We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Velma in the Buffet and the Bell Hops are Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Velma in the Buffet and the Bell Hops are Great”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Grand Lucayan is a great place to chill and relax. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very clean. Some water sports, but not too busy. Shout out to VELMA, SHE IS A TRUE SUPERSTAR!!! The buffet is very delicious. The bell hop and receptionist staff very helpful when we had a flight delay and they still ACCOMMODATED US!! Nice pool. Only knock is that Freeport in general might be too slow for kids and small children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi Carlos V,
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad to hear you had a nice, relaxing stay with us and were able to enjoy the pool, the resort grounds, and our staff. We'll definitely send Velma your love :) We hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were here the week of July 8 - July 12. The motel and grounds were beautiful, as well as the pool. We went to our room and it was HOT no air conditioning. The staff acted like it was on in the rest of the motel and didn't know why it wasn't in our room. In talking with other guest it was out and had been out for over a week. Good thing it rained every night, so we could keep the deck door open to get some air so we could sleep.................I give this place a B-..............

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hello Tim M,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay. We understand the importance of checking into a hotel and having a problem free stay. We are terribly sorry for the condition of the A/C in your room. There were some issues and quickly fixed y our engineers. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our grounds. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you on your next visit to Grand Bahama Island.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We got there on July 4th and stayed @ the resort for 4 nights. We got to the resort @ around 11.30 am, there was no sense of direction everything was a chaos well we didn't get our rooms until 6 pm and that too we had paid for a ocean view king and we got stuck with a double bed. After complaining the mgr put us up in a nice end cap room with a complete view of the ocean and the marina. We were happy, however the next day the hot water went out and the same night the Ac. It took them an hr to fix the hot water issue however the Ac took them close to 18 hrs. So yeah we slept in a room where the temp was 80 degrees. Maybe we Americans are spoiled with the level of customer service we grow to expect here in the states but I have been to Mexico b4 this and it's just been better but here it seems like the folks just don't get it. As far as me going back I dunno this particular island does not have much to do and top of that a bad resort. I think I work hard for my money and I only take 1 vacation a year I would be very skeptical on trying this place out again. The caribbean is big lots of islands to go to I hope you guys get it that you have a lot of competition and you all better step up the game.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikemmistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
359 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great time at the Grand Lucayan. The rooms, hotel, pool, grounds, and beach are all beautiful. We also liked that it was within easy walking distance of Port Lucaya Marketplace, so we could go to offsite restaurants, shops, and bars anytime. We were there with a large party and everyone was pleased with the hotel. The restaurants were pretty good, but just relaxing by the many pools was the best. Food and drinks were pretty pricey.
One annoying thing was the towel cards. You are given towel cards when you check in and if you want a pool towel you have to trade your towel card for a towel. They don't allow you to enter buildings with pool towels so you have to trade it back in for a towel card before entering. However, the towel huts aren't open at night (but the pools are) so you have to sneak bath towels to the pool. There is no reason for this system. If they are worried about people stealing pool towels they should just allocate one per person to your room and charge you if you steal them.
Despite that, I recommend the hotel for a fun stay on Grand Bahama.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best but the marina view is very nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Lizardtiff,
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan and especially enjoyed the beach, relaxing by the pool, the rooms, and the proximity to the Port Lucaya Marketplace. Thanks for your feedback regarding the pool towels, we're always looking for ways to improve and please our customers. Thanks again for recommending us and we hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It was our first time at the Grand Lucayan. I brought my 2 teenagers. We had a large room with 2 queen beds, a nice sized bathroom, balcony, mini fridge, coffee and tea, and a large TV. The room was very clean. Room service was prompt and the food was great. There were a couple small issues that were quickly resolved, with the exception of the broken a/c. It was a bit uncomfortable for a night, but management did make it up to us. Loved the pools, although the beautiful infinity pool was a bit too cold, so we used the other pools which are closer to the main building. Everyone, including the staff, was so nice and friendly. We would love to return. Soon!

Room Tip: The next time I would like to have an ocean view room. It would be a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetMeAway26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello GetMeAway26,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed your room, the pools, room service, and our staff! We apologize for the incident with the A/C, several of our guests were experiencing similar issues, but it is now well under control. Thank you for your patience and your understanding, we're so pleased to hear our management was able to make it up to you. So glad to know you'll consider us in your future vacation plans!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at Grand Lucayan, and we were so pleased with our visit!

We booked through Travelocity at $99 per night. Resort fees and taxes ARE added, which brought the nightly total to about $150. We were prepared for this, so it was not a surprise. In fact, even with the resort fees, we found the rate absurdly low for an ocean-view room.

Rooms were clean, although the furnishings were a little worn. The view was absolutely stunning. Staff was friendly and helpful and accommodated our request for a room on an upper level. Wi-fi was free and greatly appreciated, as it allowed us to communicate with family back home without having to rack up roaming charges.

Restaurants were hit or miss. Not all of them were open at all times. We ate lunch several times at the small cafe, and the sandwiches were ok. However, the breakfast buffet was very good and the BBQ buffet Saturday night poolside was excellent.

I visited the spa and had a wonderful experience. The beach was beautiful. I don't generally enjoy pools much, but I found the resort pools inviting.

In talking to locals and tour guides, we heard that tourism is on the decline on Grand Bahama Island. I think this is evident in some aspects. The resort was never full, even on cruise ship days. Planned activities didn't seem well-attended. In comparison, our friends that visited Atlantis at the same time were miserable because of the crowds. There's not a lot to do on the island besides the resort, and some eco-tours. It doesn't make for a lot of options in terms of activity, but it's outstanding if you want some tranquility!

We ate several meals at the marketplace across the street and were generally disappointed. The Irish pub was pretty good and we had a decent pizza at Pisces, but prices were somewhat high for the quality of food. Given our experiences at the buffets at the resort, I would have tried more restaurants there.

I really don't think you can beat Grand Lucayan in terms of value. If you want beautiful scenery with few crowds at a reasonable price, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyTwinklestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi DaisyTwinklestar,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan and that you were able to experience the Saturday night BBQ buffet, our spa, the beach, and the beautiful ocean view! Next time, be sure to check out our website for special rates and incentives. We hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family and I were at the resort last week. The pool and the beach were great and we had a lot of fun! I have to thank staff that works there whom were the best and made our stay that much better. Dwayne the best bartender in the world, Catherine who works everywhere, Delphine because of you my little girl loves chicken wings! Also Okeaver and Gyan-Thank you! Having great people work for you is important so I hope you give them a pat on the back.

Room Tip: Beach front all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Cindy W,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan. We'll be sure to send your love to Dwayne, Catherine, Delphine, Okeavar, and Gyan! We're happy our staff was able to make your stay with us that much more enjoyable. We hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing