We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Port Lucaya” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Braintree MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best in Port Lucaya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed 11/7-11/12. This is a very large hotel reminiscent of the Florida hotels of the '50's. I believe it has been remodeled, still vestiges of the old hotel seem to peek through now and then. If you're the type that takes photo's of the rust spots on the plumbing etc. it may not be to your liking, but the room I had was more than adequate and clean. Everything worked. There could have been more water pressure in the shower would be my only complaint. We had a gorgeous ocean view from a large balcony. Request ocean side above the 5th floor. Lots of shops and restaurants across the street. Eat there instead of the hotel. We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel once, very good, $30 for two. Regular breakfast at Zorba's across the street was $13 for two. We had the sunday brunch which suffered from the typical brunch failure, lukewarm food like leftovers. Ate at the fine dining Churchills because we had a $100 credit through Bookit.com (Had to remind the front desk twice to include it.) Worried because of poor reviews, we none the less had an excellent meal here with professional service. Front desk operations could be slow, it seemed they had multiple paperwork requirements for each transaction. The beach was excellent. Big as it is, remodeling is going on which will double the property once complete. There were many of those beach vendors selling shells, starfish, jewelry, hair braiding, water sports, etc. Security, which was very light, could have done a better job limiting this activity. We were here for a wedding at another hotel close by and talked to a number of people who had problems at that hotel and subsequently transferred to the Lucayan. People on this island were exceptionally pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Above the 5th floor ocean side gives you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Pvalen,

Thank you so much for taking the moment to share this review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during the wedding. So glad you enjoyed the ocean view. It's certainly a crowed pleaser. It's almost impossible to take a bad picture from the balcony. :0)

I’m also very happy to hear that got to experience some of the restaurants outside of the hotel, but even happier to hear that you made time to eat at Churchill's. It's a staff favorite! :0) I do apologize if there was any inconvenience or hesitation to take the $100 credit. I will certainly look into this to see that it does not happen again.

Thank you for all the wonderful feedback. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great place all around.

great:
fitness/spa
room
pools
service
friendliness
location to Lucayan Market incl all restaurants

could be better: (all minor)
snorkeling at beach (just grass - do snorkel kayak combo tour instead)

Room Tip: Definitely choose ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jverhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Jverhagen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Totally luxurious including swim up bar with lobster pizza, yeah its all that, hotel is directly on the soft white sandy beach... was 88 degrees, mmmm
Staff treats you exceptionally well and the prices are not bad... go visit, mon

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Adrienne,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! FYI: I could live off lobster pizza. :0)

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband turned 60 and I agonized all year about what to do. Travel, in my mind, is always a winner! However, he loves to lay in the sun and I like to keep moving. Living Social had a deal back in June with this property. It looked great! Beach, ocean for him, pool for me, or so I thought. I think I was in the ocean more than him; and I am a pool lover!

We were given a beautiful room on the seventh floor overlooking the grounds, harbor and ocean. The room was large and had a huge deck where you could watch the sun rise and the moon as well. Just a beautiful view. The room itself needs a little work, the walls are thin, but the view more than made up for it. Felt safe, no problem leaving belongings in room. Only real issue are the guests smoking on the balconies. No fault of the lovely staff or the hotel.
Every am enjoyed the sunrise and two pots of coffee before going down to the daily breakfast buffet. No one rushed you out of the room. Made sure to get milk from the store as none in room--just creamers.

Enjoyed the beach every day. Loved all the vendors selling their wares. The jewelry, t-shirts, coverups, starfishman, conchman. Even had my hair braided by Momma D. My local hairdresser loves the job you did, and it is still in. Don't want to take it out! The lifeguards work hard there. Lounge set up, pool duty, sand duty etc. The beach is just beautiful. Great way to tan if you can't sit still. Just floated while waving to everyone going by. No problem with crabs, stingrays or other creatures. Had no fear!

After the beach into the pool and then refreshing drinks at Hammerheads. Had the rum punch, and great bloody mary's. Bar staff is great...Edmond, Solomon, and Michael! Love you guys!

The restaurant staff is so friendly as well. Velma, Catherine, Monica and everyone else. You guys make it. Thanks again for my husband's cake. You guys are keepers!

The front desk very nice at check-in. A sweety! We loved are room! Thank you.

On getting to the hotel, they have taxis queued up right outside. No problem. Make sure you get the cabby's name/card. Just call and they will come and get you. So reliable and friendly. $30 to the hotel for the two of us including tip. A pleasure.

The only issue, and not a big one, was the Concierge desk when we tried to schedule an excursion to the National Park and kayak. Seemed like it was always full and the girl didn't try very hard at accommodating us. Seems like they rely on cruise ship people to fill it up. We tried, but no luck. So called the cabby and he brought us at 11 and picked up at 5. There was a street vendor selling water (thank God) as we forgot to grab some. Walked out through the mangroves to Gold Rock Beach where it is my understanding they filmed Pirates of the Caribbean. The beach was beautiful, complete with translucent crabs. The tide was going out so we got to see a little of the welcome mat. Just beautiful. Cab picked us up at 5 on time. It was perfect. Some things happen for a reason, I guess. It couldn't have been better!

Surprised my husband with a para sail trip on his birthday morning. It was so light and ethereal. What a way to fly. I don't think he will ever forget this!

Thank you Grand Lucayan. We enjoyed our time so much, we are coming back for Christmas with two of our children! Shhh! it's a surprise. They think they will be at Disney the whole time.

Please forgive my if I did not mention all your names...you are all wonderful! Thanks for making a difference. Can't wait to see you all again!

Splurge on the ocean view with the large balcony...it's all about the view here. Get up at sunrise...it's amazing!

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view...you'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hicks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Hicks23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this very sweet, and detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is much appreciated.

I’m very happy you chose to celebrate your husband’s 60th birthday with us. I’m so glad our staff created a memorable experience for you both. We will certainly let Edmond, Solomon, Michael, Velma, Catherine, Monica know how much they impacted your stay! :0)

Thank you, again, for staying with us. We’re looking forward to seeing you and family next month! :)

I’m so sorry if our concierge service couldn’t be more helpful in scheduling an excursion to kayak at Lucayan National Park. Reservations can fill up quickly if we’re expecting a visit from cruise ships. For you next visit in December, I recommend scheduling in advance with our Reservations staff.

Thank you, again, for staying with us. And for writing such a kind and sweet review. We’re looking forward to seeing you and family next month! :)

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our Carnival cruise itinerary allowed for 6 hours at Freeport. After reading tripadvisor reviews for Grand Lucayan, we decided to buy a day pass and spend the day. We took a shuttle bus from the port for $15 per person and paid $10 per person for the day pass. The investment was certainly worth the money. We enjoyed lots of wide-open space. The beach was beautifully manicured, the pools were clean and refreshing. Pool bar and restaurants were nice quality and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend it for anyone needing some time to relax away from the crowded cruise ship.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Tim,

Thank you so much for spending the day at our resort. I’m so glad your visit was relaxing, and a nice break away from the cruise ship.

We hope you'll consider staying with us next time. :)

Sincerely,

Your friends at The Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am a business traveler and don’t have time to use the amenities such as the tennis courts, pool, gym, or beach.

I actually wanted to use the hot tub after a long day working on my feet. However the hot tub was out of service for the three days I was there. I was not happy about this. If the hot tub was working, I would have giving the resort an excellent rating.

The wait to check in was too long. There was only one person at the front desk. There should have been at least two people working there.

The food at the breakfast buffet was great. Location is awesome. The rooms was spacious and super clean.

Added to my bill when I checked out were the following: Government tax of 5%, Tourism Levy of 9%, Energy surcharge of 10%, Resort fee of 9%, Service charge of 8%. These charges added quite a bit to the cost of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank xx7xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi xx7xx,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate the feedback.

I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location, it's almost impossible to take a bad picture. :0) I'm also happy to hear that the breakfast buffet did not disappoint.

Please accept my sincere apologize that the hot tub was out of service during your visit.

Also, I'm sorry if any of the taxes and fees were unclear upon booking. Guests who book through our website will see all of the taxes and fees up front. Guests who book through 3rd party sits have the option to pay taxes and fees at the hotel and so, often times, are not exposed to the pricing.

We appreciate you staying with us during your business trip, and hope to welcome you back for either business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is right on the beach which is a secure beach for hotel guests only for your protection. The most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Upgrade to the all inclusive breakfast it is def worth it. Food is amazing and they prepare it right in front of you!! When you go for breakfast ask for Lilly to serve you she is upbeat, warm, and def made our experience every time we ate there! Best server on the island. The hotel location is great right on the beach well taken care of and right across from the port lucayan market place. Def do the banana boat ride ask for Jamal it's a fun inexpensive way to see the island. As far as restaurants Do NOT go to Iries it's located at the hotel. Awful food awful service. We ate at Sabors 3 times best food on the island. The shark dives with Unexso were a great experience if your a diver we highly recommend that. Relax in the Infiniti pool!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skurzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Skurzen,

Thanks so much for the kind words!

So glad you enjoyed the all inclusive breakfast! :-) We will certainly let Lilly know how much you enjoyed her!

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Iries. For that, I do apologize. I will certainly look into this further.

Thanks for leaving such a detailed review. I’m sure other guests will find this useful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing