We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Lucayan Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Lucayan Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First and most importantly the Staff (Restaurant) was fabulous! We were a group of over 300 people and we never waited more than a few minutes to be seated for any meal. Marsha (My favorite) and the other staff were gracious and super attentive to our every need. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. Grand Lucayan is a wonderful resort with many activities and in walking distance to marketplace shopping, tons of great restaurants and an awesome beach. Enjoyed the quiet infinity and lap pools which overlooked beach areas near the Lanai section of the resort. I also want to mention the ladies who are so patiently sit all day near the poolside to offer hair braiding at a very reasonable rate. I loved their sweet spirit and gentleness as they use their creativity in the hair designs. Can't wait to plan our next 7 Day Vacation in Freeport at the Grand Lucayan Resort.

Room Tip: Request Lanai or Garden View if you want to be away from the main area for privacy on balcony less t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikensyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hello Mikensyl,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so glad to hear we were able to comfortably accommodate your large group and enjoyed our attentive staff, the wide-variety of activities, and the spacious rooms! We hope you and your group come visit us again soon.

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    1,047
    488
    238
    207
See reviews for
860
1,234
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was beautiful in every way! The service was awesome and the balcony view had me speechless! I definitely recommend staying here for anyone! The food was great as well. It was very family oriented and the rooms were clean and the balconies outside of every room was the icing on top! I also loved how the beach was right there in walking distance. I will definitely be going back sometime soon.

-Crystal N.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empresscrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi empresscrys,
Wow, thank you so much for this great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed the amazing ocean view from your room, our friendly staff, and the close proximity to the beach. We strive to make each guest's experience with us as enjoyable as yours was. We can't wait to have you back here!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I re-visited this amazing resort in the Bahamas.
Once again we had the opportunity to celebrate the Independence celebration of The Bahamas (40th Year)-wonderful experience, we celebrated the 30th in one of our past trips!.
The resort is great, we highly recommend it.. The grounds and rooms are very clean, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our request to the reservation specialist, was honored for a room aboue 5th floor! The view was amazing. The hotel out of season (July) is very quiet, great for us, we went to rest and for quiet time. We travel quite often finding The Bahama people among the friendliest.
We plan to return before year end, we will definately continue our stays at the Grand Lucayan Resort

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi cavanme,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear you and your husband were able to celebrate your 36th wedding anniversary with us and that the resort was well-suited to enjoy some quiet time. Thank you for recommending us and we're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and I are currently enjoying our first trip to Grand Bahama. We are staying at the Grand Lucayan. All current reviews seem accurate to our experience, so I will only add one thing. Detracting from an otherwise pleasant stay is the constant drone of LOUD music over loudspeakers from the hotel's adjacent buildings (east end, I believe). It is audible from our balcony as well as our room, even with balcony door is closed. It compete's with the sound of the ocean, which we would much prefer to hear. Oh, I did not mention that the same tune plays over and over, hour upon hour, from afternoon until late at night. Tonight's song is a woman's weird version of "Take Me Home Country Roads," but most of the original lyrics are missing. So hotel guests are treated to 4-5 lines repeated nonstop. After last night's "concert" and tonight's, we mentioned it to hotel staff who said others had the same complaint. I see that management seems to read Tripadvisor reviews, so I am hoping they read this and turn off the recording as it serves no purpose but to irritate guests. Or, if music is absolutely necessary, then get a playlist and reduce the volume. Your guests will thank you -- trust me!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Viajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Viajara,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Our apologies for the loud music and the inconvenience this has caused. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have sent your concerns to our engineering department who has addressed the matter almost immediately. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope that you will afford us the chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I just came back from vacation from july 8-11.
short tips
1. check in is at 3 maybe longer, so dont expect to check in any earlier (mine was at 5pm) so if you go early bring your bathing suit or change there and enjoy the beach and relax, don't wait.
2. all inclusive doesnt include many of the restaurants best meals, so dont get it. you can walk to the marketplace and eat alot of great food including subway, pizza hut, etc for 1/4 the price.
3. 15% tip is included in everything you order food related, so the waiters are lackadaisical and sometimes you need to get their attention.
4. taxi like to bunch up groups of people to make more money. if your taxi is taking to long to drive you try to convince him or pay him more. Getting another taxi wont happen most are friends and wont take their customers.

Overall, for me I had a great time, although my check in was late, they gave me a late check out, i got the all-inclusive, but i wouldn't again, i rather walk 10 steps and eat at the marketplace. the bahamian people are so nice and welcoming, they truly appreciate tourist and are great people.

again i reiterate do not get all inclusive. the hotel has great deals on breakfast and on certain days has special dinners that are good priced that all inclusive member are not included.

bargain with jetski guys they will offer less.
dolphin encounter is only one location, no matter who you use its the same price, trust me I tried,

Room Tip: pick the 5 floor or higher, anything less and your looking at palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Have been a guest four different times...but not since April 2009. Big disappointment this time around. Been hotel clerk high end Va. beach property, and was blown away waiting in line fr 75 minutes to check in. While checking in, clerk debited my card twice for balance and ad to call bank to fix. My reservation was made, AARP, in March, requested upper floor, above 6th. When asked bout suite for my boss, all of a sudden, the clerk in 30 seconds got an upper floor room. ac off one night, ht water didn't work, and only two restaurants opened....due to rain. Most of the poos closed, and one opened was cloudy..I, nor my boss, will. Be coming back any time soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Good day Lizzie56_13,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay. We understand the importance of checking into a hotel and having a problem free stay. We are terribly sorry for the condition of the A/C and hot water in your room. In reference to the delays at check in, sometimes we experience delays with the cruise lines, due to the size of the group checking out and the turnaround time to have the rooms ready for check in takes a bit longer. We can certainly understand your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is average. It is clearly older,but the bathroom is clean (and that is a big deal for us). The room is clean, the staff are friendly. It rained a lot and the hotel made every effort to entertain it's guest. Which was really nice...however, it is very annoying to have 6 people come up to you to sell you bracelets and necklaces, another 3 seashells, another 2 water activities. It is a constant sell! Very frustrating and had a major impact on how I review this hotel. I get that they need to make money, but I am already paying for everything and now being nagged to buy everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisacorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Good day Lisacorbin,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to meet your expectations and create a better vacation experience for you. Please note that the beach vendors are not employed by Grand Lucayan, thus not our staff, but are rather independent vendors on the beach. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing