We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Cove(Freeport)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$210
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,055)
Filter reviews
3,055 results
Traveller rating
1,007
1,072
510
246
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
1,072
510
246
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschina beachacross the streetbreakers cayocean viewinfinity poolcigar barall inclusive packagelighthouse pointcruise shipday passbeautiful resortgrand celebrationall inclusive planswim up barthe check in processbanana boatper person
Filter
Updating list...
1,788 - 1,793 of 3,055 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a BIG resort, with lots of pools and restaurants. The beach is just in front, there is a infinity pool which is great! We had just breakfast at the hotel, as Port Lucaya Marketplace is just across the street with many cheaper options. Unfortunately we were in rainy season, and some of the pools were closed. I can't think in a better place to stay in Freeport, the price is fair for what you will get. And don't think, take the rooms with beach view.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with beach view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Marcio N,

Thanks so much for your kind words! You're absolutely right about the ocean view! The sunrise over the ocean is incredible. Though it gets pretty loud what with all the hearts breaking! :0) Hope you come back and see us again soon!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Thanks to my parents who asked us to join them on a trip to the Bahamas to watch the Lady Vols in a basketball tournament, we enjoyed the Grand Lucayan in Freeport. My dad booked us a 7th floor ocean view 701 which was one of the corner units and amazing view with comfortable beds and very clean room. The Bahamians are very friendly laid back people; so plan to be patient with service of food at the resort. However, the spa staff was amazing getting us in for a couples massage the same day. The massage was the best I have had in a long time, two thumbs up, and the gym is very well equipped and clean. We enjoyed the market across the street for entertainment and meals. Be sure to check your ticket before you add a tip; almost all the restaurants add 15% automatically. Unfortunately, the water was too cold for us to jump into the pools but we did partake of the cocktails at the swim up bar, which were very good. We would return.

Room Tip: ocean view is well worth it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Renda,

Thanks so much for all the kind words and for the great advice! I'm sure many future guests will find your review useful! Thanks for coming out and supporting Women's Basketball! We hope to see you again next year!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

it is a big hotel with many things to do, it a kind of all inclusive hotel with good restaurants, the breakfast was very good(buffet), enjoyed my time here even if I had no much time to enjoy as I was attending a conference....will for sure come back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Hubert H,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you again soon! :0)

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went there as part of a cruise package, so our cruise probably lowered the quality of the clientele. The rooms are dated, but clean and well stocked. No issue there. Restaurants at hotel and in area were limited. Lots of fried fish and conch. Lots of weak drinks. Water sports abound all at extra expense. Market across the street is over-hyped. I suspect i am under rating the hotel as a reflection of the totality of the trip. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the ocean at least 5 floors up. Best view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Holmeswk,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable about your recent vacation. Many of our guests rave about the classic Bahamian experience at our resort, such as the fish fries and other favorite bahamian dishes, as well as the overall friendly hospitality they receive. Many of those same guests return year after year to relive the experience. It's regrettable to know that this was not your experience. For that I certainly apologize. Please know that your feedback is valued and will certainly be considered.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I attended 2 conferences at this hotel this year. At both the hotel staff paid attention to every detail. They were at pains to ensure that attendees were happy and determined that guests would return. The bars and the restaurants are good. Service excels. The beach is simply wonderful as are the several pools and the spa activities and service. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Latoya519,

Thanks for all the lovely words! We hope to see you again soon.

-Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews