We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Classy, and Exciting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was our second trip, and the first with our two kids. There is no place like Small Hope Bay. Don't come if you want "luxury", shopping, casino gambling, lots of hand-holding and pre-arranged activites, or wild partying. _Do_ come if you want an fascinating and international group of fellow guests, a relaxed and easy-going atmosphere, lovely and charming staff, and a terrific diving experience.

The diving is the main reason to come. The sites are stunning, and the staff really knows how to lead the dives. You _will_ be invited to dive beyond what your PADI course may have described. My wife and I are relatively experienced divers and got to descend into an oceanic blue hole, swim along ancient riverbeds and waterfalls, and go over the edge down into the Tongue of the Ocean down to 185'. We were meticulously briefed for these, carefully overseen, and kept well within no-deco limits. The staff insist on safety stops and are always willing to accommodate divers who prefer less challenging dives. Our 12-year-old son had a great time finding his limits on many thrilling medium-depth dives, under the care of the resort's dive masters.

The staff was wonderfully patient and supportive of our 10-year-old as she explored snorkeling, SASI, and finally scuba in the shallow waters around the dock and on one shallow reef dive.

The food is tasty, plentiful, and varied. You will spend a lot of time interacting with other guests, which I think is a large part of the experience. We became friends with folks from around the US, from Australia, Hong Kong, England, and France during our stay.

The rooms are rustic--think "summer camp"--but perfectly comfortable.

SHB isn't a Carnival Cruise or Sandals, which is why we love it and why we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWBlackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have been going to small hope for about 20 years and there is a reason I return every summer. At the end of every trip I feel well rested and have gained so many new friendships. The diving there is phenomenal! When u go make sure to go to the backside of the blue hole dive site. It is the best dive I have ever done!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldviewer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Had a great time.
These folks really made you feel at home the moment you arrive.
Food was great! Local chefs preparing meals. We actually got to eat the fish we caught that morning for dinner!! Sashimi style for appetizers as well!
Breakfast is cooked to order for whatever your pallet is desiring that morning. Good coffee.
Lunches are simple, yet hardy.
Rooms were clean and readied with your necessary items you might need for an adventure.
AMAZING diving!! I recommend the shark dive if you get a chance.
Bike to the blue holes if you want a land adventure or take the sea kayak out.
I didn't have a chance to learn how to 'fly fish' for bones but from what the folks told me who were doing it, they had a great time!
I will certainly be going back!

Thanks Jeff and Small Hope team!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CW22311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

For fifty years,I have known Small Hope Bay Lodge. The Birch Family has developed a unique approach to hospitality which I have rarely experienced in my travels through much of the world. The Small Hope Bay Community and Staff goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and adventuresome.....add the pristine beauty of the surroundings and you have the formula for an outstanding family adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonMapleleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

If you want a place to relax and be with friends and family this is the place in the bahamas, only a one hour commuter flight from lauderdale and you are in another world........ friendly staff at small hope, and it is of course all inclusive on Andros. for a diving vacation or any vacation to regroup and relax i recommend. we have never needed the airconditioning but it is available at extra cost

Room Tip: all rooms are cottages and are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My family recently stayed at the Small Hope Bay Lodge on Andros Island in the Bahamas. We discovered the lodge while looking for an all - inclusive resort that was family-friendly and did not feel crowded or commercialized like many big hotels can. Here were our top 5 favorite things (no particular order) about the Small Hope Bay Lodge all-inclusive experience:

1. THE FOOD! Fresh fruit and continental breakfast with several choices for hot breakfast every day. Lunch and dinner always included several salads, vegetable side dishes, meat and seafood choices, western food as well as traditional Bahamian cuisine. We ate better food at Small Hope than in Nassau. Drinks were also included, and we enjoyed the socializing with other guests during the pre-dinner happy hour.

2. Beautiful, uncrowded beaches! My children (ages 3 & 5) loved hunting for the perfect shell on the beaches and in the tidal pools in rocky areas. We took advantage of the hammocks on the beach and the warm, shallow waters for easy beginner snorkeling.

3. DISCOVER SCUBA! My husband and I had always been curious about scuba and wanted to test the waters before taking on PADI certifcation. The complimentary Discover Scuba course allowed us to learn some basics and have an easy and brief shallow water experience. We LOVED the course and were able to do an additional shallow water dive for a reasonable cost that will count toward the certification process.

4. A natural, 'untouristy' experience. We enjoyed some interesting diversions that Andros Island has to offer: The Androsia batik factory where you can learn to batik some of your own material. We also enjoyed a short bike ride to swim at the Blue Hole lake (sunken cavern) in a nearby Bahamian national forest. Small Hope Bay Lodge offers Island tours and other diversions aside from morning and afternoon dives in many diverse locations along the Bahamian reef.

5. The Staff and the Locals. We enjoyed meeting the locals when out and about - everyone seemed very open and friendly. The staff at Small Hope Bay Lodge made an effort talk to all the guests, socialize during meals and happy hour, and make special occasions (birthdays, weddings) during the stay memorable.

We were sad to leave Small Hope Bay Lodge when our trip came to an end, and I may just have to honor my 5 year old's request of 'Mom, can we come back here every single year?'

The Small Hope Bay Lodge is worth the journey off the beaten path!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boulderhudsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We spend one week at the Small Hope Bay Lodge in Andros. It was a beautiful place for vacation. Service, food, and offered activities are excellent, especially the diving. You won't find any better place to explore the world beneath the surface. The staff was always very pleasant and helpful. If you want to escape the hubbub of the main tourist islands of Bahamas this is the place to go. Further, you do not have to worry about your bill: Small Hope is an All Inclusive Resort, which is very rare at the Bahamas.

We are absolutely sure: There is only Small Hope that you would not enjoy it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_and_Carolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
34.9 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: £434 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing