We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Freeport, hands down!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Freeport, hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Words cannot describe the beauty of this hotel, not to mention the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Excellent location, very close to everything- restaurants, shopping, Marketplace, beach, and it has the most attractive pools anywhere. Awesome architecture, we got the best room in the hotel for our honeymoon! Gorgeous views, nice, large, clean, attractive rooms, excellent service, this place has it all. Couldn't ask for anything more. We were truly wowed by it all. We didn't want to leave. We will be back. The Radisson rocks!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tolbunt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Out stay dates in Freeport Bahama were 09-07-09 to 09-12-09. We booked thru Orbitz and booked a room at the Our Lucaya Reef motel. When we arrived we were told that we were upgraded to the Radisson ( the old Westin). The Radisson room was really nice and had an ocean view, room service was very good and checkin people were really nice. Our room was located on the 9th floor and offered a great view of the ocean and property. The room could of used a few updates but all in all it was very nice. The bed was really a dream to sleep on and very nice.
We suggest you pack lots of snack foods in your luggage when your travel, its a lot cheaper than buying things locally! Since we booked everything in September there was no crowd at any of the shops, beaches or resturants we visit, we really enjoyd the Lucaya Market Place located just across the street from the Radisson. You can bargain with the sellers at the market place and save a few dollars, they are all friendly there.
The beach area at the Radisson was great, they have a tractor and plow the sand early each morning and it is great to walk on and also fluffs up the sand. Lots of sea-doo to ride and the ocean water was really warm. We also contacted a dive shop and made a two dive day in the ocean a few miles off shore. Be sure to check out the prices for these dives, some of the dive people are not very nice and we wish we had of choosen a different dive company.
The resturand the “LeMed” , down by the marine harbor was ok but way over priced, tried the local beer but the taste was to flat for us.We ordered the Lobster & fish dinner and it was great and a nice salad on the plate to. Everyone should try the Conch, its sorta like clams but a really sweet taste.
If you like a great cigar visit the Havana Cigar Shop located just a few doors down from the Isle Of Capri Casino. All cigars there are kept in humidity safe cigar room. Average price was about $15 per cigar but was great to have a Cuban cigar. Also buy your cokes there, they are only $1 a can, we paid $3 a can at the Radisson Motel lobby.
The AfterDeck Resturant located in the Market Place - GREAT SERVICE – Try the grouper fish & chips, its very good.
The China Grill - Overpriced - GREAT HAMBURGER ! Located by the pool at the Radisson.
Going thru Customs is a snap but be sure to keep all your paperwork, passports and immagration cards handy, you will need them to leave the country.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Very , very friendly staff, most beautiful location, very clean, we were alsmost the only guests and really had a great time. Can´t wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkanicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

I took my wife to the Grand Bahamas after getting our daughter to college for her freshman year. My wife needed to get her mind off of her baby leaving the nest and this was a great way to do it. We were staying in South Florida and I planned the trip to take a day cruise to the Grand Bahamas and stay at the Radisson.

After a 5 hour party cruise from Ft. Lauderdale we took a group taxi to the Radisson, which was previously the Westin. Check in went smooth and the ocean view room we had was on the 5th floor. Our view was gorgeous overlooking the blue caribbean water and the grounds of the hotel. Although it was August we left the door to the balcony open and listened to the waves all night. Sunrise was beautiful although I would have preferred a sunset. I guess you can't change the way the hotel is pointed!

We stayed for 2 nights but the trip back wasn't until 4:00pm, so we had a full day on the departure day. The pools and poolside bars at the Radisson are great, especially the infinity pool. Next door is Billy Joes, which had the best conch fritters and red snapper that I have ever had. And across the street is Port Lucaya. We went back to the Rum Runner many times to have the best Pina Coladas that I have tasted.

Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

This was a spur-of-the-moment trip for us & so I didn't do the normal amount of research that I may have normally done. That being said, I really didn't have high expectations of our stay here. All in all though, we were satisfied with our stay & it was a hotel that I would consider in the future, should we ever find ourselves in Freeport again!

Check-in was very friendly & overall we found the staff to be laid-back & happy. Our room was on the top (10th) floor & we had a wonderful view of the ocean & pool area. I believe our rate was $130/nite which seemed like a great deal to me. We ended up spending a lot of time on the balcony just enjoying the warm breeze & views, so for us, it was definitely worth the higher rate. Beds were comfortable & the room decor was blue & green "beachy" style. Our tub was slow to drain & had some rust around the edges...no big deal.

Due to the current economy, the resort was not very busy at all...rather quiet actually. Absolutely no trouble finding a spot by the pool and never had to wait more than a few minutes for a drink or food. We enjoyed the fact that it was quiet, but if you're looking for a wild, hot spot, this might not be the place for you. The pool area was very clean & the ocean is just steps away. We absolutely loved floating around out there & enjoying the wondeful, warm ocean water. (By the way, be very careful when walking around the pool area. We were surprised at how slippery it was...I was just waiting to see a kid or elderly person fall & am very glad it didn't happen!)

Prices were pretty typical for a resort, in my opinion. $5 for a can of beer, $10 or so for a cocktail, plus the mandatory 15% tip which is added on. The food at Our Lucaya was a big disappointment, & trust me, we're not snobby foodies, but we did expect more here. $6 for a plate of soggy french fries, $13 for a burger with some sort of salty asian sauce. Keep in mind this IS an island & so most everything has to be shipped in, meaning nothing tastes very fresh, at least not to me. Salads were terrible. Tomatoes were pink & "mealy" even though it's prime tomato season...you get the idea. We were here for a convention & so the hotel catered dinner on two of the nights we were there. Everything from the potatoes, to the fish, to the salad all tasted the same! I can't quite explain it but there just was on odd seasoning on everything. Oh well, at least we didn't have to worry about gaining any weight on this trip!

Overall, I felt like this was a good deal for a comfortable, quiet hotel & it provided exactly what we wanted, which was easy access to the beach & a nice pool. I would maybe recommend pursuing food outside the hotel. There are a few cafes across the street & we did have breakfast over there one morning, which was just "ok" but at least the prices were more reasonable. There is nothing beautiful or particularly memorable about this resort, so would I recommend for a honeymoon or other big event? Maybe not. But it seems to be a great place for families & people of all ages. There are also shops right across the street but I personally didn't see anything worth buying...lots of overpriced, cheap looking jewelry, etc. But this is where the hair braiding takes place, so head over there if you're looking for that!

Feel free to contact me with any questions. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nosacrificeatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Just spent 3 nights at what was previously the Sheraton, it is now the Reef Village at our Lucaya. As stated in previous reviews that I have read on this web site, the rooms are dated and the bathrooms are small, however found it to be charming with bahammian charm. Truly felt like I was staying in a bahamma style hotel, as compared to a large newer high rise, like a Hyatt or Marriott type property. I did not pay any where near what it would cost to stay in a high end hotel else where, so did not expect a high end room. There are rooms at was previously the Westin (now the Raddison) which are more expensive and more updated if you prefer to pay more and have that. You do get what you pay for. However, the property is beautiful, and both hotels can use all of the pools and restaurants and both properties. I just don't understand the attitude that I want the cheapest room possible, but expect it to be a five star room.
As far as the prices for the drinks and food, it is typical resort type prices. Yes definately higher than what you would pay back in the states at a grocery store, but you are at a resort and prices are typical of any resort that I have stayed at. We did go across the street to the market place and purchase some food and drinks to have in our room. There is a mini fridge in the room, and this did help with some expenses. Ate dinner at Iries on the property, and Zorbas and an Italian restaurant across the street, (can't remember the nameof the Italian rest.) all were very good. Every night there was some type of entertainment going on in the square across the street. This was really enjoyable. The locals were here also, and were a very friendly and fun people. They were all very welcoming to us.
August was a slow time there, however there was a convention going on at the Westin, so more people over there, still did not seem overcrowed though. Was still able to get a chair at any pool or at the beach at any time of the day. The beach and water is beautiful, definately the type of water you can take a float and just float in the sun. The pool at the Raddison was beautiful right at the edge of the beach with a swim up bar. The pools at the Reef Village were very empty, and at times you would be the only person in the pool. There were at least 4 pools to choose from. Again, I would definately recommend this property, and I hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ridgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing