We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very friendly staff, always eager to help. cool beach and some nice pools! excellent food at the Restaurants and Bars but it is nevertheless rather expensive!! I would come back as it is like Paradise here!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NTS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Gunther,

Thank you for the taking the time to write and share this review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate the feedback.

I’m glad you enjoyed the relaxing beach and the different pools located around the resort. Hopefully you enjoyed a drink or two poolside at the swim-up bar. :0)

We're happy to hear the that food, overall, was excellent. Sorry if the pricing was not in line with your budget.

We hope to see you again in paradise real soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was included in a package from the cruise Bahamas Celebration. A wonderful pick. Friendly staff, grounds are lovely, a wonderful infinity Pool with view of the ocean. Clean beaches and the ocean water warm and clear. Walking distance to the Market Place and other places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi 13Barbie75,

Thank you for taking the moment to share this great review on Trip Advisor.

I’m glad your vacation cruise included a great experience at our resort, and you were able to explore the grounds by dipping in our incredible infinity pool. The view is quite picturesque, isn’t it?

We’re so happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope you’ll stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We attended a large sponsorship event held at the hotel. We had a ocean front room with beautiful views. The room was comfortable, the amenities were what I expected. The all inclusive meal plan had fewer choices than many but very good quality food overall. The dinners were an all night experience. Slow, but steady, service that was nice but not overly hospitable. The spa was very nice with good choices and fair prices. I enjoyed my visit and would go again with a group. Not a place I would take small children. Beautiful beach, quiet lazy place to enjoy the sun.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Bookroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hello Bookroxy,

Thank you for sharing this great review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback.

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to find the time to pamper yourself with our affordable spa choices, after relaxing on the beautiful beach.

We look forward to accommodating you and your group in the future. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can only review this resort from the aspect of taking a day trip excursion there from the Bahamas Celebration cruise ship, but the property was lovely when my best friend and I took a much needed BFF trip. A very nice clean beach, beautiful infinity pool, good food served at lunch, clean surroundings and friendly atmosphere. Wish we could have stayed longer! Very relaxing during our short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi DLady69,

Thank you for the taking the time to write and share this review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate the feedback.

I’m so happy you and your BFF were able to take such a lovely vacation that included spending the day at our resort. It must’ve been a fun adventure!

We wished you could’ve stayed longer, too! Hopefully you and your BFF may visit us in the future and stay in one of our Ocean View rooms. The view is incredible!

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My parents were staying here celebrating their 39th wedding anniversary. I called the hotel to find out if they could send a basket to the room on my behalf as a gift to my parents. When the guest services representative found out it was my parents anniversary, she notified the manager and they immediately jumped to action to take care of them and pamper them so well. I don't even know when was the last time my parents took a vacation for just the two of them and I am so grateful that the Grand Lucayan staff did all they could to make my parents feel so special and to make the trip memorable! Wow! I'm so impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank EDeHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi EDeHart,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your parents must’ve been so happy! How thoughtful of you for thinking of them on their anniversary!

We’re honored that your parents chose to celebrate their 39th wedding anniversary with us. It thrills me knowing that they were able to make up for some much-need alone time, and have an anniversary experience that was not only special, but memorable.

Congratulations, again, on your parents’ anniversary. We hope they will celebrate with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As many of the reviews have mentioned, the pool and beach at this property are very nice. The beach is clean, the water is crystal clear (turquoise), and the beach chairs were plentiful.

In terms of the rooms, they did leave much to be desired--especially if you have been to some of the nicer resorts in Mexico. Our oceanfront room (5th floor) was in need of some updates (although it wasn't "dirty"). The bathroom had many rust spots, the shower drained very slow (it took 5 mins to drain after a quick shower), and the whole bathroom just seemed neglected.

Some of the hotel's staff (housekeeping and bartenders) were always friendly and upbeat, while the restaurant staff always seemed detached and bored.

Unless you get a great deal, the food at the hotel is not worth the price (even if you do all-inclusive). Drinks and monotonous meals are overpriced and aren't anything special. The breakfast buffet was rarely fully stocked, and the same items were on the menu every day. While the other food options were decent, there certainly weren't any meals to write home about.

In all, the hotel provides a relaxing atmosphere that isn't too crowded (in the off season) but the rooms and food are average, at best. A quick fix-up of the rooms/bathrooms and a revamp of the restaurant menus could make this a really nice resort.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room...the island view overlooks the marketplace and the backside of the hotel prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayfenderstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Clayfenderstrat,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback.

I'm very sorry if the room was anything less than exceptional. Many guests praise the beauty and general upkeep of the hotel. I'm sorry this was not the case in your experience.

Thank you, again, for your input. We hope to accommodate you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just returned from from Freeport and had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Lucayan resort. We stayed in an ocean front room on the 5th floor with a spectacular view. The room was average sized, and decorated nicely although the bathroom could have used a facelift. We were pleased with it nonetheless. The plantation style of the lobby is really pretty and the resort itself is quite nice and very well laid out. After taking a walk down the beach we realized just how sprawling this resort is. We were part of a large group that was visiting and there were two other large groups there at the same time and it never seemed too crowded. There were always enough chairs at the pool and beach, and in the restaurants as well. We were there on an all-inclusive food and drinks plan.
Our issue with this resort was with the restaurants - The Willy Broadleaf buffet had very little selection of food, but you could make a reservation at China Beach, which had excellent asian style food but very slow service. We went to Iries our last night and had lobster caesar salad and conch fritters and the food and ambience were great! The other restaurant that's attached to the lobby was off limits to us unless we wanted to pay and we didn't end up eating there. There's also an outdoor beach grill (China Beach) that served burgers, fries, hotdogs, etc. The people who work there are absolutely lovely and helpful - and one thing we really noticed was the very slow pace there, which Americans are not used to, or seemed annoyed about. It's the Bahamas people! Service was quite slow in the restaurants but we had time to lounge and enjoy ourselves so once we got what we ordered, it was really pretty good :)
Drinks were very good and actually had name brand alcohol in them, unlike what we've experienced in Mexico. There is no cash tipping at the Grand Lucayan because they factor in a 15% tip on everything. I will say this: I wouldn't stay there without being on an all-inclusive plan because food and drinks were pretty expensive and like some of the other reviews, I would recommend eating at the marketplace across the street. There were several restaurants over there and lots of souvenir shops. So to wrap up my review I also want to say that the beach here is absolutely gorgeous with white powdery sand and warm, clear turquoise water so don't spend all your time at the pool! :D

Room Tip: Make sure you request an ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wcstgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hi Wcstgrl,

Thanks for taking the moment to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback.

I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our all-inclusive meal plan. It’s a great way to vacation on a budget. I’m also glad you enjoyed the food at China Beach and Iries.

I apologize if Willy Broadleaf did not have the selection you were hoping for. We will certainly take your comments into consideration.

Thank you for visiting our resort. We hope to see you again. :)

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £103 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing