We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure Destination”
Review of Andros Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andros Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Great Adventure Destination”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It was a true pleasure to meet Jesse, Chelsea, and their beautiful sons. I booked a week at Andros Beach Club in order to experience another region of the Bahamian out islands. Jesse took a small group of two divers and four snorkelers out to the spectacular reef a short boat ride off the coast. The reefs are in great condition, the highlight being the numerous blueholes which dot the island. The beach at ABC is stunning and it was rare to see anyone else within the vicinity. I would highly recommend a visit to South Andros and ABC is a comfortable base from which to explore the wonderful natural world of this vast region.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeitlerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
44
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My fiancé and I took a trip to South Andros and it was simply amazing! Andros Beach Club sits only a few hundred feet from the beautiful blue and crystal clear ocean. The beach is super clean and we had it all to ourselves. Talk about a totally peaceful, relaxing and serene environment. Let me say, the accommodations were second to none. Jesse and Chelsea really make you feel comfortable and right at home with their hospitality. They make a great combo since Chelsea is the baker (awesome fresh breads) and Jesse is the cook. Given how much he loves to eat, he doesn't mind standing over the grill to cook up a tasty steak or piece of fresh fish. My fiancé and i truly ate like kings! I'm very particular about hotel amenities, so it's important to mention the cleanliness of the bedrooms and bathrooms. Not that anyone would spend a significant amount of time inside, but I was impressed. In addition, it was quickly apparent how resourceful and knowledgeable Jesse was about all facets of the island. He is very well connected on the island and knows all the ins and outs. Also, I would highly recommend that you go snorkeling or scuba diving with Jesse at the blue holes. He's an expert diver, a great tour guide and really made my fiancé comfortable in the deep ocean. Overall, visiting the Andros Beach Club was so much fun and an amazing vacation that I'll never forget. We're already planning our next trip. Can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wow, what a beautiful, amazing beach and such privacy! The water is so gorgeous and so relaxing. The privacy and seclusion were exactly what we were looking for. It is so beautiful there and we truly enjoyed our stay. The kayaks and small sailboat were so great to have and enjoy. My husband spent a lot of time offshore collecting conch and searching for lobsters. The rest of us spent our vacation just relaxing on the beach and in the water, enjoying the amazing view! Jesse was great and there if we needed anything. We also had the pleasure of meeting his father towards the end of our stay and on our last day, my husband went out spear fishing with them and had the best time! We will definitely be back someday soon and we plan on doing many of the amazing tours that are offered there. South Andros is such an unspoiled and unique place. A very quiet island and the locals are very friendly. The house was great and well stocked with the basics. There is a small store close by with some basic food supplies. I would definitely recommend staying here at Andros Beach Club and we really look forward to getting back someday soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My ten year old daughter and I had the time of our lives this past week at our stay at the Andros Beach Club. Jesse was the best host and was attentive to our needs. The scenery was breathtaking from the secluded white beach with crystal clear blue waters to the dramatic landscapes of the cliffs around the inland blue holes. Diving is what we intended to do and Jesse acquainted us with beautiful coral reefs surrounded by colorful fish. Maggie the Bahamian chef whipped up the most savory meals and surprised us with something special nearly every day. Our encounters with the residents of Andros were met with warm smiles, lively personalities, and a feeling of unity. My daughter Bella and I felt safe and never alone when we were accompanied by Duke (Jesse's black lab) on our adventures on the shore. I would highly recommend staying at the Andros Beach Club at least once in this lifetime. Every day was an adventure, yet we also had relaxing times swinging in the hammock, listening to the gentle waves and taking in the sea air. Simply the best!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 282jessicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland OR
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Andros beach club was hands down the best place our family has ever stayed for a vacation. The house sits on a beautiful white sandy beach which is almost always empty. You can Kayak and snorkel one of the blue holes just off of the beach. The house is one of the oldest on the island which makes you feel safe in bad weather and is huge. Plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked for a rental as long as you can be creative with what is available at the grocery store.The best part of the Andros Beach Club are the hosts. Jesse goes out of his way to make sure you and your family has a fabulous time. He was able to combine out of this world adventures for my son, safe excursions for my daughter and activities for my non-diving husband. Jesse was our dive leader by day and our 4 star chef at night. His fresh caught Jack sushi rolls and grilled fish were better than any we have had. We were lucky enough to be there when his father was there who tells fascinating stories and is a great diver as well. The island is sparse and does not have a lot of other activities but if staying on your own white sand beach and diving in one of the most unique spots in the world is for you, this place is it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Jesse and Chelsea are great hosts and work really hard to make sure you are happy. The food is excellent. Great diving, fishing and a beautiful deserted, private beach. The locals are very friendly. Say hi to Mrs. Lloyd (a taxi ride you'll not forget) for me when she delivers you to and from the airport in Congotown. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just returned from our 2 week visit to South Andros Beach Club (ABC) in Kemp’s Bay Bahamas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this little slice of Paradise! Chelsea and Jesse have a wonderful piece of property that is adjacent to a beautiful, seemingly private stretch of beach overlooking the most beautiful turquoise water. We only saw a handful of people on the beach over the course of the visit and everyone was very friendly. In fact, I think the Bahamians of South Andros are some of the friendliest and most welcoming people I’ve ever met.

Jesse and Chelsea offer an all-inclusive trip for most of their guests, but we opted for a more do-it-yourself approach which we were very pleased with. The grocery store, though limited, has the necessities to feed the family. We had a group of 6 the first week and everyone was amazed at the fare we produced. When you go to the local market, try not to go with a menu in mind. Rather, see what they have and plan your menu accordingly. We enjoyed meat sauce pastas, stuffed roast chicken, chicken pot pie, fresh fish that we caught spear fishing with Oscar and both fish and ground beef tacos. There is plenty of bread to buy at the store and fresh baked bread comes out on Sunday. Don’t miss it!

A short stroll to the North of ABC is Skipper’s, a small bar and restaurant. Make the afternoon stroll there for fresh Fried Conch, Lobster Tail and Chicken Wings. Don’t miss the Fresh Fried Conch! It was so good we went back twice!

We hired Nathaniel Adams (Nat) of Deep Creek Lodge for 5 days of Guided fishing. He’s an excellent guide with over 31 years experience and the eyes of an Eagle! If available, have Nat make dinner for you. He is an excellent chef. We had an incredible meal overlooking the ocean of Grouper Fingers, Beans and Rice and Coleslaw. It was fantastic! While fishing with Nat make sure to visit the West Side and the Southern Tip of the island. The flats in both areas are incredible and completely different from the tidal creeks like Deep Creek, Little Creek and Grassy Creek.

If you are looking for a Do It Yourself (DIY) adventure, you can ask Jesse to rent his Skiff. Using the skiff to access Deep Creek will offer several days of DIY fishing where if you figure out the tides and the running channels will offer you several shots at bones over 5 pounds! The largest we landed in there was a bit over 8lbs, but I saw a couple over 10lbs.

I was told that ABC is one of the oldest buildings on the island with estimates of 150 to 180 years old. There is certainly a lot of history in this building and with each addition over the years, you can see the definite change in the home. The bedrooms are fairly comfortable with 2 kings, two twins that can make a king and a twin on the porch which is where I slept. It was nice to hear the ocean and feel the evening breeze.

Keep in mind when you are booking the property that the home is an older seaside home with its age apparent in the kitchen, but it does offer the necessities and plenty of cookware and tableware to feed an army! Dining at the 6 to 8 place table in the screened in porch by candlelight is as fancy as any lodge anywhere.

The highlights when booking ABC are:

Jesse’s correspondence. He went above and beyond in his assistance and attention to detail which allowed us to pull off our 2 week stay without a hitch.

The ability to rent Jesse’s Skiff for DIY fishing in Deep Creek and DIY Snorkeling adventures made the trip. Without the use of a boat, flats are nearly impossible to access. DIY Bonefishing would not have been possible without the use of the Skiff rental.

Mrs. Lloyd offers a very animated, entertaining, informational and attentive Taxi Service. She took great care of us and is a wonderful asset to the community.

Oscar works on the property as a property maintenance professional, but his true talents are in the ocean. Book him for a day of spear fishing or snorkeling. He was there for our every need and helped us out immensely.

Don’t forget to book Nat and go to the West Side and Southern Tip for some of the best Bonefishing Flats anywhere!

Last but not least, Duke. What a wonderful addition to the property. Even if Jesse and Chelsea are away on vacation and you are left with the responsibility of feeding him, it’s very easy. A small bowl of dog food in the morning and evening and you have a pet, guard dog and beach bum friend for the trip! He loved accompanying us to the beach for long walks and swims. He even followed us to Skippers to make sure we could find our way home. He’s a great dog. I can see why so many travelers write about him. Something you don’t hear much about is Duke’s girlfriend. This smaller, yellow female that is really loving and friendly. We named her “Daisy.” “Daisy Duke.” She doesn’t live at ABC, but she visits often.

We had a great trip to South Andros and we look forward to our next visit to the island.

Marc J. Solari, Crested Butte, CO USA VRBO #17095, Flipkey #272368

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runswithelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
0.0 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
935 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andros Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andros Beach Club

Property: Andros Beach Club
Address: Private Beach | Kemp's Bay, 3691454, Andros
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private oceanfront property on 4 miles of pristine white sand beach. Enjoy the spectacular ocean view from your king size bed. Bicycles, kayaks, sailboat, snorkeling gear and more included with your room. Excellent swimming right off the beach and snorkeling nearby. We offer scuba diving, fishing, snorkeling, nature tours and more. Enjoy fine dining with our all-inclusive service or try local restaurants and prepare your own meals with our vacation rental option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Andros Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andros Beach Club Hotel Andros
Andros Beach Club Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing