We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection perfected”
Review of Kamalame Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamalame Cay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

If your looking for your own private island where you have 3 miles of beautiful beach all to your self, privacy, and yet still all the amenities of a 5 star hotel but with a relaxed and homey feel, this is the place for you! The staff was willing to facilitate any request that would make our stay more perfect. Our cottage was beautiful with windows that wrapped around with a panoramic view of the ocean. It was for our 1 year anniversary and my wife unlike me, has seen many a bahama's beach resort, so a tough customer to impress, but I DID! She had not experienced a place like this. With the privacy, beautiful untouched beaches, giant bath tub and outdoor private shower. Wrap around porch 20 feet from the beach. You even get your own personal golf cart to get around and explore the island. I could go on... Bottom line, You can't go wrong with Kamalame Cay, it's family owned and the farthest thing from a cookie cutter corporate resort, and yet it is top notch in every way. The internet was spotty in the internet room (the only place you can get it at this time) not their fault- about what you could expect from a satellite signal in the middle of nowhere so prepare. bring downloaded movies and tv shows if you need em. We will be going back for sure. After staying at this little hidden gem we are pretty sure other resorts couldn't stand up to the most personal tropical vacation you could ever have 50 miles from Miami or anywhere!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We just got back from 5 days at Kamalame Cay and I still can't believe I was in such a beautiful place. From check-in to check-out, we were SO taken care of. Colette and Leah at the office made sure everything was right from the start and made sure everything was perfect for our entire stay. The room was exceptional - amazing views, fully stocked bar, great amenities. The housekeeping staff was terrific; so friendly and quick to do their work. They even helped push us back to our room when our golf cart ran out of juice on an excursion we took (our fault completely). We took many jaunts in the "sand chariot" to the end of the island where we could explore the mangroves and find even more secluded beaches to stroll on.
We chose to be guests of the house and we would do that again for sure. We drank as we pleased, visited the great house for all our meals (which were beyond amazing) and felt like the island was ours. Patrice and Samson, as well as the rest of the group, were so friendly at the great house. Anything we wanted, they made it happen. Truly amazing service.
Another standout person on the island was Mark. We booked a snorkel trip to Rat Cay with Mark which was so fun. We saw sting ray and three nurse sharks. Unreal. He also speared a lobster on our trip, that was brought to the kitchen and served to us the next night. Such a cool experience.
David and Micheal were so welcoming and made you feel right at home. They even broke the "no tv" vibe for one night, creating the ultimate superbowl party on the beach - full bar, fried chicken, or anything else you wanted off the menu, and really great people. It was a night to remember.
We had such an amazing time at Kamalame Cay. The feeling that the Hew family has created is truly unique. A private island where you feel so far away from it all, yet you have everything you could ever want. They have really nailed it, and the guests that go and enjoy have to be able to unplug and relax - the only itinerary there is to chill out and take it all in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We loved Kamalame Cay so much during our honeymoon that it was a "no-brainer" for me to surprise my wife with a return visit for our first wedding anniversary. We were treated like royalty once again from the second we were greeted at the ferry with a smile. Everyone from the Hew family, to the chefs and servers at the Great House, to the housekeepers and landscapers made us feel like family. The food and service is likely the best anywhere in the Bahamas - trust us when we say we have covered most of the islands. Samson's smile and laughter is contagious and his pina coladas were the best we've ever had, yum! Tito the landscaper even serenaded us while trimming the coconut palms. The accommodations are pleasantly secluded and plush. The beaches are pristine and the water is crystal clear. The bonefishing guides are friendly, patient and know their way around the flats - they will no doubt put you on the elusive silver ghosts. The island is eco-friendly which is an added bonus. This little slice of heaven is literally the only place we have found where we can completely "check out" and forget about life for awhile. In Kamalame Cay, you are truly on "island time" - no clocks, no schedules, no television, it's truly a "no-brainer" because your mind is completely at ease. There are absolutely no worries except knowing when it is time to catch your ride back to the airport. We can't wait to return again for our next anniversary getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath-Karly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our Kamalame Cay experience was unforgettable. From the golf carts they give you to get around, and the fact that you have your own private bungalow so it feels like you actually live there (if only for a few nights), to all the low-stress details such as serve yourself bar, and morning 'news,' which is delivered with coffee and pastries each morning, we loved every minute.

We felt at home after just one night, this was partly because the staff are so friendly and helpful, they interact with you in a more relaxed and personal way than is typical. David and Michael the managers were lovely hosts, Mike and Mark were the cool daytime activities dudes and very knowledgeable of the island, and Samson, Patrice and Randio were among the lovely great house and dining staff.

Our room was also amazing, very spacious with a huge stone bathroom, lying in bed watching the sand and sea with the breeze blowing though the open french doors was heaven.

We could not recommend Kamalame Cay more highly. A+AT

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Kamalame Cay was an extremely relaxing, low key trip. Despite it being Christmas week, we mostly did not see other guests of the hotel except during meals. It was incredibly quiet both during the day and at night and very refreshing.

We stayed in both an Angler's Nest and a Beach Suite.
- The Angler's Nest was perfectly comfortable but was a very short walk to the water. The walls were a bit thin, so we could hear the gentlemen in the next room sneeze, but other than that it was fine. The bathroom wasn't what you'd expect from a hotel this expensive and did not have a bathtub.
- The Beach Suite was located on the water, with a porch, an outdoor shower, a massive bathtub and a quick walk out the door to the water.
- Neither of the rooms had the plush feel you expect when spending ~$1,000 a night, but they were very comfortable and went with the relaxed island vibe.
- In both cases there was a wide assortment of alcohol and soda in the room at all times.
- Rooms do not have phones, internet or television

Things we loved:
- It was very romantic
- We loved the atmosphere, the beach was very soft and the water was beautifully clear.
- The small number of rooms along a large stretch of beach was great, as it was very quiet and private
- We did not do many of the activities, but highly recommend the "island dropoff," which is a boat ride to a tiny little island with no development or people. We were dropped off for a few hours with a picnic basket and it was a highlight of the trip.
- In the morning they leave a breakfast basket on your porch with pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Delightful way to start the morning
- Rather than flagging down a bartender, there are several full bars that you can just walk up to and have whatever. It was nice to have the option to have something immediately.
- We took Safari Seaplane when we left the island for Nassau, which was quite fun and much more pleasant than our Le Air flight in (see below)
- The activities guy Mark was great

Things we didn't love:
- There were some mix-ups with reservations (which were handled satisfactorily by management), so would recommend carefully reviewing your confirmations to make sure it's what you think you've booked
- There is an element of 'island time' on the part of some of the staff that is a bit irritating - the worst offenders by far were in the office (except Leah, she was very helpful)
- There is only one place to eat, and by the end of the week we got a bit sick of the options. They were generally accommodating of off-menu requests, however. Lunch was the weakest meal of the day
- We made the mistake of taking the Le Air scheduled flight from Nassau to Andros, which required a few hours wait at the Nassau airport; it's worth it to charter a plane
- There was some irritating gardening/maintenance going on (imagine a machete hitting a concrete patio every 5 seconds), but they stopped when asked

Room Tip: - The Angler's Nest was perfectly comfortable but was a very short walk to the water. The walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JXS771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We arrived by seaplane which was quite convenient. The resort was very nice and well kept. We loved our little cottage -Casuarina. The bed was comfortable, and there was a lot of reading material. We really enjoyed the breakfast basket each morning. The view from the cottages are spectacular and you can't beat being right on the beach. The main house was lovely and we enjoyed most of our meals. Going all inclusive is the best option as ordering indivdually would be very expensive for folks stay 3+ days.

I would rate this resort a 4 star rather than a 5 star. There are small things that could have made the experience even better, but I guess the resort calling themselves "barefoot chic" gets them out of some luxury areas. The towels were stained and rough, and most of the time you did not even get a hand towel or washcloth which I thought was surprising since they clean your room daily. We arranged a half day fishing trip with the resort and that was booked incorrectly. This was the highlight of our trip and we got stuck going in the afternoon and the sea was really rough causing us to only stay out a couple of hours. This error was very frustrating as I had followed up with the resort twice about our fishing excursion before we got to the resort. They tried to rectify the issue, but going reef fishing in the afternoon when the seas were really rough was a huge disappointment and an expensive one as well.

I did go to the spa and it was very average or even below average. The selling point is the view I guess since it is over water. I had two services and they were meshed into one. Again, another expensive disappointment.

Although we had a couple of issues the resort is very nice and peaceful. The evenings are very quiet so bring your books. There are no t.v.'s in the rooms. We are used to other islands that have more restaurants, people to talk to, ect. so this place although lovely was too quiet for us. It is a great place to go for a long relaxing weekend, but I could not imagine being there for a week or more. Personal preference of course.

The staff was very nice, and like many other reviews Samson was our favorite staff member.

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsh010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Possibly one of the most perfect beach holidays of my life. Kamalame Cay is in a league of
its own.

The tranquil setting of the resort itself being its own private island already sets the stakes
quite high. The stripped back rustic feel of the luxurious villas, the 'open air' feel of
their layouts, the small personal touches of coral, conch shells and different books and
magazines scattered throughout really made you feel as if you were on your own private
holiday. 'Do not disturb' signs couldn't have been further from our minds. It was truly the
epitome of peace and quiet.

The hosts David and Michael made you feel like you were with old friends; they would
accompany you for a drink before dinner and just make you feel comfortable.

The 'Great Room' staff Patrice, Stephanie and Samson were absolutely fantastic. Their
service was impeccable.

The food was to die for and there were always enough options to choose from no matter
what time of day it was and no matter how you were feeling.

Spa time? Um. Yes. The treatments were NOT NORMAL, aka A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. The
treatments took place in a small wooden room outset from the beach on a pier over the
reef. A massage from either Stacey or Avon whilst looking at the reef underneath you was
absolutely incredible.

Words really cannot describe how special this place is. If you want tranquility and beauty
then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: "Silver Top for the open spacious layout!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenBuckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
43 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
110 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
48.7 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
524 reviews
0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
201 reviews
59.1 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalame Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalame Cay

Address: Staniard Creek, Andros
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: £523 - £3,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the northeast coast of Andros, and accessible only by private ferry or seaplane, the secluded family-owned Bahamian island of Kamalame Cay caters to a comfortable group of guests at any given time. Idyllic and isolated, this oasis of breathtaking natural beauty wraps ocean adventure and island romance in the luxury of a private island experience.A quick flight from major hubs such as New York, Toronto and Miami, yet worlds away from Nassau’s trendy, resort-lined beaches, Kamalame’s utterly private accommodations are tucked into 96-acres of swaying palms and flowering tropical foliage. A lush oasis ringed by three miles of deserted, white-sand beach and colourful coral gardens, the warm, turquoise waters just off shore teem with manta ray, parrotfish and blue tangs.Kamalame Cay is an idyllic escape for those whose idea of paradise is a tropical hideaway where a sarong is all that’s required to be ‘dressed’ for dinner.Modern interpretations of classic Bahamian cuisine combined with sophisticated wines and spirits, comfortable elegant island décor, and one of the only overwater spas in the Caribbean underscore Kamalame’s gracious 'barefoot chic’ character.Traced by white sand pathways, the island’s beautifully landscaped jungle of sea grapes, palms and coco plums is banked by pristine mangrove fields and a pristine coast scattered with conch shells and starfish; the wide variety of birdlife ranges from sandpipers, herons and cranes to finches, pink ibis and pelicans.Sliced into the Silver Palms that embrace the island, the Great House serves as a welcoming social hub for dining and cocktails and is just a few steps from the heated, freshwater pool, sweeping ocean views and al fresco beach bar.With myriad diversions – from spa programs to world-class diving, snorkelling, fishing and sporting excursions – Kamalame takes pleasure in tailoring every guest’s experience to individual tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Kamalame Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalame Cay Andros, Bahamas
Kamalame Cay Hotel Andros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing