We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andros, Bahamas”
Review of Swain's Cay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swain's Cay Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Snoqualmie, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Andros, Bahamas”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had the priviledge of spending a week at Swain's Cay Lodge in June 2012 and it was fabulous! My husband is a fly fisherman and it's not always easy traveling with him to some of the destinations he enjoys! Cheryl and her staff were a joy! The upscale accomodations were lovely and the food was plentiful and excellent, as were the cocktails!!! While the "boys" were out fishing, I got to loll away the days enjoying the sunshine and beautiful beach. The view is to die for!
According to my husband, the fishing guides were some of the best and he had a great trip. He looks forward to returning to Swain's Cay Lodge this November.
Ladies, if you're debating whether or not to go along, pack your bags! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Loved staying in the room closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife always wanted to swim on the Andros barrier reef as do others of our friends. I know Andros well except for the Mangrove Cay area so we were sent scouting. We were very pleasantly surprised.The rooms are comfortable and well maintained,the management and staff are excellent - friendly and helpful, the food is excellent (as is the bar!) the fishing guide they recommended was first rate. We had agreat time even though the weather turned nasty on the last day
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carleton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I recently travelled to Andros Island for a getaway. We spent one night in a neighboring lodge and decided it was enough. Thank God Swains Cay was there to save the day. We were impressed from the moment we entered their driveway. Cheryl was very accomodating and sought to meet all our needs. Our room was beautiful, the service was great and if you eat here, ask for the grouper and coleslaw with fried potatoes! My wife won't stop talking about it. We felt this was one of the nicest surprises that we have had in a long time. Noel keeps the place immaculate and the view is fantastic. I will be coming back for fishing next time. Take our advice, if you are not sure about where to stay.....stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BensPretzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I had the experience of a lifetime in joining three friends for a long weekend stay at Swains Cay Lodge! Cheryl and the Pamelas provided awesome hospitality. We were able to experience the local culture along with truely fresh conch salad ( Cheryl will point you in the right direction ) . The Homecoming Celebration was alot of fun. The food, drink, rooms, and other amenities were excellent. Oh, and the fishing wasnt half bad either. We fished for bones and barracuda in the flats and then ventured into the ocean for groupers, snappers, and mahi with plenty of success and lots of action.

Lots of fun!! I would highly recommend Swains Cay Lodge to anyone and I am planning next year's visit, already.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Recently traveled to Swain's Cay for a fishing vacation. My friends and I had a fantastic time!
From the moment we arrived, the hospitality, accommodations, food and fishing were outstanding. Three days of great fishing with fantastic guides to take us to the best fishing spots around Andros Island. Highly recommended! Cheryl and Pamela are outstanding hosts. We're already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just got back from a trip to Swaines Lodge in early May 2012. We were primarliy bonefishing, but we also got a chance to enjoy the local nightlife as it was the Annual Homecoming Celebration. What a great place!
Cheryl and the group at Swaines are great in every way. From the rooms, to the food, to the friendly service, it would have been hard for our group to have had a better time.
Only regret---having to leave!!
Already planning our return trip to Swaines Cay Lodge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We chose Swain's Cay because of the bonefishing. The cabin and grounds were beautiful. We had a great guide, Danzel. My husband caught many bonefish while I enjoyed taking pictures. Out fishing we saw many sharks, barracudas, turtles, porpoise, giant starfish, conch, and even a lone pink flamingo. Our guide took us snorkeling one afternoon and it was beauitful in the crystal clear waters. He also took us to see some blue holes.
The lodge has a new view at night where all the fisherman gathered to talk about their conquests, including the ones that got away. The beer was cold, the rum punch was fantasitc. Try the baby-maker made from fresh coconut. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner each night along with conch fritters.
The beach in front of the lodge was full of coral and sea grasses, but there was a lot to see when the tide rolled out. We were able to walk out quite a distance
If fishing, keep yourself covered as the flies can be relentless. I think the flies were the only bad thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binnidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
4.3 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
502 reviews
36.6 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain's Cay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain's Cay Lodge

Property: Swain's Cay Lodge
Address: Mangrove Cay, AN 023802, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swain's Cay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain's Cay Lodge is the perfect island retreat on Mangrove Cay, Andros Island, only a a 20 minute flight from Nassau. Newly built in 2009, Swain's Cay is located on the beach. Kayaks and bikes are available for guest use to explore the island, our bonefish flat, reefs and blue-holes. The ideal location for the world's best bonefishing or to escape from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swain's Cay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain`s Cay Hotel Andros
Swain's Cay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing