We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places decompress, relax, and enjoy the wonders of nature "far from the madding crowd."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite places decompress, relax, and enjoy the wonders of nature "far from the madding crowd."”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We have been going to Small Hope Bay Lodge on an annual basis for over 10 years, but many of the guests have been returning for decades, so we're relative newcomers. Over the years we have introduced numerous diving and fishing buddies to SHBL, and they too have become regular visitors. In addition, we invariably make new friends while we're there. This year we enjoyed two spectacular weeks of blue skies and balmy weather, which made for great diving, fishing, beach walking, birdwatching, exploring and hammocking. I can't think of a more relaxing, enjoyable place to vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldwinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    58
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
146
201
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Small Hope Bay Lodge is unique. It's a great destination for long-time (as opposed to "old") as well as new divers. We're the former and we saw two groups of the latter. Bahamas Scuba diving is close to home, easy to get to, and exciting as well. We'll be back as soon as we can. Thanks for such a fun vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyDiverChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

It's very hard to sum up our trip in one "title"... but that was our purpose for going... so that our teens could learn in the best environment and learn to love it as much as my husband and I do.

We just returned from a week on Andros at Small Hope Bay. Our family of 4 (daughter-15, son-12) booked our stay direct w/SHB using the myoutislands.com free air from Nassau promo.

We flew nonstop on Delta from ATL to NAS (1 & 1/2 hour flight) and walked right onto the LeAir flight at the domestic terminal. We had planned a 2 hour layover just to be safe, but they took us over on an earlier flight. 12 min. to Fresh Creek in Andros! We grabbed a taxi to SHB and were there in 15 min. Very easy trip!

Renaldo met us with a cold adult beverage at the bar and the taxi driver took our bags to our "family cabin". 2 bedrooms, one w/twins, the other with a king and shared bath. Casual, rustic and very comfortable. I understand there are a few with AC, but ours was fine with ceiling fan and an oscillating floor fan. The best part is that we were steps from the gorgeous beach! Just a short walk to the lodge and outdoor dining area. This is a very social place. Everyone dines together and shares stories & we loved that. The kids were treated very well and felt welcome. The majority of guests were repeat customers and I can see why!

We mainly spent the week scuba diving. DH and I did a check out dive as we haven't been diving since DD was 2 or 3! She studied and completed her OW during the week and DS did the discovery/resort course and will complete his Jr. OW this summer. The dive instructors, Joe, Dennis & Antonio were wonderful with our kids. Helped them feel comfortable and were very patient-one on one. It was a great family experience diving together!

We also rode bicycles to the blue hole and the batik factory where we created our own pattern & shopped. The boys went bonefishing w/Lester for 1/2 day and I had a long massage with Stacy (highly recommend!) No TV and telephone, but wifi in the main lodge... no complaints! They wanted to go deep sea fishing, but thought about it too late in the week, so be prepared to plan it early in your visit.

All meals were included (as well as the bar) and let me just say, the BEST we've had, by far the freshest fish, other meats, veggies, fruits, desserts... incredibly creative with huge variety! When the deep sea fishermen returned, we were treated to sashimi before dinner and grilled mahi-mahi. Our last night, we feasted on grilled beef tenderloin and lobster tails. Hot breakfast to order in the morning and a huge spread at lunch. Renaldo told us that if we got hungry between meals to stick our heads in the kitchen and ask for a snack! Imagine doing that at the Atlantis!! Haha

It was truly hard to leave at the end of the week! We had the early flight out on Sat. morning (7:30). We are definitely planning to go back and already miss all the dear friends that we met!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snorklemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This place is superb! The staff is great, water picture perfect, food & beverage better than expected and I am "Queen" chill laxer!!!!!!

We will definitely be back, my daughter and her 13 yr old friend even said they preferred it over Atlantis in Nassau! WOW!! They said that and there's no TV !

We met some wonderful people from all over the world, lovey vacation!

Room Tip: Just call Nicky
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Small Hope Bay is a little challenging to get to from the west coast, but my friends from the east coast and midwest have better connections. It's well worth it once your there. This is an all inclusive,they take care of everything, diving,fishing, relaxing resort. There is a family atmosphere with a friendly and helpful staff. I dove alot, fished a little and relaxed in between. It's a bare foot, low key atmosphere. They have a great dive program, with the Tongue of the Ocean fifteen minutes off shore. They have access to expert fishing guides, or you can walk the flats on your own. Just what the doctor ordered to get away from it all and get rid of the winter blues!

Room Tip: Talk to Bruhna
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledogtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Small Hope Bay resort on Andros Island, Bahamas, will probably surprise you. While the Bahamas are really not that "pretty" as tropical island destinations go, this small (max 45) retreat is the perfect spot to unwind. Everybody has an ocean-front cabin, very basic yet very comfortable. It is all-inclusive the way it should be, which means you don't concern yourself with anything until it is time to check out. The staff will bend over backwards to make sure anything you want to do is organized, and that you and your family (all ages) are having fun. Whether blue hole diving, reef diving, sailing, fishing, or advanced hammock sports, you will enjoy your stay.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MyTravel154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

If you are interested in a trip to the Bahamas that avoids the crowds, Small Hope Bay Lodge is the place to go. The staff is utterly amazing, with excellent food, a beautiful location, and unbelievable snorkeling, diving, and fishing. Any small hiccups are immediately resolved by the staff!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKEKTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
34.9 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
16.7 mi away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Property: Small Hope Bay Lodge
Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing