We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”
Review of Tiamo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tiamo Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went for 6 nights early April, only great things to say about the resort:
- great location
- amazing staff
- excellent food
- full range of water activities
- nice wine list
- clean
- very quiet
We would recommend & come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyVdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi PeggyVdP - we’re so happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and thank you for sharing your experience here! We're thrilled to know that you particularly enjoyed our Tiamo service and the delicious food, our wine selection and activities. Thank you again for choosing Tiamo resort and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    28
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
183
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My Son and I took a weeklong trip to Tiamo last month over his spring break. We found the resort to be wonderful in many ways. From the initial introduction, to the meals, activities, and beautiful beach, it exceeded our expectations in many ways. This was a very memorable, Father/Son trip for us and we enjoyed bonefishing with a guide for 4 of the days we stayed. The housekeeping services were impeccable, including a turn down service at night. The kitchen staff did everything to make us feel comfortable. I really enjoyed to small size of the resort too. We'd love to come back and visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank krisa325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Kris A - thanks so much for the lovely review. We're so pleased that you had such a great stay with your son. We're very happy to know that you particularly enjoyed your villa with our nice housekepping service, the food and your fishing days. We also appreciate your input on dining variety - we're always striving to do more!
Looking so forward to having you back with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

There are few gems like Tiamo in Caribbean, small, private--the perfect getaway for a stressed couple. Island isolation, beauty, and comfort. My husband and I were long overdue for a vacation and searched for a small, completely pampering experience. Tiamo fit the bill with it's small size and location. Only accessibly by boat, you will feel like you're on your own private island. The rooms are well-appointed with soft sheets, comfortable beds. Chef Keith's food is excellent and fresh daily if there's a good catch by the sea fishermen. The service is excellent from the managers, Wilfred and Julien, to the staff people (special thanks to Pinky and Briana)--fun and friendly. They're there if you need them, but will stay out of your way if you need privacy. Casual and quiet, there's no need for fuss at Tiamo. Pack your comfy clothes. Bring swim gear for snorkeling by the blue holes or in the shallow, clear waters right off the beach. While there are plenty of activities to do, we rather enjoyed doing nothing, reading books, listening to the waves, the birds, and general quiet. Do use the bug spray provided, the sand flies are brutal. Our only disappointment was the spa. Service was fine, but really not as top-notch as the rest of the resort. We would have liked that to be a more pampering experience. Overall, we loved Tiamo and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Get a pool villa for even more privacy. If traveling with a family/friends, check out the amazing tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julieatallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Julieatal,
We were very touched by your kind comments. We thank you for taking time to share your experiences.
It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property. Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service’s is most important for us, and we will be happy to share your comments with the entire team.
We hope to welcome you back soon and to get the pleasure to meet you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family and I just returned from a week stay at Tiamo Resort. I booked this through luxury link which I was a little nervous about as this was the first time I had done that, but everything from the booking to the vacation was seamless. We have traveled extensively esp in the Caribbean, vacationing at between 18-20 different islands, and Tiamo is the most beautiful resort we have visited. We stayed in the Exclusive Pool Villa for some extra privacy. Service was exceptional! Delta lost my luggage on the way down, and when we arrived Julian the manager took the baggage claim information contacted Delta and the bag was on the front porch of our villa before I woke up the next morning. He even opened the gift shop for me upon arrival so I could raid it to get me by. So a big thanks to him! We traveled with our son who is 13, and the staff was very accommodating to him, offering to make him any meal he wanted. Although it wasn't necessary because the food was amazing! They served lobster one night which made our son very happy as that is his favorite food. We were a little nervous since it was all inclusive. We typically don't frequent all inclusive resorts as we are all about luxury and good food, which you do not find at most all inclusives, but Tiamo was five stars all the way from food to service to accommodations. I read the reviews prior to going and packed sunscreen with bug spray so the bugs were not an issue. I know other reviews commented on the cost of alcoholic drinks, and I did not think price was out of line for a resort, not to mention the drinks were amazing. Their mixologists have to be well trained bc we always received a perfectly mixed drink. There were tons of marine activities although we did not take advantage of them it appeared many guests did, and there was always staff on the dock to assist you. We wanted a week break from work, school, sports schedules, etc to relax and spend time as a family and we certainly got to do that. A huge thanks to the entire staff for a great spring break! I hope someday they expand and add two bedroom villas for families.

Room Tip: For extra privacy book the exclusive pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tincup305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear tincup305..,
A huge Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to discover your feedback of your family vacations concerning the food and the customer service from our team, specialy our bartender. We would be happy to welcome you again in a future in our paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I had to escape the brutal Minnesota winter and decided to try our hand at bone fishing. Our travel agent recommended Tiamo after we asked for a place with great fishing plus luxury.

The highlight of our trip was the hospitality of the Bahaman people, with special emphasis on the three terrific days we spent fishing with our fishing guide,Kiki. We are novices at fly fishing and bone fishing and he was a terrific and patient teacher, and a delightful host. I am not sure how the fishing experience could have been improved, unless of course, my wife and I could have magically improved our ability to cast into the wind. On the third day, I asked Kiki to change plans and take us snapper fishing. He quickly reacted, borrowed an extra spinning rod, and when he couldn't locate the bait that I requested, we went conch hunting, used the conch as bait, and caught some really nice snapper, the largest of which ended up on our dinner plates after Tiamo's incredible chef prepared it just the way we asked. More about the chef to follow. The rest of the Bahaman staff were also terrific.. Brianna and Carolyn were two of the friendliest wait persons we have encountered, Pinky could serve her martinis in the finest New York bars, and Audrey and Brenda served some terrific breakfasts. Our reaction to the chef and his cuisine is hard to put into words. We dine out often, not only here in the Twin Cities, but places like New York, Chicago, London, etc. Tiamo's chef could open a restaurant and be successful in any of those cities. Every course of every meal was terrific.

The comfort of the bungalows was exceptional and there were lots of activities for people who don't want to fish. While we did not visit the spa, there was one. The island can only be reached by boat so there were obviously no crowds and no noise and no anxiety regarding crime. All in all, Tiamo is an amazing and relaxing oasis.

The only negative? The sand fleas. Take the resort's advice and use their insect repellant before walking down the beach for dinner.

Room Tip: The basic choice is air conditioning versus cool breeze. Depending upon the weather, I would choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jim B,
We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the team, location and fishing experience. Our team strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve high standards level of the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Tiamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just returned from Tiamo for our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it! It was the most beautiful and relaxing place we have ever been. The Tiamo Team works enthusiastically to ensure that you enjoy your stay and feel right at home. This is a resort staff that truly understands the definition of customer service! We enjoyed snorkeling, fishing, sailing, swimming, looking for starfish and stingrays, and sunbathing. The food was excellent - some of the best meals we have ever had. At night, we could choose whether we wanted to mingle with the other guests (who were quite friendly!) or spend time with just each other. We did not go to the spa but we were so relaxed -- we didn't need to! We recommend Tiamo without hesitation - a great trip and we will return in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 6 and were quite happy. All of the cottages seemed similar and were just a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear HappyTrav..,
Thank you again for choosing Tiamo resort for your honeymoon destination. We’re very happy to hear that your journey was “worth it” and that you found the service incredible, food delicious and our activities great! We appreciate you sharing your experience here and we hope to welcome you back to our little paradise again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Tiamo for our ten year anniversary. We left three small children at home and we were SO excited to have some quiet relaxation. We stayed in one of the pool villas right on the beach- it was very clean, we loved the open air shower and private pool. There were several things to do off the beach like paddle boarding, canoeing, snorkeling. Or they have a scuba guide there if you are a diver. There were several people there for bonefishing too. I am more of a read by the pool kind of person when I am away from the kids so I liked that there were things to do, but nothing we had to do. The food was AMAZING. We looked forward to and loved every meal! The staff was very friendly. My only recommendation is to use the OFF spray and oil they provide because those sand flies and mosquitos will get you at night!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 10_year2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello and thanks so much for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here! We're so happy to hear that you loved your stay and particularly the food, activities and our Tiamo service provide by our team . Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
5.7 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#8 of 13 in Eleuthera
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiamo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiamo Resort

Property: Tiamo Resort
Address: Tiamo Beach | South Andros Islan, 33309, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiamo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No so long ago, the Bahamas were a destination for privateers, pirates and freebooters. The name Bahamas come from the Spanish expression, Baja Mar, which means low sea and if you have ever flown in a plane over Andros, where our lovely resort is located, you will understand why the name was given. Apart from the beautiful beaches, the ocean and the nature Bahamas still surprise each visitor, did you know that Alexander Selkirki, the real Robinson Crusoe, actually was in the Bahamas and survived on of our 700 islands till he was rescued 5 years later? Came On the island of South Andros Island, a small corner of paradise in the middle of the Caribbean, in the heart of lush tropical vegetation Imagine you are Robinson Crusoe...............a Luxury Adventure at Tiamo Resort Tiamo resort consists of ten exclusives houses. Staying at Tiamo means being close to the nature and adopting to the easy way of living in uncompromised exclusive house. . The hotel blends into the décor of white sand and turquoise crystal clear water and the desire to respect the environment and ecotourism is felt. These villas are built in a style Bahamian, they retain all the spirit of the Bahamas and environmentally friendly, you can even contemplate many animals who take refuge in the heart of the property. The villas are hidden in the Mangroves which stretches along our natural beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tiamo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiamo Hotel Andros
Tiamo Resort Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing