We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Ever!”
Review of Kamalame Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamalame Cay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Honeymoon Ever!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second time visiting Kamalame Cay and it was just as great if not better the second time. We were so happy that we were able to go back as a part of our honeymoon. The staff is amazing and always greet you with a smile. The food is incredible along with the drinks! Kamalame is a great place to relax and to just enjoy every moment as newlyweds. A big thank you to the owners and the hosts for making our honeymoon so unforgettable. We can't wait to get back to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    18
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
170
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I had the priviledge of spending our honeymoon at this wonderful resort! Kamalame Cay just takes your breath away. The hosts David and Michael were so welcoming and made sure that our trip was unforgettable. The staff at this gem of an Island were also incredibly friendly and we were greeted by smiles all through our 8 night stay!
Big thank you to Deedee, Leah, Samson, Patty and all the rest of the wonderful people there!
We will most certainly be returning!
Well done guys, KC is magic!
All our love Bern & Melchior

Room Tip: Villa on the beach is unbelievable! ENJOY
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Kamalame was so great the first time we had to go back! Our 2nd trip to Kamalame Cay was as great as the first! I don't believe there is a better place for a wife and her avid fly fishing husband. Even in the wind my husband did great fishing for bone fish with Lavado the guide and behind the island on the flats on his own. It is the perfect place to disconnect and relax. This visit there was a wine tasting event that was beyond wonderful. The staff is amazing and they go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. If you can you must see Avon for a message in their over the water spa. She is amazing! You get around the island by golf cart or bike. There is no TV and you never even miss it, actually it is one of the things I love the most. Samson the bartender makes a wonderful tropical drink that is his special drink and by far my favorite. We use the pool everyday..the water was like silk. When my husband is fishing for the day I feel completely safe walking, riding a bike or on the beach alone for me that is huge! I could go on and on about how really special this place is...we will return again.

There were only two things I wish was available. 1 - A long board to rent or use. They have the perfect waters around their island for that activity. 2 - half n half for coffee. They have milk, canned milk or heavy cream but was unable to get half n half. As a hardcore coffee drinker I had a really hard time without my half n half.

If you want the perfect tropical island feel without the distractions of life this place is perfect! All I can say if GO and Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I went to Kamalame with a group of friends for a week in March and I could not have been more impressed. It was so nice to get away from the trappings of technology and spend time on the gorgeous island. The staff were very friendly and the accommodations were outstanding. The owners are a great couple and if you have the chance to meet them, it's a real treat. They were so generous and enhanced our stay.
I would recommend Kamalame to anyone in need of a vacation. It is private and secluded but you can still interact with other guests. The barbecue was delightful complete with bonfire and live music.
The beach is gorgeous and at high tide, you can kayak and paddleboard around the whole island. There are plenty of activities for just about anyone and the natural beauty of the island is worth the trip. The lack of outside distractions help one really appreciate all Kamalame has to offer--if you have the chance, GO!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at this magnificent property and stayed in a Beach Suite. My husband went for the fly-fishing and I went to relax…and Kamalame Cay is one of the only places where fly-fishing and luxury will exceed your expectations. There aren't enough superlatives to describe it. After a 20 minute car transfer from Andros Airport, you aboard a small ferry and glide across the water for 5 minutes and arrive on Kamalame Cay. You don't feel like you're checking into a resort. Instead,entering an intimate community of individual cottages with tree lined paths,and beautiful landscapes and ocean breezes. Kamalame Cay is a great balance of high end service (but at a slower pace because you are on island time) yet relaxed atmosphere.
The barbecue on Saturday night ended up being our favorite night. Great people, phenomenal food, upbeat band and the candlelit dinner table on the beach created a romantic atmosphere.
Samsun, the bartender certainly knows how to make cocktails and even suggested his own "Samsun Special" which was one of my favorite cocktails to date.
The beach suites and cottages are laid out so you have a lot of privacy and waking up every morning to your own path to the beach is what made this property exceed our expectations. This is the perfect place to get away when you really want to slow things down and just enjoy the beauty and relaxation of a private island.

Room Tip: Beach Suites and cottages are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieSinNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Kamalame Cay was by far the best vacation we've ever had. We were initially supposed to visit this past June but cancelled last minute because of rainy weather. We wondered at times if we'd ever get there. It was worth the wait and the travel time and did not disappoint.

The staff greeted us with welcoming, open arms. We were guided to our pink golf cart and followed Leah to our cottage villa. The views from the cottage are breathtaking. The villa itself is also lovely - very clean and spacious. The pink Muskoka/Adirondack chairs on the deck/porch are the perfect spot to sit and relax while enjoying the view. We loved that the room had small kitchenette/pantry so we only needed to walk to the villa from the beach to get a drink.

The water was warm and crystal clear in brilliant shades of turquoise, blue and green. It was stunning. As were the sunrises and sunsets.

The food was the best we have ever had while on vacation. Every meal was consistently delicious. I do have to admit that I didn't try many dinner items because the curried chicken was so delicious I had it 3 nights in a row! I woke up craving curried chicken and I'm still craving it.

Resort management and staff do an exceptional job taking care of their guests. David and Michael do a great job of managing and running the resort and make every effort to make sure their guests are having a great time. As does the owner, Bryan Hew. The staff are exceptional - Leah, Sampson (you MUST have the Sampson Special!!!), Dede, Patty, Eltranique, Alison, Kiva (the Diva!), Mark, Hannah, Daryl, etc.

A visit to the spa is a must - the views of the ocean while having a massage (or other spa treatment) are fabulous.

The only complaint I have (and it is minor) is that the ceiling fan in our bedroom would make odd noises so it would occasionally disrupt our sleep.

Our visit was relaxing, idyllic and perfect! Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleanFreak099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When I was planning our Spring Break vacation with my wife and two daughters, age 18 and 20, I searched for a location that would meet the demands of the group: sun, excellent food, easy access to scuba diving and a small intimate location where it was quiet and off the beaten track. Kamalame Cay exceeded our expectations in every way.

The location is wonderful, with a gorgeous and absolutely pristine beach that faces a reef and provides swimming at higher tide and great wading out toward the reef at low tide. The waves are gentle, and sand is soft and luxurious. The water is a beautiful turquoise, and crystal clear. We stayed in Magnolia, which had been the home of the grandmother of the current manager/owner. It had two large bedrooms with large baths, a third full bath looking out to the water with a soaking tub, two fabulous outdoor showers (my wife's favorite), a fully covered verandah looking out to the water, a large living room area, and small kitchenette. "Our" beach had two great hammocks amongst the palms, shade when needed, and comfortable lounge chairs by the water. We could relax there for hours without seeing another soul.

The staff were wonderful, and we came to know them all by name, and they came to know our likes. Samson was a fabulous waiter, who made "anything" possible at mealtime. It was with a smile that he told us we could have whatever we want, and he certainly did his best to meet that promise. The food was excellent, and he pointed us to favorite items. There were chef's specials most days, making it such that we had plenty of choices. While there were rare misses in the kitchen, the food was the best I have had anywhere in multiple trips to the Caribbean. The fish, conch, lobster and crab dishes were delicious, and David's grits for breakfast beat any grits I have had in the South. The staff cheerfully cooked up a birthday cake for my daughter's birthday on a day's notice and the staff and rest of the guests sang a rousing Happy Birthday for her 18th birthday celebration. The Guest of House package covers all meals, snacks, beverages, etc., and it helps not to have to even think about the costs for meals, wine, cocktails and champagne.

There were about dozen other guests at the resort when we were there, from Russia, Germany and the States. It was great fun to mingle at dinner time and learn of everyone's adventures from the day, yet at the same time easy to slip back to the peaceful quiet during the daytime as we moved about the island.

The island is fun to explore, by pink one speed bike (it is flat as a pancake) or by our pink golf cart. We fished off the docks (not our passion), dove with Mark and Hannah, went for long walks and invented new tropical cocktails. The view from the spa is unsurpassed, and all of the girls enjoyed their time there. There is only internet at the Pineapple House by the office, so we spent more time together as a family than we have in ages!

While some authors on this site have mentioned poor service by housekeeping, etc., we found everyone on the staff as helpful as could be, extra shampoos arrived in no time when requested, four bikes were delivered when we asked, extra drinks, and juices (for breakfast and cocktails) were made without any delay, including hand-squeezed OJ. Fishing poles and bait appeared in minutes, and warm smiles were omnipresent.

We will definitely be back, as often as we can find the time to get there. I have never had a more satisfying vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clb7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
43.0 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
48.7 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalame Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalame Cay

Property: Kamalame Cay
Address: Staniard Creek, Andros
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the northeast coast of Andros, and accessible only by private ferry or seaplane, the secluded family-owned Bahamian island of Kamalame Cay caters to a comfortable group of guests at any given time. Idyllic and isolated, this oasis of breathtaking natural beauty wraps ocean adventure and island romance in the luxury of a private island experience.A quick flight from major hubs such as New York, Toronto and Miami, yet worlds away from Nassau’s trendy, resort-lined beaches, Kamalame’s utterly private accommodations are tucked into 96-acres of swaying palms and flowering tropical foliage. A lush oasis ringed by three miles of deserted, white-sand beach and colourful coral gardens, the warm, turquoise waters just off shore teem with manta ray, parrotfish and blue tangs.Kamalame Cay is an idyllic escape for those whose idea of paradise is a tropical hideaway where a sarong is all that’s required to be ‘dressed’ for dinner.Modern interpretations of classic Bahamian cuisine combined with sophisticated wines and spirits, comfortable elegant island décor, and one of the only overwater spas in the Caribbean underscore Kamalame’s gracious 'barefoot chic’ character.Traced by white sand pathways, the island’s beautifully landscaped jungle of sea grapes, palms and coco plums is banked by pristine mangrove fields and a pristine coast scattered with conch shells and starfish; the wide variety of birdlife ranges from sandpipers, herons and cranes to finches, pink ibis and pelicans.Sliced into the Silver Palms that embrace the island, the Great House serves as a welcoming social hub for dining and cocktails and is just a few steps from the heated, freshwater pool, sweeping ocean views and al fresco beach bar.With myriad diversions – from spa programs to world-class diving, snorkelling, fishing and sporting excursions – Kamalame takes pleasure in tailoring every guest’s experience to individual tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Kamalame Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalame Cay Andros, Bahamas
Kamalame Cay Hotel Andros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing