We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of beaches, Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at Grand Lucayan Beach resort as part of a package deal with Celebration's Cruise line. The ship was Bahamas Celebration. Cruise part was just ok.

Grand Lucayan Beach resort was very nice. The room was clean and seemed newly remodeled. There was a ton of beaches right on resort property. Unfortunately our stay was cold, windy, and rainy. I guess that is the risk of going in January.

The only resort restaurant we ate at was WILLY BROADLEAF. We had the breakfast buffet. It was great. Tons of stuff and everything was tasty.

Across the street is a large shopping and restaurant market area. Nice to have off resort things to do right next to resort. We rented scooters from market for the day and drove all over the Island. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManicZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello ManicZen,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! :0) We really appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

-Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at Grand Lucayan on my first visit to Freeport. The hotel room was spacious and comfortable. From our balcony we had a view of the resort grounds and beach. Every morning was a treat as we woke to the sun rising. The resort has several restaurants, all with quite good food and reasonable prices. There are several pools, hot tub, swim up bar, ping pong table and across the street from Port Lucaya Marketplace, with more restaurant choices and shopping. A casino is a few steps from the hotel. The staff at the resort was always friendly and helpful. It was definitely a great experience

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor with amazing views. I would definitely recommend a room on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieKville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi AnnieKville,

Thanks for all the lovely words and for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate it. We hope you come back and see us again soon. :-)

-Your Friends at Grand Lucayan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Our Lucaya Hotel after sailing over on the Bahamas Celebration. Spent three beautiful days surrounded by wonderful people. Great accommodations. Irises Restaurant, adjacent to the hotel, is a must stop by spot great food for the value . Avoid Agave and most of the restaurants in the shopping centr if port lucaya way overpriced.
The island stole our heart. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Penny C,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And it's wonderful to know that our restaurant, Iries, made such an impression on you. :0) I'm sorry that you did not enjoy Agave and the Marketplace restaurants. Though they are not affiliated with the Resort, many of our guest have expressed to us in reviews such as yours how much they enjoy them. I'm so sorry that this was not your experience. On your next visit, feel free to ask our guest services for recommendations. They will be happy to help! :0) Hope to see you again soon, and thanks again for the review!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a BIG resort, with lots of pools and restaurants. The beach is just in front, there is a infinity pool which is great! We had just breakfast at the hotel, as Port Lucaya Marketplace is just across the street with many cheaper options. Unfortunately we were in rainy season, and some of the pools were closed. I can't think in a better place to stay in Freeport, the price is fair for what you will get. And don't think, take the rooms with beach view.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Marcio N,

Thanks so much for your kind words! You're absolutely right about the ocean view! The sunrise over the ocean is incredible. Though it gets pretty loud what with all the hearts breaking! :0) Hope you come back and see us again soon!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Thanks to my parents who asked us to join them on a trip to the Bahamas to watch the Lady Vols in a basketball tournament, we enjoyed the Grand Lucayan in Freeport. My dad booked us a 7th floor ocean view 701 which was one of the corner units and amazing view with comfortable beds and very clean room. The Bahamians are very friendly laid back people; so plan to be patient with service of food at the resort. However, the spa staff was amazing getting us in for a couples massage the same day. The massage was the best I have had in a long time, two thumbs up, and the gym is very well equipped and clean. We enjoyed the market across the street for entertainment and meals. Be sure to check your ticket before you add a tip; almost all the restaurants add 15% automatically. Unfortunately, the water was too cold for us to jump into the pools but we did partake of the cocktails at the swim up bar, which were very good. We would return.

Room Tip: ocean view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Renda,

Thanks so much for all the kind words and for the great advice! I'm sure many future guests will find your review useful! Thanks for coming out and supporting Women's Basketball! We hope to see you again next year!

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

it is a big hotel with many things to do, it a kind of all inclusive hotel with good restaurants, the breakfast was very good(buffet), enjoyed my time here even if I had no much time to enjoy as I was attending a conference....will for sure come back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Hubert H,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you again soon! :0)

Your Friends at Grand Lucayan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went there as part of a cruise package, so our cruise probably lowered the quality of the clientele. The rooms are dated, but clean and well stocked. No issue there. Restaurants at hotel and in area were limited. Lots of fried fish and conch. Lots of weak drinks. Water sports abound all at extra expense. Market across the street is over-hyped. I suspect i am under rating the hotel as a reflection of the totality of the trip. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the ocean at least 5 floors up. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Holmeswk,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable about your recent vacation. Many of our guests rave about the classic Bahamian experience at our resort, such as the fish fries and other favorite bahamian dishes, as well as the overall friendly hospitality they receive. Many of those same guests return year after year to relive the experience. It's regrettable to know that this was not your experience. For that I certainly apologize. Please know that your feedback is valued and will certainly be considered.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#3 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £107 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing