We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort just in front of beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice resort just in front of beach”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a BIG resort, with lots of pools and restaurants. The beach is just in front, there is a infinity pool which is great! We had just breakfast at the hotel, as Port Lucaya Marketplace is just across the street with many cheaper options. Unfortunately we were in rainy season, and some of the pools were closed. I can't think in a better place to stay in Freeport, the price is fair for what you will get. And don't think, take the rooms with beach view.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Marcio N,

Thanks so much for your kind words! You're absolutely right about the ocean view! The sunrise over the ocean is incredible. Though it gets pretty loud what with all the hearts breaking! :0) Hope you come back and see us again soon!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Thanks to my parents who asked us to join them on a trip to the Bahamas to watch the Lady Vols in a basketball tournament, we enjoyed the Grand Lucayan in Freeport. My dad booked us a 7th floor ocean view 701 which was one of the corner units and amazing view with comfortable beds and very clean room. The Bahamians are very friendly laid back people; so plan to be patient with service of food at the resort. However, the spa staff was amazing getting us in for a couples massage the same day. The massage was the best I have had in a long time, two thumbs up, and the gym is very well equipped and clean. We enjoyed the market across the street for entertainment and meals. Be sure to check your ticket before you add a tip; almost all the restaurants add 15% automatically. Unfortunately, the water was too cold for us to jump into the pools but we did partake of the cocktails at the swim up bar, which were very good. We would return.

Room Tip: ocean view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Renda,

Thanks so much for all the kind words and for the great advice! I'm sure many future guests will find your review useful! Thanks for coming out and supporting Women's Basketball! We hope to see you again next year!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

it is a big hotel with many things to do, it a kind of all inclusive hotel with good restaurants, the breakfast was very good(buffet), enjoyed my time here even if I had no much time to enjoy as I was attending a conference....will for sure come back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Hubert H,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you again soon! :0)

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went there as part of a cruise package, so our cruise probably lowered the quality of the clientele. The rooms are dated, but clean and well stocked. No issue there. Restaurants at hotel and in area were limited. Lots of fried fish and conch. Lots of weak drinks. Water sports abound all at extra expense. Market across the street is over-hyped. I suspect i am under rating the hotel as a reflection of the totality of the trip. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the ocean at least 5 floors up. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Holmeswk,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable about your recent vacation. Many of our guests rave about the classic Bahamian experience at our resort, such as the fish fries and other favorite bahamian dishes, as well as the overall friendly hospitality they receive. Many of those same guests return year after year to relive the experience. It's regrettable to know that this was not your experience. For that I certainly apologize. Please know that your feedback is valued and will certainly be considered.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I attended 2 conferences at this hotel this year. At both the hotel staff paid attention to every detail. They were at pains to ensure that attendees were happy and determined that guests would return. The bars and the restaurants are good. Service excels. The beach is simply wonderful as are the several pools and the spa activities and service. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Latoya519,

Thanks for all the lovely words! We hope to see you again soon.

-Your Friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent the day at the Grand when we came in on a Carnival Cruise. We took a taxi to resort and had a day of R&R at poolside. The infinity pool looks out over the nice beach area. Plenty of chairs on pool deck. Beach was nice and clean, chairs were fine but little to no umbrellas. Bar staff friendly and free wifi help us connect with family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi castlex4,

So glad to hear you enjoyed the day at our resort! Come back and stay with us a little longer next time! And be sure to get an ocean view! You won't regret it!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently stayed here while attending my niece's destination wedding. It was fabulous. Beautiful hotel right on the ocean. We upgraded to an ocean view room and I highly recommend doing that. You can watch the sunrise from your balcony. Get a room above the 5th floor so you have the view. Otherwise trees are in your way. The buffet breakfast at Willie Broadleaf's was awesome and so worth it. The staff there were all friendly and food was delicious! Cooked fresh right in front of you. The whole place was clean and well run. The pools were terrific and we loved the bar in the pool. Fun to sit on stools in the water and have a drink. The hotel is right across the street from the market place which was nice. There is a lot of walking at the hotel. The rooms are in another building from the check in lobby and the place is so big. The wristbands you had to wear to show you were a guest there were a pain. I can see why they have them but they are annoying and unattractive and mine bothered me at night. They did let us take them off for the wedding. It's a beautiful place to get married! Prettiest wedding with the best atmosphere that I have ever been to. My sister and her husband did have a problem with their room one night. Some heavy duty floor cleaning product had been used in their room and filled the room with fumes and they couldn't sleep and got headaches but the next day they moved them to another room. This cleaning product was also used in the entrance to the hotel and was unpleasant. Smelled like paint thinner. We did go golfing. It was so hot on the golf course, not near ocean so no breeze and the golf course wasn't anything special and don't wear sandals because they have biting ants there. Lots of beautiful birds there though. And turtles. Nice carts with built in coolers. Prepare to tip a lot on this island! We went in early November and it was off season so beaches weren't crowded at all and it was wonderful. Overall a great place and very fun trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 5th floor so you have the view of the ocean. Definitely get an ocean side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Thelma6636,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all the feedback! I'm certain other guests will benefit from reading this review! I do apologize for the smell of the cleaning solution. We will certainly look into this. We hope to see you again soon!

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing