We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did Not Want To Leave!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Small Hope Bay Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
“Did Not Want To Leave!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I went to Small Hope Bay Lodge for 4 nights to celebrate his 50th Birthday. We have never been to the Bahama's and consider ourselves so fortunate that this was our first exposure to the islands. While my husband was bone fishing (which he said was awesome!) every morning, I was able to explore the vast amount of beach front by foot and kayak. Because Small Hope only accommodates a small number of guests at a time, there is opportunity to get space and be alone. There are approximately 20 cabins all with beach front views. Each cabin is clean and decorated with the fabric made at the local factory (which I toured). There are no TV's or internet in the rooms, but that is what makes this place so special. It forces you to socialize with the other guests during meal times out on the bar/terrace. The people that we met were wonderful and by the 1st night we were fast friends!

Enough can't be said about the people that work there: Linda-"queen bee" who greeted us with a drink and got us comfortable right away to Tony and Dennis -"Dive Masters" who took us on a shark snorkel/dive and kept us calm. To all the beautiful people that made our stay special we thank you.

Small Hope Bay Lodge is a place that everyone should experience in their life. The simplicity and beauty that has sustained Small Hope for over 50 years is awe inspiring and we hope that many people will get a chance to experience the magic they have created for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so happy we could make your stay a great one. We do have some pretty awesome bonefishing here, and I am glad you got to explore the beautiful beaches and nature we have around the resort. I think no TVs in the rooms are a big plus too! Much better things to see right outside the beachfront cabins! We hope to see you both soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    58
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
141
190
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this great, very laid back vacation spot right on the water. We did scuba diving for three days from one of their three dive boats. The staff treat you like family. The food and the service were both excellent. The rooms are quaint but functional. There are no TVs and they turn off the Wi-Fi for dinner! The outdoor bar is right on the water and all drinks and meals are included in the room rate. This is a place you go for a very informal, relaxing vacation. We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipWeston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks so much for the review! This is definitely the place for tranquility and relaxation, I am glad you got to enjoy it. It's great you got to see some of our beautiful dive sites during your stay too! And you are family now! Looking forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had the most relaxing escape in a very long time. It was the first time in 15 years that i did not check my email. The staff was great and I met and made friends with quite a few other guests. I had enjoyable days bone-fishing the flats of the bights and freshwater creek

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks so much for the review! I am glad to hear you had such a great and relaxing time. Small Hope is the perfect place to for that. And the first time not checking email in 15 years? That's awesome! Hope to see you back for some more relaxation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Small Hope Bay Lodge is absolutely unique and one of our new favorite places on the planet. The location is remote but breathtaking. The Lodge has so many amazing people - all the staff treat you just like family. I was there with my two teenagers and BOTH kids loved Small Hope, for very different reasons. The cottages are simple, calming, and clean. LOVE THIS PLACE! We can not wait to be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! It was really great meeting you and your kids. I am so happy you were all able to enjoy your vacation here and I hope to see you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We came to Small Hope to celebrate our Anniversary and to get away from it all!!! This was was absolutely the place to be!!! We knew we had made the right choice to come here as soon as we arrived!!!
The staff greeted us with drinks and showed us around when we got there. The rooms are very quaint and right on the beach. I am an ocean lover so I enjoyed waking up in the mornings and opening our curtains and watching the waves roll in right from our bed!
The food was fantastic and plentiful! There were plenty of drinks and if the bartender was not available you were encouraged to make your own. My husband even played bartender one night!!!
We had a wonderful time and met some interesting people as you all sit down for dinner together and recap what you did for the day!
We will for sure come back for another visit! Very relaxing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for the great review Christine! I am so glad you two had a great time. It is hard to find a better view than from our cabins - watch the sun rise above the turquoise Bahamas waters, there's nothing like it! And we love to see the new concoctions our guests come up with when they get to play bartender. I hope to see you guys back again soon and again. . . Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Found Small Hope on this site and am beyond happy that i did. We Stayed for 5 days (wish we had stayed longer)

I'm not a diver or a fisherman but Small Hope was exactly what exactly what I needed. I work 7 days a week and this was part of my first vacation in 3 years, so i needed some R&R. Beyond friendly staff didn't miss a beat and made me feel like part of the family. Anything I needed was taken care of immediately and with a smile. The cabins are rustic, but barely. Clean and comfortable with optional AC which was not needed. Excellent food (buffet style for lunch and dinner with an continental buffet and made to order items at breakfast) at each meal with many items to choose from. And if you miss a meal or are hungry in between you can just pop your head in the kitchen and they'll make you something good. CONCH FRITTERS EVERYDAY AT HAPPY HOUR.

The best part was the pace. You do whatever you want whenever you want. There was no pressure to sign up for activities, which you plan out everyday at happy hour. If you choose not to do any activities, there are still many things to do at the lodge on your own(biking, kayaks, paddle boards, ect.).

For the price and the atmosphere, Small Hope is a steal. I will definitely be back with more family and friends and will pass on the good word on to everyone.

Tanks for the hospitality and making me feel like family,
Bobby

Room Tip: I'd imagine all the rooms are similar and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am glad you were able to enjoy some much needed R&R. And you're right - our conch fritters are the best! We definitely have a style and a pace all our own and I am so happy you had a great time here with us. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Small Hope Bay Lodge. We went here for our honeymoon, and had the most fabulous time. We were looking for something in the Bahamas but wanted to avoid any corporate-type resorts, and we hit the jackpot with Small Hope Bay Lodge. The staff was beyond amazing: friendly, helpful, engaging. The food was so much better than anything you would expect from an all inclusive resort. The beach and landscape were picturesque and lovely. Neither my husband nor I are fishermen or divers but we were able to take advantage of both while there (Glister was a superb fishing guide!). If you are considering a place in the Bahamas and want something both intimate and fun, look no further!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for the great review! It was really great meeting you two. I am so glad you were able to try fishing and diving, as we have some of the best in the world of both of those! Congratulations again and we all hope to see you guys back here soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
4.3 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kamalame Cay
Kamalame Cay
#3 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Property: Small Hope Bay Lodge
Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing