We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worest vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worest vacation ever”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Slow, rude staff and service, plus they treat you like you are a criminal. Ice machine broken, bathtub clogged and their were using toxic paints in rooms across the hall. My toilet was unclogged but not cleaned and the place in general is dirty. You couldn't pay me to go back here. After two days of fighting with the staff on many subjects we moved to Pelican Bay. It is a great place that knows how to treat guest. The difference was like night and day. The Pelican has a nice grounds with three pools and wonderful staff members and a great restaurant/bar with reasonable prices. They don't make you wear an armband like the Grand Lucayan does, nor do the treat you rudely. If I was going to the Grand Bahamas again I would go anywhere BUT the Grand Lucayan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Douglas,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate your feedback.

I’m very sorry to hear that we were unable to provide a positive experience for you during your stay. I assure you, the items you listed in your review are quite out of the ordinary. Many guests of the resort rave about our staff and about the beauty and general upkeep of the hotel, so if we did not deliver in any of these areas, please accept our sincerest apologies.

We would be more than grateful to explore this matter further. If you are interested, feel free to contact our guest services at info@grandlucayan.com.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,055
    501
    244
    215
See reviews for
876
1,250
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful and relaxing, just across the street from the Lucayan Market, which is the place to be on the island. Casino is next door so coming back to the resort after dinner at Zorrba's or Agave or any other of the great restaurants in the market, making a quick stop to get your "fix" in is just a stroll away... The beach here is as you would expect, clear warm water with light to no waves... Pool swim up bar in the infinity pool is the alternative to the beach with the same view... Rooms in the resort are as with all Caribbean hotels, nothing spectacular but really how much time do you spend in the room, shower, sleep and se&... We only ate breakfast on the resort, and it was great, fruit bar, waffle/pancake bar, or omelette bar, but there are other offerings for all meals, we had a car so went to the market for snacks and beverages and to the market for dinners...

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Ocean View for the nightly show along the walkway at 6pm and the fabulous sunr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Kevin,

Thank you for taking the moment to share this great review on Trip Advisor.

I’m glad you didn’t feel cooped up in your room, and were able to make the most of your trip by exploring the Lucayan Marketplace and casino. Good idea on renting the car. That's a great way to see the whole island. :0)

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection, and kicked off each day with something yummy, and different.

We hope you’re able to visit us again in the future, and, perhaps, try something different--like kayaking or swimming with dolphins. :)

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, always eager to help. cool beach and some nice pools! excellent food at the Restaurants and Bars but it is nevertheless rather expensive!! I would come back as it is like Paradise here!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NTS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Gunther,

Thank you for the taking the time to write and share this review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate the feedback.

I’m glad you enjoyed the relaxing beach and the different pools located around the resort. Hopefully you enjoyed a drink or two poolside at the swim-up bar. :0)

We're happy to hear the that food, overall, was excellent. Sorry if the pricing was not in line with your budget.

We hope to see you again in paradise real soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was included in a package from the cruise Bahamas Celebration. A wonderful pick. Friendly staff, grounds are lovely, a wonderful infinity Pool with view of the ocean. Clean beaches and the ocean water warm and clear. Walking distance to the Market Place and other places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi 13Barbie75,

Thank you for taking the moment to share this great review on Trip Advisor.

I’m glad your vacation cruise included a great experience at our resort, and you were able to explore the grounds by dipping in our incredible infinity pool. The view is quite picturesque, isn’t it?

We’re so happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope you’ll stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We attended a large sponsorship event held at the hotel. We had a ocean front room with beautiful views. The room was comfortable, the amenities were what I expected. The all inclusive meal plan had fewer choices than many but very good quality food overall. The dinners were an all night experience. Slow, but steady, service that was nice but not overly hospitable. The spa was very nice with good choices and fair prices. I enjoyed my visit and would go again with a group. Not a place I would take small children. Beautiful beach, quiet lazy place to enjoy the sun.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hello Bookroxy,

Thank you for sharing this great review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback.

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to find the time to pamper yourself with our affordable spa choices, after relaxing on the beautiful beach.

We look forward to accommodating you and your group in the future. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can only review this resort from the aspect of taking a day trip excursion there from the Bahamas Celebration cruise ship, but the property was lovely when my best friend and I took a much needed BFF trip. A very nice clean beach, beautiful infinity pool, good food served at lunch, clean surroundings and friendly atmosphere. Wish we could have stayed longer! Very relaxing during our short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi DLady69,

Thank you for the taking the time to write and share this review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate the feedback.

I’m so happy you and your BFF were able to take such a lovely vacation that included spending the day at our resort. It must’ve been a fun adventure!

We wished you could’ve stayed longer, too! Hopefully you and your BFF may visit us in the future and stay in one of our Ocean View rooms. The view is incredible!

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My parents were staying here celebrating their 39th wedding anniversary. I called the hotel to find out if they could send a basket to the room on my behalf as a gift to my parents. When the guest services representative found out it was my parents anniversary, she notified the manager and they immediately jumped to action to take care of them and pamper them so well. I don't even know when was the last time my parents took a vacation for just the two of them and I am so grateful that the Grand Lucayan staff did all they could to make my parents feel so special and to make the trip memorable! Wow! I'm so impressed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDeHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi EDeHart,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your parents must’ve been so happy! How thoughtful of you for thinking of them on their anniversary!

We’re honored that your parents chose to celebrate their 39th wedding anniversary with us. It thrills me knowing that they were able to make up for some much-need alone time, and have an anniversary experience that was not only special, but memorable.

Congratulations, again, on your parents’ anniversary. We hope they will celebrate with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
994 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,282 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing