We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+++++ Beach Therapy !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A+++++ Beach Therapy !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

What a perfect place for some badly needed beach therapy! Didn't realize it was so close!! The staff are Beautiful people inside & out! Thanks to Catherine Lewis(cuz), Claretta, Maxine, Troy, Michael, Chantell, Evernette, Carvel, Dwayne, Freda & Bruno who protects my coconut cookies! Room was quite nice & clean-ocean view from balcony magnificent! Wonderful maid service with a smile. Food & Drinks are great-don't miss coconut french toast @ willys, tapas & great live piano @ churchills, Asian on the beach @ china beach (fried bananna's w ice cream!). Gorgeous grounds & pools, perfect white beach, emerald & navy water.....bottom line:
Perfect getaway to chill !
We'll be back w the posse to fish, dive, snorkel & chill.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlewissr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello mlewissr,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, our gorgeous grounds and pools and our beach. I will be sure to let all of the staff you mentioned know that they helped make your stay perfect. We all look forward to having you come back and stay with us again soon. An ocean view room will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    1,047
    488
    238
    207
See reviews for
860
1,234
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our first visit to The Grand Lucayan was an excursion from an NCL ship. We were so impressed with the beauty of the resort that we returned the following year for an extended stay. We returned in July for the third time and enjoyed it very much. The view from our balcony was amazing. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The atmosphere is very relaxed. We have never eaten at the resort because we have heard negative remarks about the food, cost, and service. We found a restaurant across the street at the marketplace (LeMed) with great food and very reasonable prices. The only downside is check in, but even that is not a problem if your prepared. We wear our bathing suits, (although there are changing rooms), go across to LeMed for some crack Conch, and hang out at the beach until our room is ready. We're there to relax anyway. We have already planned our return trip. We have been to many Carribean Islands, but we have enjoyed this resort as much as any of the more distant islands and at a much more reasonable cost. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a chance to relax, and enjoy beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean front room. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hosickjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi hosickjohn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your third trip to our resort. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and the amazing view from your balcony. We look forward to having you back soon!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is great if you are on a budget. It is right on the ocean. It has 3 pools, which one of them tends to be deserted since it is out of the way (I recommend going there, as it is the prettiest, just avoid the side with the bugs). The food is good, but a little pricey, but so is all the food on the island, so I guess it is par for the course.

The staff is very friendly. Silas the bellhop and Nakesha (spelling?) at the hotel desk were fantastic and helped my mom and I when we really needed it. The restaurant staff were a little slow, but again, they're that way at all the restaurants on the island. It is on island time.

I recommend the coconut french toast for breakfast. Delicious!

There is some shopping across the street, as is the unexso building, which is super convenient if you are planning any diving or dolphin experiences (just do it, it is worth the splurge).

All in all, we had a wonderful time, even with the rain. Your vacation is what you make it.

Room Tip: Ocean view, higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcommisso04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello lcommisso04,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your awesome review! I am very pleased to read that you had a wonderful time and found our staff friendly. I will be sure to tell the staff members you mentioned that they helped make your stay memorable. We definitely hope to have you back soon. Our coconut french toast will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed just a short 3 days 2 nights and it was wonderful. Do upgrade to a room overlooking pool and ocean. Staff is very friendly, several great restaurants, Churchill's my absolute favorite, with a classic old English style Bar. Most of all the water is clear, the sandy beach is terrific and the bar staff very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking ocean and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi TorJensen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your upgraded room and found our staff very friendly. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again soon. Churchill’s and our sandy beach with clear water will be waiting for you!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been at the Grand Lucayan for several days now. The facility and setting are beautiful. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. The food is mediocre by any standards. The major drawback ( and a deal breaker for me) is the poor service in virtually every venue. The staff is 20% engaging and helpful but 80% disinterested. On Sunday evening if this week only one restaurant was open for dinner. The room was beautiful, the table setting classic, and the food good. Despite the fact that the dining room was only about 25% full, it took an hour and 45 minutes to get a table. Once seated, it was over an hour between appetizers and entree. With no update or offers to refresh our drinks in between. Again the restaurant had only 20 other diners ( not tables). This has been the norm over the past 4 days not the exception. Should the management take control of their human resources this resort could compare to Atlantis, Half Moon in Montego Bay, or the St Thomas Ritz. As it is now, repeat business is likely a very small percentage if their reservations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anesthesia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Anesthesia,

Thank you for reaching out to us on TripAdvisor, I really appreciate that you took the time to write us a review. I'm so sorry that during your time here that you did not care for the food and that our service was not top notch. I will notify our management team about your review so that we can do our best to make the proper adjustments. If you'd like to follow up with me about any of your concerns please e-mail me at guestservices@grandlucayan.com.

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Grand Lucayan Resort is a beautiful beach front property with lush landscaping. Our room was on the 9th floor with an island view which was fine. the rooms are well apppointed and very comfortable beds. Ocean view rooms would be even better but then we didn't spend much time in the room. Lots of pool choices and chess, shuffleboard, ping pong and other games aavailable. Access to the beach is great and lots of places for shade. We could watchor participate in parasailling right in front of the hotel. The China Beach and Iries Restaurants on the property were both excellent. We enjoyed the Mediteranian Cafe across the street near the Reef Tours facillity. Reef Tours were great for sailboat/snorkeling and segways. Unexso for scuba diving and they have the best gift shop. Service at poolside (China Grill was very slow).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Cheri F,

Thank you so much for your great review! I am very happy to read that you found our beach front property beautiful and that you found lots of activities to do while staying with us. I am also very pleased to read that you enjoyed both China Beach and Iries. I appreciate all of your feedback and we definitely look forward to having you come back and stay with us again soon!

-mBernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Lucayan Beach Hotel. Our room had a great ocean view and the marketplace located right across the street had great restaurants at every price level...even a Subway and Dominos Pizza were located there for the cost effective lunch/dinner. In addition, all water activities were just a few steps down the beach.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello Ricky W,

Thank you so much for writing your great review! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your ocean view room and the location of our resort. We definitely hope you decide to come back and stay with us again soon!

- Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing