered and for not meeting your expectations. We would like to invite you to contact us at info@grandlucayan.com so as to look further into the issues you have experienced during your stay. Again our sincere apologies for not meeeting your expecations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We came here for a few days hoping for a good first experience in Bahamas. Unfortunately, we were really disappointed by almost everything ( Weather (luck), service, people, things to do, restaurants). The price they charge us for the room is overpriced and even at the end you get room fees that never ends. At booking it costs us 300$ a night and at checkout it ends up costing 400$ a night with only additional fees. Dont worry I am not talking about restaurants charges, only taxes.
People working here,we seemed to bother them when asking something, they look lazy and unhappy. I suggest that if you are looking for a good lunch, dont go to China grill its not worth a burger or anything over 5$. I hated my experience here and we are never gonna come back. The good side, I was with my lovely husband and we had a great dinner at Cappucinos.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Karine,
Our apologies for the frustrations you encountered during your visit with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with exceptional customer service and we take each negative review and comment very seriously. When a booking is made, online or via telephone, the hotel fees are disclosed and paid at checkout. The taxes are on a per night basis, the resort fees and service charges are per person per day. Unfortunately, we have no control over the weather. Have you had a chance to explore our grounds? we have 3 beautiful swimming pools, one of which is very serene and quiet. We have daily resort activities complimentary for all guests. A 25,000 square feet of Spa & Fitness center, a championship golf course and 7.5 acres of white sandy beach. We are currently implementing an employee evaluation program where employees will evaluate themselves and this will help generate some self-awareness of the service quality guests experience. In reference to our dining outlets, we are constantly modifying our menus, our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area, we offer good value for our location and extensive facilities. We truly apologize for failing to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing