We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Spot in the Bahamas!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Spot in the Bahamas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

we were just at The Grand Lucayan for a dear friends wedding. personally i believe destination weddings are the way to go and this event was SPECTACULAR! Then venue was great! Loved the beaches, the pools, the restaurants in the resort and in walking distance. The property was very clean as well as the rooms. There were a few misses in my opinion ..bartenders at the swim-up bar only worked when they wanted & they didn't have server type folks in the pool area. my expectations was to have someone serve us cocktails while enjoying the amenities and that didn't really happen. needless to say that's not enough to keep us from going back! a great place for sure!!

Room Tip: beach side rooms!! the view is worth the up-charge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracytaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi tracytaustx,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. I am extremely pleased to read that your friends wedding at our property was spectacular. I am also happy to read that you loved our beach, pools and our restaurants. I appreciate all of your feedback and will take it all into consideration. We look forward to have you back soon!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

King Room on corner 6th floor has great ocean and inland view; it appears Make sure of your bedding preference at reservation, because we were told they only guarantee view, but not room type. The room was well appointed, but bathtub / shower and surrounding tile very dated, and shower diverter was stuck in shower position.

If you have any type of resort credits, such as dinner voucher at Churchills,or China Beach restaurants, make sure you take this up with front desk at check-in; we charged our bill to Vaisya card at Churchills, and had a real hassle getting out $50 restaurant credit deducted at check-out.

ChurcHills is a very fine dinning experience, but pricey; China Beach also very good, but a step
below Churchills; China Grill pool bar and grill is good, and Hammerheads serves up good drinks all day at pool and beach. The breakfast buffet at Willy Broadleafs is good for $15 per person.

Pools and beach are very nice, much like some of the all-inclusives, but there could be more umbrellas around both; shade is at a real premium, especially when the cruise ship crowd arrives after 10am. There are no free water-sports on site; you have to walk down the beach and pay a separate vendor for kayaks, sailings, paddle,boards, jet-skies, etc. a resort of this quality should include non-motorized water toys in my opinion.

The next door Casio. Has no air conditioning and according to the workers a fix is not coming shortly; warm inside late at night, and I can't imagine how hot it gets during the day.

Taxi cab service is questionable; some,vans very dated with no a/c and filthy interiors; you would thing the resort would demand a minimum quality level when they arrange pick-up service.

Overall, I enjoyed our 5 night stay despite some inconveniences noted. This hotel is best on island; we had a great private snorkel and beach excursion with Exotic Adventures one afternoon; the Lucayan Market across the street has good island shopping, and entertainment nightly. Try Sabors restaurant at adjacent Pelican Bay resort, very nice.

Room Tip: Request Corner king
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Pat O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and consider our resort to be the best on the island. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed your ocean view room. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Our pools and beach will be waiting for you!

-Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We read several reviews before we arrived at the Grand Lucayan Hotel. Our booking said the Lucayan Lighthouse Pointe. When we got there, we were told they did not have visitors staying there for more than a year. The building we were assigned worked out beautifully. Arriving around 11 A.M., we anticipated the 3:00 availability. Since this was part of a cruise package, the check in process was not the best. They will hold luggage until your room is ready and provide you with a beeper. We were told to check back at three if the beeper did not go off. Ours did not, so we did check back and the room was ready. We arrived Sunday and one of the restaurants offer a Champagne brunch for $25. It sounded a bit pricy but after two hours in the heat, we relented. The 2 grand kids were hungry, and it was close enough so we would feel our beeper. To our surprise the $25 included gratuity and unlimited hard apple cider or champagne and kids eat free. It was the best $50 we spent and the food was plentiful as well as a nice mix of Island specialties.

The resort: Very very nice! There seems to be a good amount of security. The pools on the resort were large and had plenty of chairs around pool & on the beach. Shade was the only thing that is scarce, but you can move the chairs to wherever you need. Towels are checked in and out at the pool with a pool card. The hut may close earlier than 8:oo and towels are not allowed back in the room. Just remember to plan around this. There are several places to sit and enjoy the moment whether it be tables for lunch, rocking chairs on the porch, tables at the pool, or several options in the lobby. The grounds are beautifully kept with tons of places for picture taking.

As for the rooms, we opted out of the upgrade for fear of a time delay. We we assigned the 4th floor facing the tennis courts, overlooking the Lucayan Marketplace. The room was spacious and clean. We did have great internet service. The small refrigerator came in handy and kept thing cold so it was easy to grab bottles of ice water out before any adventure. Our only complaint was the 2 beds were full size and you needed a king size it you were going to request a roll-a-way. Everyone was always pleasant and helpful. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

The Lucayan Marketplace was an easy stroll across the street. We found live entertainment, a place to pick up souvenirs, a place to book excursions and several places to catch a meal of your choice. And of course no price is ever written in stone. That makes for lots of bargaining. Then, when you are finished at the market, there is no waiting for a bus or taxi, you just stroll back across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi dawn b,

Thank you so much for writing your review here on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the champagne brunch at Willy Broadleaf after arriving. I am also very happy to read that you found our resort very nice with beautifully kept grounds and you were able to find plenty of places on property to just sit and take it all in. I appreciate all of your feedback and will take it all into consideration. I definitely hope that you chose to come back and stay with us again very soon.

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I went via Sunwing to the Grand Bahamas in late January 2014. The flight was great and so was the price. The people, staff, and visitors to Freeport were great. As our bus driver said we want you here and we really care. Although some of waiters definitely should take up a different profession especially in Willies Broadleaf the over all service was good. In the Churchill our favorite restaurant service and food was excellent. Didn't really like China Beach, food or service. Iryes was also really good,quaint,really good food and drinks. The pool service food and drinks were good although sometime the attendants were slow and took their time opening up and serving but not bad. Take advantage of quiet time we went to two movies while there both recent movies. One night it rained so we watched it at the plantation house the other one near the pool and beach. We have never seen a beach like the beaches in the Grand Bahamas, white powdery sand,clear,clear water, easy walk to waist deep. It was excellent. We will go back to GB just for the beaches. There is even sand out about twelve miles. If you have time go to reef to feed the sharks that's a cool experience. The market is just across the street easy walk. Neat shops,entertainment,and boat tours. The room was on the third floor and the view of the ocean was fabulous.oh yea excellent gym and spa we went everyday. What a concept no equipment was broken it all worked and there was an attendant on duty. Six bikes,treadmills,elliptically, free weights and machines, plus a separate floor area. They were renovating the casino on site, it's not big but it will be nice. Oh yea after our work outs in the morning instead of going to Willies we found a little cafe that prepared box lunches just by the towers the breakfast sandwiches, coffe and fruit were great and it's all included. The shops in the area the usual time shops. Spend some time at night at the market for local entertainment. The staff at Grand Lucayan Resort were great and the grounds were spotless even the garden ears were friendly. Looking for something different give it a try.

Room Tip: Ocean view, ask for a queen bed for couples, higher than third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwillie_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi rwillie_53,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read that you were able to enjoy a very relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our beaches with white powdery sand and our clear water. I appreciate all of your feedback and definitely hope you come back and stay with us in the near future. Our beaches will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Campo, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a great stay at the Grand Lucayan! The property itself is very beautiful. Lots of space on the beach and tons of room in the pools. We had an island view room, which had a nice view of the market and marina, but if I had to do it again, I would probably splurge on the ocean view. Incredible view from those rooms! Easy to walk to local bars and restaurants, and the restaurants onsite are good, too. Drinks at the poolside bar were fantastic, but a truly fully-staffed swim up bar would make the pool experience just perfect! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall very nice experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sitkasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello sitkasmith,

Thank you so much for writing your TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read that you had a great stay and found our resort beautiful. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed drinks at Hammerheads and that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful. I appreciate all of your feedback and will take it all into consideration. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The good:
The grounds and the beach were beautiful
The ocean view rooms provided a stunning a view and were spacious
The housekeeping staff were great
The staff in the restaurants were wonderful
Dinner at Iries is amazing
The Bell men were great resources for the town

The Bad:
There's not much variety in the food, and the quality is pretty average, with the exception of Iries, which has great food for dinner
The drinks are very watered down
There aren't much activities included for children
Everything across the street at the Port Lucaya is over priced
The Casino stays open depending on how many people are using it. So its schedule is very inconsistent

Overall, I came to this resort as part of a large group and had an amazing time. Because of the size of our group, we had the all-inclusive option, which allowed u to sample food at various locations on the resort and come to the conclusion that the food lacked variety and quality, and the included premium drinks were weak. The concierge did not always address all of our issues/concerns but they always listened attentively, were professional and at least pretended to care. The beach is gorgeous and so are the pools. The hot tubs didn't work but that was OK since it was sooo damn hot!! Overall, this place is gorgeous!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are absolutely beautiful. The higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Audrey B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very pleased to read that you found both our resort grounds and beach beautiful and that you enjoyed your ocean view room. I am also very happy to know that you you found all of the staff in restaurants wonderful and our housekeeping staff great. I appreciate all of your feedback and hope to have you stay with us again soon. The pool and beaches will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 days 2 nights at this beautiful resort. Everything was perfect from the time we checked on until we checked out. Service was great. Room was clean. Close to shopping and restaurants and wonderful to be out for a stroll at night. We stayed on the 4th floor and we're just above the palm trees with excellent view of the ocean and beach. (Wouldn't want to be below the 4th floor b/c view to ocean may be obstructed by palm trees?)
Beach was clean and beautiful and beach towel service was great and very convenient. The pools looked very clean with clear water and seating area but we did not use the pools b/) beach is so close.
Keep up the great job!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tnrunrgrl262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Tnrunrgrl262,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am extremely happy to read that everything during your stay was perfect including the service and your ocean view room. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon in the near future. The beautiful beach will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing