We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Male Bonding TrIp For A Grandfather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Male Bonding TrIp For A Grandfather”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Took my Grandson along with my two sons and son in law on a four day trip to heaven with no TV,Happy People,Open Bar for me and a laid back atmosphere..Watching your !6 year old catch his first bone fish was just about as good as shooting his first duck..The guides were special and my grandson can cast 100 feet with little effort(no wind)...What a wonderful experence and we are still trying to decide who caught the most fish...Lawrence Smith

Room Tip: It is like Boy Scout Camp for adults/Family..The air might or might not work but plenty of fans and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thanks for the great review Lawrence! I am so happy the five of you had a wonderful time. We have some amazing bonefishing here and I am glad you all got a taste of it. Next time we hope you can stay a bit longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    58
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
142
199
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just returned from the Small Hope Bay Lodge on Andros. The food, diving and rooms were second to none. But the best part was the staff. Every person from divemaster to chefs treated me like a king. If you are looking for a great dive and relax spot, make sure to try my new favorite Bahama location ..... Small Hope Bay Lodge on Andros Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We really enjoyed having you here and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently celebrated my 70th birthday (a few weeks early) at Small Hope Bay on Andros. I cannot think of another place I would rather have done so.The staff-all of them- were so helpful and so much fun. I never saw a frown or a grumpy attitude. I did some diving(not enough) and all of the dive staff are simply great, proficient, efficient, and fun! Special thanks to Dennis and Fede! Sassy on the dive boat added to the fun. Small Hope Bay Lodge is not a luxury resort-thank heaven for that! The food and drinks were great, we liked out room(14), and enjoyed the trip to the Androsian Batik factory. Loved the extreme caution and bravado certificates!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks Carol! And Happy Birthday again! We are so happy the two of you enjoyed yourselves here. I agree - Dennis and Fede are awesome, as is the rest of the dive crew. It's hard to be grumpy at this beautiful and relaxed place. And Sassy, the dog, on the dive boat is a treat. Come see us again soon (and remember to exercise Extreme Caution and Bravado!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I and my adult son just returned from a diving vacation at Small Hope. We live in the Tropics ourselves but were looking for some Bahama "bottom time". We came away with a better and wonderful experience during the surface intervals.
Don't come here for a luxury resort with a million activities. Laid back, vacation minded people are what this resort caters to. The staff from the office to the kitchen to the dive shop were some of the happiest, most gracious people you will meet. I would not single out anyone of them as they were all so good to us. The family who owns and runs the place have over 50 years of experience on this Island. I personally believe Jeff has been "narced" one too many times, which makes him a perfect host for the guests.
The guests that this resort generally attracts are like minded and enjoy a good time. The conversations at cocktail hours are lively and animated. The food is mostly Bahamian in style and there is always something for every taste. Newlyweds, couples and singles should enjoy whether you want diving, fishing or just "vegging out".
Regards to all and thanks for allowing us to be part of your Family for a week!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks for the great review. I am glad you three enjoyed your stay with us. We loved having you here. You hit the nail on the head about Small Hope - great conversations, very laid back place to relax, and great diving! Those are my favorite things about this place. We hope you guys come back soon! P.S. I hope you guys are fully recovered from your colds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had such an adventure on Andros while staying at Small Hope Bay Lodge. Small Hope is such a special place and the staff here is so amazing, the took care of us like we were family. If you love hiking, exploring, snorkeling, diving, fishing and just plain old relaxation, I definatley reccomend this lovely piece of paradise. We did the blue hole tour, snorkel tour, suba tour and took advantage of their many other activities like sailing, paddle boards and kayaks. The hot tub right on the beach is a must, so relaxing. We loved the mixologists and Dennis makes an amazing Black Monkey (only one though, just wait to you see what's in this drink!). Book your trip to Small Hope Bay, you won't regret it! We will definatley be returning to our new forever friends, the staff at SHBL!

Room Tip: They are all Great, cottages only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you so much Kathy! You guys were so great. I am glad you had a wonderful time and got to experience a little of everything that makes Andros so special. I agree with you about the Black Monkeys - delicious, but a little goes a long way! We can't wait to see the two of you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My son and I went there for a fishing trip as a present to him for finishing up at college. I read the reviews before hand, but we were still just expecting a couple days of fishing. We had a great time. Jeff and all the staff were very professional and friendly. The rooms are little more than sparce cottages, but that was kind of cool and it really added to the "laid back attitude". There were "maybe" 50 people there last weekend. There are probably 10-15 hammocks spread out beside of the cabins, I can't tell you the last time I read a book in a hammock, but it was very relaxing and I really enjoyed it. This isn't a 4 or 5 star resort in amenities as it has very few, but it is a 5 star in how comfortable and at home they make you feel. Go to small hope if you want a beautiful and laid back vacation.

The only negative is getting there. Maybe that is why it feels like a hidden secret spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thanks for the review Joe. It was great having the two of you here. And thanks for the great Mahi Mahi catch. It was the best sashimi ever!!! I am glad you guys got to enjoy the laid back atmosphere here. It is one of my favorite things about Small Hope. Hope to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorCal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Small Hope is a laid back, not fancy, very comfortable (if you discount the various insects which await you outside your room - but it is Andros Island - and that's part of it).

The Good:
1. Staff and management.
2. Ambiance if you like a true beach side resort (waves lapping at the shore when you go to sleep and wake up, russel of palm leaves, tropical breezes, etc.)
3. Great fishing and I've been told great diving (THE original dive resort going back to 60s.)
4. The bone fishing
5. They do feed you well - the food is not gourmet but it is very tasty,varied and includes local dishes (which I liked)
5. And did I mention great Staff and management.

The Bad:
1. Andros Island has biting insects (if you go the staff keeps a bottle of Skin So Soft on the outside bar - use it - it works. After the first day of a multi-day fishing event I used the Skin So Soft on my pants and seemed to be considerably less bothered than the guide or my buddy.
2. Have to fly through Nassau to get there and it just makes it a long day.
3. They don't have any guides for fly casting to blue water species like Dolphin but the captains can put you on them if you know what to do and can reign in their desire to bring back meat for the hotel, their families, etc.

Over all I give Small Hope Bay 2 thumbs up.

Room Tip: They charge extra for A/C but not needed most of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thanks for the review. I love the title, since that is exactly what we are going for here. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some excellent fishing (bonefish, deep sea and reef) here. I agree the bugs can be a nuisance but we do try to spray with an eco-friendly solution, and the Skin So Soft does work wonders too. And you're right, it comes with being in an off-the-beaten-track place on a secluded tropical island. We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
4.3 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
16.7 mi away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Property: Small Hope Bay Lodge
Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing