We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view and great property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent the day at the Grand when we came in on a Carnival Cruise. We took a taxi to resort and had a day of R&R at poolside. The infinity pool looks out over the nice beach area. Plenty of chairs on pool deck. Beach was nice and clean, chairs were fine but little to no umbrellas. Bar staff friendly and free wifi help us connect with family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi castlex4,

So glad to hear you enjoyed the day at our resort! Come back and stay with us a little longer next time! And be sure to get an ocean view! You won't regret it!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    1,047
    488
    238
    207
See reviews for
860
1,234
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently stayed here while attending my niece's destination wedding. It was fabulous. Beautiful hotel right on the ocean. We upgraded to an ocean view room and I highly recommend doing that. You can watch the sunrise from your balcony. Get a room above the 5th floor so you have the view. Otherwise trees are in your way. The buffet breakfast at Willie Broadleaf's was awesome and so worth it. The staff there were all friendly and food was delicious! Cooked fresh right in front of you. The whole place was clean and well run. The pools were terrific and we loved the bar in the pool. Fun to sit on stools in the water and have a drink. The hotel is right across the street from the market place which was nice. There is a lot of walking at the hotel. The rooms are in another building from the check in lobby and the place is so big. The wristbands you had to wear to show you were a guest there were a pain. I can see why they have them but they are annoying and unattractive and mine bothered me at night. They did let us take them off for the wedding. It's a beautiful place to get married! Prettiest wedding with the best atmosphere that I have ever been to. My sister and her husband did have a problem with their room one night. Some heavy duty floor cleaning product had been used in their room and filled the room with fumes and they couldn't sleep and got headaches but the next day they moved them to another room. This cleaning product was also used in the entrance to the hotel and was unpleasant. Smelled like paint thinner. We did go golfing. It was so hot on the golf course, not near ocean so no breeze and the golf course wasn't anything special and don't wear sandals because they have biting ants there. Lots of beautiful birds there though. And turtles. Nice carts with built in coolers. Prepare to tip a lot on this island! We went in early November and it was off season so beaches weren't crowded at all and it was wonderful. Overall a great place and very fun trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 5th floor so you have the view of the ocean. Definitely get an ocean side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Thelma6636,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all the feedback! I'm certain other guests will benefit from reading this review! I do apologize for the smell of the cleaning solution. We will certainly look into this. We hope to see you again soon!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We wanted to visit the place we honeymooned in 1978. Actually took two of our kids back to Freeport for our 10th, but now "empty-nesters" and on the loose to visit the two of us again. Walks on the beach, swimming in the ocean and the Infinity pool. Great buffet breakfast that is value-priced at WIllie Broadleaf and the Plantation Cafe offered fast good breakfast sandwiches and coffee/danish for beach breakfasts. Churchill's a must for a romantic dinner and sincere service-divine live Jazz, so lovely. Beautiful property, and Bahamian smiles on most...those that don't have the spirit to serve....we have to encourage. Would like to return with the entire family and so thankful for how well it was all laid out, just had to get our bearings to fully enjoy. Beach bar lacked a little enthusiasm from staff, but, that's a tough job when us tourists forget our manners. Best spot to vacation on Grand Bahama from what we saw......and 'tis an easy walk over to the marketplace for diversity....get the conch salad from Mr. Brown!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Esther1075,

Welcome back and thank you for being so loyal. We are happy to hear you two enjoy yourselves at the pool, bar and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you and the entire family next time you visit!

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you read French then you may have seen my (French) wife’s fairly furious tirade about this hotel in February. Time has given us perspective. It was WHOLLY unfortunate that the telecom giant, ‘Three (3)’, should have chosen to have their entire Italian staff there during the majority of our stay. Nothing against this 800-strong Italian crowd- my mother’s Italian as it happens- they were mostly charming and kind and fine ambassadors for country and company alike. The odd obnoxious pig but which society doesn’t suffer this? No, the issue was that they were there to party. And, it turned out, precisely during the hours that we mostly wished to sleep. Oh, and our son was 5 months old and we all know that waking a sleeping baby is a sin…………..I have to say that the only thing the hotel were truly guilty of was not thinking to warn us of the invasion and not segregating the ‘non-3’ guests from the others. The complex is big enough to have done so. So, they didn’t do either and there we were at 11 pm, jet lagged from the UK, with disco fever inside our otherwise fine room- great views from the 5th floor across the beach, a small terrace and even a landscape window in our bathroom. Once it was clear that I was distinctly unhappy, the lady at the other end of the phone (Alison) moved us for the night to a far-end quiet spot. The next day we moved back to our 5th floor beauty and it happened all over. Same outcome, courtesy again of the fast moving and excellent Alison. By the time it happened the third night- despite uncertain re-assurances- I got through to Mr Davis, the head honcho with a commanding gravelly voice that reminded me of the magnificent West Indian cricketer, Michael Holding . He (Mr Davis not Michael Holding) organised a move to a ground floor suite. This satisfied my ego as well as averting my occasional tendency for vertigo on the 5th floor. We moved back next day to floor 5. Same thing. We thus again moved to the ground floor suite and I twisted Mr Davis’ arm that we should keep it for the remaining 4 days. He agreed- putting me (rightly as it happens) firmly but politely in my place after a capricious outburst from me – well we’re all allowed one right? Now get this: we had rain that evening. Really quite heavy rain and not especially predicted or predictable. The result was that the disco had to move under cover and right outside our new ground floor suite. In exasperation I lifted the phone to Mr Davis: he started to talk and then, well, the laughter. He couldn’t help but comment on the irony and I couldn’t help but laugh too- even my wife at this stage had recovered her humour and our big-brown eyed son had adapted his internal clock to the upside-down world of Bahamian time and culture from England. We stayed the remainder of the nights in peace as 3 Italia went home and we had a sizeable chunk knocked off the bill. And we’re probably soon going back to this very resort……………. So why?

I’ve visited the Bahamas quite a lot and love the islands. Their attraction is also their Achilles heel. They are culturally mid USA and Caribbean- unsurprisingly. Taking the best of both makes them a phenomenal force. Taking the worst of both makes them- well- undesirable. I spoke to a shop owner at one of the stores opposite the complex and she told me that, generally, tourist trade was significantly down and that the British especially were absent. The danger, I told her, is that Bahamas could be accused of delivering laid-back Caribbean service whilst expecting American revenue and tips. She sort-of understood. The truth is that Bahamian people are wonderful: re-calibrating the Islands’ outward face in a competitive and open world of tourism could put them back to their best.

So, what of the Grand Lucayan? its big but doesn’t fail to feel personal- thanks to Bahamian hospitality. It is slap bang on the superb beach and if this matters to you- as it does to my family- then this is huge. Also greatly appreciated is the tourist-focussed complex 30 seconds across the road. Sure by Bahamian standards its not cheap- but by USA standards its normal and by European standards it is cheap. Endless small shops and restaurants and, yes, some are lousy but some step up and are thoroughly enjoyable. The hotel bar’s prices are disappointingly silly- close to 20 dollars from memory for two ‘whiskey and gingerades’ (Whisky Mac) poolside- so stepping out is advisable.
So taken together, the great attraction of this hotel is that this is a one-stop-shop phenomenon: sun, beach, endless cosy (but variable quality!) independent restaurants and bars opposite, a terrific (but expensive- think Michelin starred in both respects) restaurant in the hotel, good room service- which is actually not too expensive-, and all within 20 minutes of the airport. And the people are superlatively human: not here to serve but here to be excellent staff and, more importantly, ‘real persons’, when they deal with reasonable and respectful guests. And, lets face it, not that expensive overall. My family loves to arrive in such places and just chill for a week or two. My great friend from Canada, Stevey K, can’t bear that. Him and his grown up kids need activity: they stayed here, hired mopeds from somewhere and had an absolute blast- mopedding (does that have one or two of the letter d?), diving/snorkelling, sight-seeing and, unusually, scrutinising the underlying strategies of the Island’s industries.

So………..thank you Alison and Mr Davis: I am hoping that we learned as much from each other and that our resolves are equally as sharpened as a result. To the guests- the, like us, ‘particular but non-millionaire’ guests out there…………..do it! The hotel’s silly pool bar prices have prevented a perfect score but the rest is difficult to criticise and easy to enjoy. Just check that there’s no gigantic corporate parties when you go J Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Cathy E.,

Thank you for such a raving review! I'd like to apologize again for the other guests, but I'm happy to hear Alison and Mr. Davis took care of you and your family. Also, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the pool, beach and Bahamian culture. We hope to see you and your family back here soon!

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in early November. It's an older hotel and some upgrades are in order, but it was clean and the staff was great!
We were upgraded to an ocean view on the fourth and were amazed at the gorgeous view! The beach was fabulous with soft white sand and not a stone or shell to hinder your walking. We decided to venture from the crowds and found a great spot that we had all to ourselves!
The grounds were well cared for and they even had hammocks if you wanted to relax by yourself.
There was a market place across the street for shopping and restaurants.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Lucayan. It's not luxurious, by the location can't be beat!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Mgrieves,

We are excited to hear you had a wonderful stay!

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hi! Last year we went on a cruise to the Bahamas and went to the Grand Lucayan Beach Resort on our day in Freeport and gave it a 5 star rating. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to go on the same cruise this year and go back to the Grand Lucayan, and we gave it 5 stars again. Easy to get there, get off the cruise ship and stand in line for the taxi to the Grand Lucayan Marketplace ($10 round trip per person), which is right across the street from the hotel. Walk across the street to the hotel and walk thru the gorgeous lobby and thru the rear glass doors to the outside (beach side). Then turn to the right and walk until you get to the Guard Shack. Or you can walk down the road until you see the sign for the casino and then walk up that alleyway to the Guard Shack. Either way is fine, I just love seeing the beautiful lobby. It is now $15 PP to use the facilities, but it's worth it. They will put wrist bands on you to show that you have paid. Beautiful pool, beautiful beach, great 12 person hot tub (about 102 degrees), great drinks at the walk up and swim up bar. They have lounge chairs and hammocks under the palm trees that you can use but you must bring your own towels from the ship. There is a little store there that you can use cash in to buy soda and snacks and bottled water and such, but if you want a mixed or frozen drink or want to eat lunch, it is a cashless bar, so you must use your credit card. I wish they took cash, but you can't have everything. We walked next door on the beach to Billie Joe's on the Beach Shack for lunch and the cheeseburgers ($9.50 for cheeseburgers and fries plate) were delicious. The resort is simply beautiful and we enjoyed ourselves again this year same as last. One thing, last year we went in July, this year was November, and they told me in November the water would be a little chilly... Well it wasn't chilly.. IT WAS COLD!!! Too cold for me! But that's not the resort's fault. And someone else might not think it was too cold, but don't say I didn't warn ya!! All in all another great visit to the resort, and maybe next year we will just fly there and stay for 3 or 4 days. I would highly recommend this resort to any cruise ship passengers, just remember to bring your towels!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan_N_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Welcome back Dan_N_NC!

We are thrilled to hear you had an awesome time visiting us!! We hope you had a chance to relax in one of those hammock underneath the palms, it's truly paradise. We can't wait for you to visit us again, keep a eye out for deals on our hotel rates, we'd love to have you back!

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
379 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

After arriving at the hotel we waited until 3:30 to get into our room. Although the hotel was less than 50 per cent occupied we still had to wait. Went to the pool and the beach..... Probably 50 people tops we saw at the beach and pools the time we were here. No staff walking around asking you if you need a drink. They do have a bar by the pools. They have an infinity pool here but it is extremely small. The room once we got it was very nice. A large room with a balcony. Bathroom outdated but overall very nice. Staff at the hotel were all very nice. The people in the Bahamas are just nice. The hotel has limited places to eat. Went to eat Asian the first night. Closed. So went to the buffet and it was horrid. Chef needs to watch Food Network a little bit. Next night buffet was closed but Asian was open. The food was good here. The waitresses were not very attentive. It was a little pricey for what you received. We had breakfast about two blocks from the hotel. There is an assortment of restaurants and shops there. That is the place to go for some good food here. Overall we were very dissatisfied with this resort. We have traveled extensively to Mexico and the Dominican. This place just doesn't stack up. Would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi GJTravel,

I'm happy to hear our staff was welcoming and that you liked your room! I'm so sorry to hear you had to wait a long time at check-in, we try our best to have a smooth check-in for every guest. Most of our guests tell us how much they enjoy the buffet, I'm sorry this wasn't the case during your visit. I am pleased to hear you had a good meal at the Asian restaurant although the service wasn't up to your standards. If there is anything we can do please feel free to contact us at info@grandlucayan.com

Your friends at the Grand Lucayan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing