We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andros Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swain's Cay Lodge(Andros)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
188
17
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
17
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobsterget awayblue holescuba divingblack labhogfishwonderful hostspowder white sandsecluded beachgreat adventurelocal fishsand barfreshly caught seafoodstay exceeded our expectationsfamily dogyoungest sonlargest coral reef in the world
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Jesse and Chelsea are great hosts and work really hard to make sure you are happy. The food is excellent. Great diving, fishing and a beautiful deserted, private beach. The locals are very friendly. Say hi to Mrs. Lloyd (a taxi ride you'll not forget) for me when she delivers you to and from the airport in Congotown. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just returned from our 2 week visit to South Andros Beach Club (ABC) in Kemp’s Bay Bahamas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this little slice of Paradise! Chelsea and Jesse have a wonderful piece of property that is adjacent to a beautiful, seemingly private stretch of beach overlooking the most beautiful turquoise water. We only saw a handful of people on the beach over the course of the visit and everyone was very friendly. In fact, I think the Bahamians of South Andros are some of the friendliest and most welcoming people I’ve ever met.

Jesse and Chelsea offer an all-inclusive trip for most of their guests, but we opted for a more do-it-yourself approach which we were very pleased with. The grocery store, though limited, has the necessities to feed the family. We had a group of 6 the first week and everyone was amazed at the fare we produced. When you go to the local market, try not to go with a menu in mind. Rather, see what they have and plan your menu accordingly. We enjoyed meat sauce pastas, stuffed roast chicken, chicken pot pie, fresh fish that we caught spear fishing with Oscar and both fish and ground beef tacos. There is plenty of bread to buy at the store and fresh baked bread comes out on Sunday. Don’t miss it!

A short stroll to the North of ABC is Skipper’s, a small bar and restaurant. Make the afternoon stroll there for fresh Fried Conch, Lobster Tail and Chicken Wings. Don’t miss the Fresh Fried Conch! It was so good we went back twice!

We hired Nathaniel Adams (Nat) of Deep Creek Lodge for 5 days of Guided fishing. He’s an excellent guide with over 31 years experience and the eyes of an Eagle! If available, have Nat make dinner for you. He is an excellent chef. We had an incredible meal overlooking the ocean of Grouper Fingers, Beans and Rice and Coleslaw. It was fantastic! While fishing with Nat make sure to visit the West Side and the Southern Tip of the island. The flats in both areas are incredible and completely different from the tidal creeks like Deep Creek, Little Creek and Grassy Creek.

If you are looking for a Do It Yourself (DIY) adventure, you can ask Jesse to rent his Skiff. Using the skiff to access Deep Creek will offer several days of DIY fishing where if you figure out the tides and the running channels will offer you several shots at bones over 5 pounds! The largest we landed in there was a bit over 8lbs, but I saw a couple over 10lbs.

I was told that ABC is one of the oldest buildings on the island with estimates of 150 to 180 years old. There is certainly a lot of history in this building and with each addition over the years, you can see the definite change in the home. The bedrooms are fairly comfortable with 2 kings, two twins that can make a king and a twin on the porch which is where I slept. It was nice to hear the ocean and feel the evening breeze.

Keep in mind when you are booking the property that the home is an older seaside home with its age apparent in the kitchen, but it does offer the necessities and plenty of cookware and tableware to feed an army! Dining at the 6 to 8 place table in the screened in porch by candlelight is as fancy as any lodge anywhere.

The highlights when booking ABC are:

Jesse’s correspondence. He went above and beyond in his assistance and attention to detail which allowed us to pull off our 2 week stay without a hitch.

The ability to rent Jesse’s Skiff for DIY fishing in Deep Creek and DIY Snorkeling adventures made the trip. Without the use of a boat, flats are nearly impossible to access. DIY Bonefishing would not have been possible without the use of the Skiff rental.

Mrs. Lloyd offers a very animated, entertaining, informational and attentive Taxi Service. She took great care of us and is a wonderful asset to the community.

Oscar works on the property as a property maintenance professional, but his true talents are in the ocean. Book him for a day of spear fishing or snorkeling. He was there for our every need and helped us out immensely.

Don’t forget to book Nat and go to the West Side and Southern Tip for some of the best Bonefishing Flats anywhere!

Last but not least, Duke. What a wonderful addition to the property. Even if Jesse and Chelsea are away on vacation and you are left with the responsibility of feeding him, it’s very easy. A small bowl of dog food in the morning and evening and you have a pet, guard dog and beach bum friend for the trip! He loved accompanying us to the beach for long walks and swims. He even followed us to Skippers to make sure we could find our way home. He’s a great dog. I can see why so many travelers write about him. Something you don’t hear much about is Duke’s girlfriend. This smaller, yellow female that is really loving and friendly. We named her “Daisy.” “Daisy Duke.” She doesn’t live at ABC, but she visits often.

We had a great trip to South Andros and we look forward to our next visit to the island.

Marc J. Solari, Crested Butte, CO USA VRBO #17095, Flipkey #272368

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runswithelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

If you are looking for a place with sand right up to the front door with coconut palms swaying above the house and no interest in shopping for anything except fresh fish and cold beer than this is your place. Jesse and Oscar at Andros Beach Club ( which is really a single family home) are great! They provided us with whatever we needed from taking us snorkeling in their motor boat moored in front of the house top setting us up with bonefishing guides, they couldn't have been more helpful in making our trip awesome. We grilled on the outdoor fire pit one night, and the next night walked 300 yards down the beach to a fun local restaurant/bar for the best cracked conch.
The water, the beach, combined with the house really added up to a secluded tropical paradise. 3 miles of the most stunning beaches you will find. The house is super homey with plenty of books, games and chairs, and the longest screened in porch Ive ever seen.
Go there now!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife and I were looking to combine a honeymoon trip that let me do some serious bonefishing while still having plenty for her to do when I fished, and plenty of non-fishing things we could do together the rest of the time. We wanted quiet, secluded, pristine and non-commercial. Jesse and Chelsea (and little Porter) at Andros Beach Club met our needs perfectly.

The lodge is simple--something of a throwback to a 50's/60's fishing lodge (which it used to be). The two rooms are nice and open onto sunrise views to the beach. The food was all Bahamian--cooked by a lovely Island lady--which we greatly enjoyed. Seafood is the order of the day, though Jesse accommodates all diets. Lobster, Conch, Mahi, Grouper, Snapper....outstanding!

I fished with local guide Nathaniel Adams--arranged through Jesse--probably the best guide I've ever had. We snorkeled, and Jesse took my wife on her first scuba dive--a bucket list deal. He was a terrific teacher--patient, extremely safe and encouraging. We hiked to blue holes, biked some, added new birds to our life lists and spent hours walking a pristine white-sand beach without seeing a soul.

There's no shopping and no casino or night life; South Andros Island, despite the attractions we sought and found, is no tourist mecca. Poverty is all around you and it can be stark. We ate out at Nat Adams' restaurant and had a wonderful meal--but you arrange and order ahead of time--a great way to go. You need to be clear about your expectations, which we were, and we loved it. If you want to be able to snorkel and dive on the third largest coral reef in the world, catch an abundance of bonefish, eat healthy island food and stand on a gorgeous Caribbean blue-water beach with not another soul as far as you can see---Andros Beach Club is perfect. We loved getting to know Jesse and Chelsea, little Porter is adorable, and their black lab Duke loves taking walks with you on the beach.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great--one has an indoor shower (which we had) but the outdoor (enclosed) shower would have been fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayboater9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My husband and I went to andros with a couple of friends to getaway from reality for a week. That is exactly what we got...we felt like we were on our own private beach! It was amazing!! The house is perfect and accommodated us all perfectly. Jesse and Chelsea were also very accommodating and the hospitality was superb! Jesse knows the island inside and out and was able to take us to some of the blue holes..which are definitely worth seeing and jumping into :) One day some of the people from our group took the kayaks out and sphered some fish that we ate that night..yummy..can't beat fresh fish! Oscar, a local and native on the island, took some of us out to do hand-line fishing and we were able to catch some fish and he prepared it for us for a true Bahamian meal! We come back every year and we will continue to do so. It is so natural and peaceful, almost untouched, and you can't beat that! (Oh and I forgot to mention we also had our own personal bodyguard, Duke, their dog :))

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews