We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive, kid-friendly, diving and snorkeling resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited SHB for the first time in June 2014. We are a family of 4 (2 kids - 9 and 11) and we met another family of 4, also with 2 kids (9 and 10). My husband and I completed our PADI open water certification upon arrival, and participated in 4 to 5 dives once we were certified. Fede was our dive master and he was fantastic. Very patient, clear and calm.

We had never been on a vacation to a place that was this small, rather remote and "family style" and we absolutely loved it. It was such a breath of fresh air to be so unplugged and able to truly relax. We had a hard time saying good bye. We only stayed 7 days and recommend at least a 10 day stay, to really unwind and unplug from life. The kids didn't even miss the electronics and were outside playing and enjoying the freedom.

The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. All of the "cabins" are water front so I am not sure one is better than another. The rooms are clean and freshened up everyday. Meals are prepared each day by a wonderful staff and there is a wide variety of options and everything was good! There was plenty of Kalik (beer) on ice every hour of every day, as well as a fully stocked bar if you like your cocktails. Happy hour is fun, with yummy appetizers followed by a buffet dinner. Following dinner is a video from the dives of the day (or the snorkel trip of the day :) )

The snorkeling was excellent, even right off the beach or dock. We took a boat out to "Goat key" (about 5 minutes) and spent several hours and it was just our 2 families and a cooler of drinks and fruit. It was really gorgeous and private and lovely.

The staff was very attentive and the interns were wonderful. My kids both agreed that they want to intern at this resort when they are in college!

We had a really wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! It was great having both of your families here. Kids seem to have an amazing time while they are here and I am glad yours were no exception. Thank you for the compliments on our staff and interns - they are all great. We look forward to having your kids as interns when the time comes. Looking forward to the next time you're with us. Congratulations again on becoming a certified diver!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came back for a second visit to SHB Lodge because we love how easy, fun, and beautiful it is. If you are looking for a laid back, unpretentious, quality place where diving is the highlight and all the un-fun stuff related to it (hauling heavy tanks, etc.) is taken care of for you, and if you love being able to dive at least 3 times per day at sites that are unbelievably beautiful, and if you like to come back to shore and eat delicious food and enjoy any beverage you can imagine served by friendly folks who want you to have a great time, and if you like meeting kindred spirits who enjoy this too, then this is THE place! John and Heidi, Minnesota

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks for the great review Heidi! It was great seeing you two again. You summed Small Hope up perfectly - Laid back, beautiful diving, great food, cold drinks, friendly people. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Small Hope is our home away from home where you are treated like family. This is our 3rd visit since 11/12 and we can't wait to return.
The diving is absolutely beautiful and quite diversified with Blue Hole being our favorite dive followed by the shark dive. Their website is picture perfect...what you see is what you get...It is like paradise with rustic, comfortable rooms, all with water front views and a porch. Hammocks, lounge chairs, sand and loads of palm trees surround this lovely resort.
Jeff Birch, owner of Small Hope is a sensational , friendly man who truly wants each of his guests to enjoy their vacation. The lovely marketing director, Erin does a fabulous job as does the entire diving staff including Fede, Tony, Dennis, Adam and Claudius plus the interns Alison, Andrew, Shelly, Ben and Simon. They all will go our of their way to accommodate the guests diving requests. Mike, Jeff's right hand man will be sure to make you very delicious beverages.
The food is very good with several choices at each meal. Lunch and dinner are served family/buffet style which makes it fun to mingle with a variety of friendly people. Individual orders are offered at breakfast including local dishes, eggs any style, an assortment of breads, fruits, cereals etc. Irene, Don , Sherry, Dania, Alvin and Bertram, all chefs will make sure you enjoy your meals and Jardy and Sherene , waitresses will make sure to take great care of you.

The main office is run so well by Nicky, Linda, Anastasia, Bhruna and Dania. They will make sure you get the best rate package for your interests and are extremely helpful in room and date selection as well. The maintenance people work very hard to keep Small Hope sparkling...thank you Fedor, Timer, Alvin and Bertram.
I also have to thank the maids for keeping our rooms clean...Inezx, Florine and Sharon, all hard working ladies.
If you want a delightful diving, bone fishing , snorkeling or chilling vacation in a remote, private , beautiful rustic atmosphere to get away from it all, Small Hope is a place you should visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with a water view. My husband and I like to be towards the middle to end, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMcgConneticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for the lovely review! It was so great having you two back with us again. I am so happy your stay was a great one. You two make our dives and cocktail hour so much fun! Looking forward to your next visit already. Happy Birthday again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Only had a 2 night, 3 day trip to Small Hope Bay but enjoyed it greatly. I don't dive but do snorkel and enjoyed my boat trip which included a Blue Hole, something that I had never snorkeled over before. The snorkeling off the dock was also very good with lots to see.

The staff were fantastic and joined guests at every meal, making you feel very welcome. The food was equally good and plentiful. I really enjoyed the desserts! The bar was great, help yourself or get one of the staff to make you something. I also liked the fact that the internet was switched off during dinner and children had their own supervised eating area.

Overall a great trip and we felt like we could and should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunei110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for the great review! I am happy you both were able to enjoy your stay, albeit a short one. The snorkeling here is indeed wonderful, as is our open bar! Turning off the internet during cocktail hour and dinner is actually one of my favorite things about Small Hope. We get back to having real, and lively conversation with the great variety of guests we get here. Hope to see you guys back soon, and for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Small Hope Bay Lodge is a rustic,but comfortable place to reconnect with family and friends. When we were there, many of the people were return guests.Diving is the main thing, although there was a group fishing. The shark dive was amazing, and we saw several large turtles around the very healthy reef. We made our own batiks at the factory one morning, and some of our group took the bikes on a 8 mile round trip to the blue hole in the national park . The wind was strong, kicking up waves, but it kept the bugs away. Everyone agreed that they'd like to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for the great review Barbara! I am so happy you all were able to enjoy your vacation with us! You got to take advantage of some of our favorite activities too - diving, batik factory visits, nature tours! Glad you got to see our abundant underwater life too, turtles are my favorite. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are looking for a resort with pools, lavish restaurants, and TV - this is not your type of place. This is a laid-back, make your own drink (if you want) at the tiki bar type of place where you can actually get to know people and have interesting conversation AND great diving. Last monday when we dove seas were 6 feet plus which was quite "sporty" but vis was still 100 foot. Reefs are in great condition since this is the only diving game in town - you won't see any other dive boats. Go if you want to really "get away", enjoy great diving, and really kick back - sleep in one of the numerous hammocks or read a book. Dining is not exquisite, not even close....lunchmeat, tuna fish, and a few various other things like chicken for lunch - always with good fruit and a dessert. Dinner is fried fish or spaghetti or chicken.....not fancy but okay. There are no fine wines but good cabernets, chardonneys, etc, top shelf liquors.....and plenty of Kalik (Bahamas beer). Rooms are cute and comfortable - a/c is extra. The resort is decorated with batik from local artisans and the lodge rooms are loaded with books, photos, etc. Very rustic yet you can still connect to wifi and this is one resort we will definitely like to go back too.

Room Tip: All cabins are situated on one side along a palm lined, sand path with hammocks and lounge chairs al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckp18f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for the review! It sounds like you were able to experience exactly what we try to offer our guests - a true getaway, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, great conversations, amazing activities, and a beautiful setting. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have never been to an all inclusive resort or outside of the USA before. This was a great place to relax yet have opportunities to stay busy if you want to. All of the employees were very friendly and the food was excellent. Most of the food was American style, but there was occasionally Bahamian style dishes served as well, great for new travelers! We will probably be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanks so much for the review. I am honored that you chose Small Hope to be your first traveling experience outside the US! I am so happy you two had a great time and got to try some of our favorite activities here - thanks again for sharing the fish with everyone, the sashimi was fantastic! It was great talking to you two, hope to see you both back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
34.9 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: £433 - £661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing