We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Spacious quiet rooms with an excellent view if you get ocean front. Plenty of free entertainment. Very freindly staff. The best! The Churchill Resteraount is also very good but will cost extra. Prepare for peace and relaxation.

Room Tip: Just bring a little extra money for food and you will be all set! You will want an oceanfront room e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello David,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate your kind words about our resort and are happy to hear you loved your ocean view and enjoyed a delicious meal at Churchills. Come back anytime for a little peace and relaxation!

-Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    1,044
    486
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,226
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ylojarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Grand Bahama it self don't offer better place to stay if looking the total ameneties this hotel can offer. Restaurants, pools, beaches etc.
Some of the beach restaurants were not open, maybe it was off-season...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santero70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Santero70,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed all the amenities the Grand Lucayan has to offer. We hope you can visit us again soon!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at the Grand Lucayan January 12-16, 2014, and can tell anyone, with no reservation, the experience was beyond excellent. The Marina View room met or exceeded all expectations for quality, comfort, and cleanliness. The balcony view of the Marina and the Lucayan community is spectacular, especially at night. If you select the Grand Lucayan, make absolutely sure to meet Mr. Freddie Smith and Mr Clayton Tucker with hotel management. These two gentlemen are totally awesome and so wonderful. Bruno at the Plantation Cafe always had hot coffee ready combined with a great smile -- Bruno, you are "The Man." Churchills is truly a world class restaurant in every respect. The baked lobster, lamb, and filet mignon are to-die-for delicious. Ask for Anastasia to be your server -- she is the crown jewel of the Bahamas and will deliver a fantastic Bahamian dining experience. Velma at Willy Broadleaf is equally as wonderful and will have a great smile for you. The breakfast buffet is delicious, and the fish fry too. Willard with the security team is one of the nicest people ever, and kept an eagle-eye on our belongings while on the beach. He also knows virtually every aspect of the Lucaya community. If you need to know the location of a certain attraction or store, ask Willard. Be sure to visit Freeport Jewelers across the street, and ask for Lynn. I would consider her an expert concerning precious stones and she will give you honest, excellent advice. I personally met every person mentioned, and they made me feel so very welcome every minute of every day. Mr. Smith and Mr. Tucker, you really, really delivered a "beyond excellent" vacation experience --- and this is deeply appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Chuck665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Chuck665,

Thank you so much for writing a raving review on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to read you had a grand experience staying with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff members: Freddie, Clayton, Bruno, Anastasia, Velma, Willard. I will be sure to let them know their hard work did not go unnoticed. On behalf of everyone, it was a pleasure meeting and serving you! Be sure to visit us again soon!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We just left the Grand Lucayan after a 5 night stay and we had a great time. We deliberately avoided the other all inclusive resorts this time to see what our experience at a less expensive resort would be. The room was very spacious and clean with a large balcony - we were on the 10th floor with an ocean view - gorgeous! The beach was beautiful with lots of lounge chairs which the lifeguards arrange for you - a nice touch. That is where we spent most of our time. There were also an abundance of chairs at the pool so you aren't fighting for one- which can be really annoying at other resorts. The drinks at the bar are good but high priced...we we went across the street to the liquor store and bought rum, mixers and red wine so we had a supply in the room...much cheaper that way. We ate at Willy Broadleafs most of the time because the food was good and they had a buffet. Not a huge selection - but it was enough for us. We found most of the staff very friendly, although I agree with others that the automatic add on of 15% is a disincentive to provide good service. A couple of recommendations: fitted sheets would be nice! The flat ones on the bottom tend to come untucked, although our housekeeper did an excellent job of making it tight after I asked about it. The armband is a little annoying. The check in process does take a long time and there was only one person checking in and others standing around. That is a negative first impression that could be easily fixed I would think. Overall, a great weekend getaway.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello Wendy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time at our resort. We could not agree more, the view of the ocean is gorgeous and we are happy you enjoyed the beach and had relaxing time lounging around. Thank you for your feedback and we will take all your recommendations into consideration. We hope you get the chance to visit us again!

- Your Friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I am at this resort right now due to the Memories Grand Bahamas delaying their grand opening.
The rooms need a reno, the beds are good but the bath tub is disgusting.
The restaurant options are extremely limited and the buffets have a really small selection. A big turn off for me today was the moldy tomatoes at lunch. The staff seem to hate their jobs and do not enjoy serving people. Especially the ones at the bar by the pool.
The bathrooms by the pool are completely unfit and disgusting. I have been going from the beach to my room on the 6th floor to use the washroom.
We are a group of 8 and one couple had a problem with their movie channel. When they complained to the front desk, the woman there was extremely rude and lied saying it was a problem throughout the entire resort.
Because we are on the all inclusive plan, You have to sign your life away for each drink and each meal. This makes line ups at bars worse because its time consuming.
You cannot get a bottle of water in the all inclusive, but you can get cans of soda, gatorade, beer included. Does not make sense at all!!! Management needs to address that. Tap water from the bathroom that only comes out warm is not pleasant to drink.
The majority of the staff here are not friendly and make you feel like you are inconveiniencing them. They should spend a week training with the staff from Secrets The Vine in Cancun, Mexico to learn how to treat people. I do have to mention a server named Gerard because he was actually great. And Charles the guy that sells excursions and activities in the beach is wonderful too. He is honest and friendly so book things through him. He will deliver!!
This resort has an opportunity to make a good impression on people that were not planning on coming here. If we were having a good experience, we would plan a return trip and spread the word on how great this place is. Unfortunately that is not going to happen. It would be nice to see a manager around to express our concerns but good luck finding one. They are probably hiding because they know how bad this place is.
The only saving grace is the beach, its stunning and beautiful!!!
We're here for 10 more days, wish us luck.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank TiaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello TiaGoose,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay is going. First of all, I want to take this time to apologize on behalf of Memories Grand Bahamas. Their delay in opening is certainly unfortunate. And I completely sympathize with any frustration you may have experienced due to the unexpected change in accommodations. Our role, as you know, has been to accommodate this unique overflow of guests, and in some cases, modifying our existing services to match the accommodations that you booked at Memories Grand Bahamas. I am so very sorry to hear that your stay thus far has been anything less than exceptional.

You have detailed a number of concerns in your review and I want to assure you that they have not gone unread or unconsidered. The first concern I want to address is the all inclusive. Though Grand Lucayan offers an all inclusive plan, it is a limited plan for guests seeking a more affordable offering. We are not a traditional all inclusive and I’m very sorry this was not in line with your expectations. In regards to the movie channels, we have been experiencing issues throughout the resort. Again, I sincerely apologize. We are working on this issue.

On another note, I’m so very pleased to know that Gerard and Charles left such a positive impression on you. And I will certainly pass along your kind words.

You are absolutely right, the unexpected delay in the opening of Memories was an opportunity to make a good impression on new guests who otherwise would not have visited the property. And although your stay got off to a rocky start, we want nothing more than for you to enjoy the remainder. We have passed along this review and your concerns to our front desk staff. If you would like to stop by and introduce yourself, Carmel Churchill would be happy to assist you with any current or ongoing concerns you might have, so please feel free to ask for Carmel directly.

- Your Friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were in Freeport over the New Years holiday (I strongly recomend that if you are there at this time taking a bus and going to the parade on New Years Day) and stayed at the Grand Lucayan resort. The resort is beautiful as well as the grounds. The parts that we found disapointing were lack of bar service on the beach and food prices were pretty high. We found that going across the street to the market was a good alternative to eating at the resort and several of the places there had happy hour and or an early bird special that made dinner much more reasonalble. Our room was in the larger tower of the resort and the room was spacious and very clean. Overall I would stay at this resort again but will choose to go with the all-inclusive next time.

Room Tip: We had a harbor view room and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sfarrishoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello Sfarrishoward,

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time ringing in the New Year with us. We are happy you found time to relax on the beach but I'm sorry we didn't offer you bar service on the beach and found our restaurant prices high. I'm glad you found an alternative place to eat at the Port Lucaya Marketplace and that you took advantage of happy hour! : ) We'd love to have you and your family back! Keep an eye out for special offers on our website and Facebook page. Have a great year!

- Your Friends at the Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

property is nice but the restautant on the property was OK. They are close during the week. All the restaurant is over price. Staff was nice but I will not recommand, not much to do. They don't help on the beach and my experience that they were not polite. we ask gurd to put extra umbrella for us, it was windy but the way his response was unprofessinal. I will not recommand this resort. absolutely nothing to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Vina,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I was surprised to read you didn't find anything to do. Most guest find our beach, pools, water activities, the spa and recommendations of going on excursions, gabling at the casino and playing some gulf enjoyable. I'd like to apologize for the any confusion about our restaurant hours. All four restaurants are open during the week. Also, I'm so sorry that you found a staff member unprofessional at the beach, we try our best to make sure you have a lovely and friendly experience. Thanks again, we really appreciate your feedback.

- Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing