We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
88
19
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
19
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fly fishing grouper bone fishing andros island rooms are spacious great guide air conditioning this place is amazing bring bug spray low tide taking care cheryl shine anglers bastian flats bonefish
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Cheryl bent over backwards to help us. The staff is great and friendly. Our 23 year old daughter and her friend preferred Swain's Cay to Nassau. The beach is spectacular and nobody else is there. The rooms are nice and quiet. The food is great and the other guests friendly. The bonefishing is unbeatable. This is my fourth time there and I'm going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and close to the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylSwainsCay, Owner at Swain's Cay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! It was great to have you back with us. All islands in the Bahamas are beautiful but we really love our tranquil paradise here on Mangrove Cay. Hope to see you soon for more bonefishing, beaches, and great food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Our second trip to Swain's. We were even more pleased this time. I had a great time fishing with Shine and caught some really nice fish.Fishing is well coordinated, they take all the fishermen to meet the guides at the harbor in Port Lisbon, or at Moxey on the Middle Bight.Pickup when you get back.
Rooms are spacious especially the Oceanside rooms which are really quite large and comfortable.
After all of that, the best part of the trip is the staff. I've never seen a more friendly, pleasant group of people who will really work at taking care of you. We got met with hugs to welcome us back on our arrival. The food is hard to beat. You will not have anything less than a great meal and always with a bright smile.
Cheryl, the owner, has clearly been investing in the place with lots of upgrades, better water system, new bikes, new building to keep bikes out of the salt. The beach is still beautiful, as are the sunrises.
We met some folks who had been coming for 10 years. We might get to that number, too, We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigGuy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylSwainsCay, Owner at Swain's Cay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks so much for the lovely review! It was great to see you again. I'm so happy you enjoyed another great stay, with fantastic fishing! We have been working hard here to make sure we give you the best vacation possible and we hope to see you back again for more good times very soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

I recently returned from several days of bone fishing at Swains Cay. This was a repeat visit and the lodge was every bit as good as I recalled. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is quite good. The staff is outstanding. One more gracious and helpful than the next. The lodge set me up with a outstanding guide--Lester. A gem of an operation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Barrington P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylSwainsCay, Owner at Swain's Cay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for the great review. It was wonderful to have you back. And thank you for the compliment to our staff - they are the best! We look forward to your next visit, full of more great fishing, food, and fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Swain's Cay is a friendly, relaxing, clean, and comfortable lodge. In December, it is quiet, especially compared to bustling Nassau. It is a great place to fish, read, walk, and kayak. If you are looking for a low-key getaway in the Bahamas, Swain's Cay is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylSwainsCay, Owner at Swain's Cay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks very much for the review. I am so happy you had a wonderful getaway here with us! We love the tranquility on Mangrove Cay - a perfect place to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Very nice staff, decent rooms (with a few problems), OK food, but a meal plan that wasn't well described in advance. The beach is OK at low tide, but very narrow and limited at high. Bikes were new and workable - kayaks were not (due to high winds). Supposed to be good fishing - but the weather nixed that possibility. For some folks it would be worth another visit, but really not for us.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank opete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews