We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Last Minute Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bimini
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bimini Magical Vacation B & B
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you are looking for a Local Bahamian experience this is the place to stay!!! We spent five nights. Doug was an awesome host and our local tour guide. He gave us a lot of great information about the island. He gave us a tour of both south and north Bimini. So we knew where we were going and had an idea of places we wanted to go back to on our own. Home cooked meals every morning and every night. We did go out to dinner twice on our own just because we wanted to. You have to go to the Thirsty Turtle for dinner, fresh fish dinner with salad and potato $10, Don't let the price fool you. its a quick 3 minute golf cart ride. It was not as good as the fresh fish we caught and Doug grilled up two of the nights, It was the best fish I have ever had. The breakfasts were all really good, Herb eggs, blueberry and apple pancakes, and Bimini bread french toast. The ocean is just across the street but the bigger beach with chairs and palapas is just a quick golf cart drive away along with 2 regular pools and an infinity pool all which are free to use. I cant forget about Jammer, She was the best tour guide in training. She was always full of energy and made us smile all the time. Thanks Dougie for the great time and next time we come to Bimini there is no other place we would stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff4780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Hog Haven with a few friends. We all had a great time, and were amazed by what a great host we had. You cannot go erong with this place, and with Doug. Worth every dollar, and many more. I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Doug is an amazing host. Extremely helpful, full of good advices. We had a fantastic time with him. Perfect place for those who want holidays with a 'local touch'. We went swimming with dolphins, fishing for 'conchs', drinking with locals ;) We also enjoyed delicious homemade food everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My dad and I just got back from a week at Dougie's B&B we were so happy we stayed there! About 1 hour after touring the B&B Doug asked us if we wanted to go on a boat ride to check on fish, we threw on shorts and were in the Whaler in the bluest water after about a 20 minute ride we were snorkeling and spotting tons of fish, we didn't take any because he already had plenty of Hog Fish to eat tonight, supper was out of this WORLD!! It didn't stop there, next morning Lobsters and eggs!! He hooked us up with his friends Walt (Walt is well known on the islands) Don and son J.P. and they were the best tour guides and took us to North Bimini and to the Casino and they were just the nicest people, we went back to North Bimini 2 more times with them, Doug took us fishing in his 52 foot boat and we caught lots of fish for more suppers with Stone Crabs, Pork roasts with bacon, steaks and conch salad, I could go on and on, thank you so much Dougie your the best host on the planet!! My Dad is so HAPPY!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarkiesvikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoghaven, Guest Relations Manager at Bimini Magical Vacation B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thanks Guys!!! D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Accomodations exactly as imagined/ expected. Doug was a wonderful host and it was a great family trip. We were sent to all the best beaches and fishing spots. Kids loved the golf cart and we loved the amazing cooking!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FootlooseFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Kelly and I just spent a "magical" 5 days in South Bimini over the Memorial Day weekend. Dougie's B&B was recommended to us by our good friend Jillian and I can say without any reservation that I would stay with Dougie on any future trips to Bimini.

For first-timers on the island, Dougie is the best island guide/host you could ask for. He is indeed a fixture in the culture of the island in addition to being an excellent Goombay chef. The meals were all included and prepared with freshly caught Hogfish, conch and other delights. Also, the famous apple pancakes alone are worth the trip to Bimini!

We stayed in the top floor bedroom which is really like having your own apartment with a full bedroom, bathroom and living room (with satellite television). All the rooms are clean and well-stocked with everything you'll need. The 360 degree views are incredible and for those not scared of heights, there is a rooftop observation deck that is worth the climb up the ladder.

Doug was our guide whenever we needed one and then provided his golf cart any time we needed if for our solo excursions. Doug also took us out on his boat for snorkeling, exploring, and watching the evening sunsets. He even negotiated our dive trips with the local dive shop so that didn't miss out on any dive opportunities.

If you are unsure about Bimini, book a trip and stay with Dougie and you will be taken care of. The Bimini natives are extremely friendly and certainly love to have a good time. There is plenty of opportunity to party with the locals and the other visitors and the beach club bar...but be careful, it can get a little wild late at night!

Room Tip: The best room is definitely the suite at the top of the house. It has the best views and the most r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oudiveboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We are from Ft. Lauderdale and we have the best time crossing for the weekend. We stay at Dougie B&B with great Seafood that we catch ourselves for Dinner. We get free dockage,Ocean View rooms and Golf Cart with our stay. Bimini is a Quite Island but we really enjoy the Beach Club Sports Bar at the end of the street from the B&B. There are 3 Great pools and 2 Beaches within walking distance. Allways interesing when the Local Natives stop by for a cocktail or Tall Tail and help with Dinner.Traveling to Bimini for the last 40 Years I have finely found one of the Bahamas Best keep Secrets Captain Walt

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bimini hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
1.9 mi away
Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina
3.9 mi away
Resorts World Bimini
Resorts World Bimini
#4 of 6 in Bimini
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimini Magical Vacation B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimini Magical Vacation B & B

Address: 143 Hoghaven Drive, 33030, Bimini
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Bimini
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bimini
Price Range: £114 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Dinners, Golf Cart & Snorkeling (One Day) Amenities Priceless! Bimini Magical Vacation is a B&B on a Deep Water canal with an Ocean View. We have a Goombay Chef that includes Dinner with your stay. Golf Cart & 13 Whaler Skiff is included. Cost $175 ($225 Apr-Sept) Per Couple ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bimini Magical Vacation B & B Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing