We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Islander(Freeport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,052)
Filter reviews
3,052 results
Traveller rating
1,007
1,071
508
246
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
1,071
508
246
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschina beachacross the streetbreakers cayocean viewinfinity poolcigar barall inclusive packagelighthouse pointcruise shipday passbeautiful resortgrand celebrationall inclusive planswim up barthe check in processbanana boatper person
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 3,052 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

it is a big hotel with many things to do, it a kind of all inclusive hotel with good restaurants, the breakfast was very good(buffet), enjoyed my time here even if I had no much time to enjoy as I was attending a conference....will for sure come back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Hubert H,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you again soon! :0)

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went there as part of a cruise package, so our cruise probably lowered the quality of the clientele. The rooms are dated, but clean and well stocked. No issue there. Restaurants at hotel and in area were limited. Lots of fried fish and conch. Lots of weak drinks. Water sports abound all at extra expense. Market across the street is over-hyped. I suspect i am under rating the hotel as a reflection of the totality of the trip. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the ocean at least 5 floors up. Best view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Holmeswk,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable about your recent vacation. Many of our guests rave about the classic Bahamian experience at our resort, such as the fish fries and other favorite bahamian dishes, as well as the overall friendly hospitality they receive. Many of those same guests return year after year to relive the experience. It's regrettable to know that this was not your experience. For that I certainly apologize. Please know that your feedback is valued and will certainly be considered.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I attended 2 conferences at this hotel this year. At both the hotel staff paid attention to every detail. They were at pains to ensure that attendees were happy and determined that guests would return. The bars and the restaurants are good. Service excels. The beach is simply wonderful as are the several pools and the spa activities and service. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Latoya519,

Thanks for all the lovely words! We hope to see you again soon.

-Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent the day at the Grand when we came in on a Carnival Cruise. We took a taxi to resort and had a day of R&R at poolside. The infinity pool looks out over the nice beach area. Plenty of chairs on pool deck. Beach was nice and clean, chairs were fine but little to no umbrellas. Bar staff friendly and free wifi help us connect with family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank castlex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi castlex4,

So glad to hear you enjoyed the day at our resort! Come back and stay with us a little longer next time! And be sure to get an ocean view! You won't regret it!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently stayed here while attending my niece's destination wedding. It was fabulous. Beautiful hotel right on the ocean. We upgraded to an ocean view room and I highly recommend doing that. You can watch the sunrise from your balcony. Get a room above the 5th floor so you have the view. Otherwise trees are in your way. The buffet breakfast at Willie Broadleaf's was awesome and so worth it. The staff there were all friendly and food was delicious! Cooked fresh right in front of you. The whole place was clean and well run. The pools were terrific and we loved the bar in the pool. Fun to sit on stools in the water and have a drink. The hotel is right across the street from the market place which was nice. There is a lot of walking at the hotel. The rooms are in another building from the check in lobby and the place is so big. The wristbands you had to wear to show you were a guest there were a pain. I can see why they have them but they are annoying and unattractive and mine bothered me at night. They did let us take them off for the wedding. It's a beautiful place to get married! Prettiest wedding with the best atmosphere that I have ever been to. My sister and her husband did have a problem with their room one night. Some heavy duty floor cleaning product had been used in their room and filled the room with fumes and they couldn't sleep and got headaches but the next day they moved them to another room. This cleaning product was also used in the entrance to the hotel and was unpleasant. Smelled like paint thinner. We did go golfing. It was so hot on the golf course, not near ocean so no breeze and the golf course wasn't anything special and don't wear sandals because they have biting ants there. Lots of beautiful birds there though. And turtles. Nice carts with built in coolers. Prepare to tip a lot on this island! We went in early November and it was off season so beaches weren't crowded at all and it was wonderful. Overall a great place and very fun trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 5th floor so you have the view of the ocean. Definitely get an ocean side room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Thelma6636,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all the feedback! I'm certain other guests will benefit from reading this review! I do apologize for the smell of the cleaning solution. We will certainly look into this. We hope to see you again soon!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews