We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No quality for the high price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bimini Sands Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bimini
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Beds are cheap and squeek. No cable TV, charged a resort fee on top of the $400 a night hotel fee, charged an additional fee for using the water to take a shower. There are many different places to go in the Bahamas, this place was exceptionally disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank flagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Over the years our family have frequented Bimini and our experiences at Bimini Sands have been increasingly distressing. Office management have treated us and our guests with a rude manner, for no reason, staff have an uncanny ability to not hear our requests for assistance and after being warned by others we did indeed find issues on our credit card upon returning from travel.

Room Tip: The units on the beach have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LocoBoata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at Bimini Sands twice and had a great time. Bimini Sands is located on S. Bimini and is a really quick ride from the airport. The complex is clean and well kept. There are still parts under construction so some of the vegetation is not as mature as we would have liked. The sun is hot and there wasn’t much shade to be under.One could expect this to change in a few years since there seemed to be so many new trees and plants being planted in the area. We didn’t hear any construction noise when we were there. It seemed that most of it was being done indoors.

As mentioned in other reviews, the units are individually owned so accommodations can vary. I don’t recall the unit number we stayed in the first time but our second trip, we stayed in unit 7H which is one of the larger unit they have there (two bedroom with a loft). We absolutely enjoyed staying in 7H because it had all the things we needed!! The kitchen was stocked with all the basics and then some. There was nothing really high-end about it but we didn't find ourselves thinking things were missing. We also liked that there were plenty of dishes, cups and silverware so we didn't have to constantly run the dishwasher. Since this was our second trip, we had an idea of what food to bring. Food can be very challenging on the island so we brought some quick cook food items to eat (to cut down on food costs) which really helped.

We liked that 7H had multiple areas to sleep. Besides the master bedroom, there were twin beds in one of the room plus it had multiple pullout couches and even a small cot in other areas. We could spread out and everyone have their own space without having to sleep in the same beds with each other.

It rained multiple times when we were there but it wasn’t so bad because 7H had cable with multiple movie channels. We did not have to pay any extra for the movie channels or cable which was really nice. This is so much better than being ‘nickel & dimed’ for pay-per-view movies. Our first unit didn’t have cable which left us staring at each other the one time it did rain. We also had new Netflix movies as backup which worked great in the loft area. The living room also had a DVD player w/ a flat screen TV. Additionally, there were books, games and multiple decks of cards in the cabinet that kept us entertained when we couldn’t be outdoors.

We also liked the unit because it had ocean (side) view from the kitchen balcony and marina view from the living room. Looking out from the couch, we could see all the boats come in and out. The unit itself is very close to the beach but a little far from the pool / snack shop / front office. We felt we were so close to the ocean without having to pay ocean front prices. We were told they will be building an infinity pool next to the building we stayed in which I guess would make things even better.

The only negative thing I would say is that the bed linens for the pull out couches were stacked in a closet. We had to sort through and find which linens and pillows to use ourselves. It seemed a little disorganized but we didn’t care since we weren’t there for the sheets! ;)

The marina is really nice. We liked that we could walk down near the boats and see lots of fish and marine life right there without having to go into the water. We saw sharks, stingrays and a ton of tropical fish. Each time we went, we saw something different.

Overall, I highly recommend the complex and specifically, the unit we stayed in. We really enjoyed going to Bimini because it is so laid back and relaxing. There are a lot of recommendations from other reviews of what to do and see when in Bimini. Hopefully below are a few others things that were not mentioned before.

Tips:

If you need to buy some food, go to N. Bimini. There is a decent small grocery store just past the WWII memorial in Alice Town going away from the ferry pier (‘Roberts’ or ‘Roberson’ maybe?). In Bimini, it is not about the cost but the selection which I think this store has (food on the island expensive no matter where you go).

If you are so inclined to pack some food, consider 'quick mix' type items where you only need to add water (or one additional item like butter/oil). Also consider bringing your own coffee since it is not provided by Bimini Sands. Our 7H unit had baking dishes so we made muffin breads & coffee for everyone. Sitting on the balcony and looking out into the Marina was a great way to enjoy coffee and cakes!

If you have room for a small cooler bag, I would bring it. You can buy local Kalik beer from a liquor store in N. Bimini 3 for $4.99. This is the cheapest we found and ‘open container law’ seems to be non-existent. The other stores we found sell beers for $3-$6 each. Hard liquor also seemed cheaper than the States but wine is very expensive.

Take the pontoon boat sunset tour ride offered by Bimini Sands. It’s a good way to see the island from the water - it can be BYOB as long as you take back your trash.

If you go to N. Bimini, plan for a day trip and rent a golf cart. You can explore the island and see how the local folks live. It also made it easy for us to pick up supplies and see the entire island.
Bring stuff like sunscreen and bug spray with you. These items seemed especially expensive and we seemed to go through a lot of it.

Bring some money with you. Most stores only accept cash but they will accept US Dollars too. The only ATM we saw naturally dispenses Bahamian money. We went to the ATM once on N. Bimini because of all the places that only accepted cash. In the end, we asked one of the stores if they would exchange Bahamian money for US dollars and they were willing to as much as they had in their registrar. It’s a one-to-one exchange so it didn’t seem like a big deal.

Bring your own BEACH TOWELS! Bimini Sands does not provide them nor did either of the units we rented. The bath towels in the unit were enough to take a shower but definitely not something for the beach or pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 7H which was great. It's very spacious and had everything we needed. It also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We just came back from a week-long vacation at Bimini Sands. It was absolutely wonderful!

If you can, request to stay in a condo in building 21. It is on the beach, but also on the same side of the marina as the store and restaurant. I took tons of pictures just from the condo of the beach. It was so nice to enjoy coffee on the patio, or go for a dip just outside your door!

Most days we did at least one activity - snorkeling, hiking the nature trail, exploring on the north Island, feeding sharks, etc. I would come back to the resort, buy a beer from the store, and enjoy the afternoon sun and sunset from the patio.

Highlights from the trip included: beautiful condo, Recreation & Activities staff (Grant and Katie are both knowledgeable and fun!), snorkeling with so many fish in clear waters, Beach Club food, and perfect weather.

The only downside of our trip was the sand flies. We got bit up pretty badly one evening (that's when they're the worst). I would suggest bringing Skin So Soft to keep them away.

I would happily book another vacation with Bimini Sands!

Room Tip: Condos in building 21 are on the beach and the right side of the marina, closer to the office, store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was my second trip to Bimini, and my second time staying at the Bimini Sands, and I enjoyed the trip even more this time around than last time. Our room was great - basically a 1 bedroom apartment with walkout patio directly to the beach. Our view should have been a postcard. The food at the three restaurants we tried on site (Petite Conch, Bimini Beach Club, and The Sand Bar) was all really good. The conch fritters are easily my favorite, and I was surprised at how good the pizza was at the Sand Bar.

We used the Activities Office for 3 separate excursions, all of which were simply amazing. Grant and Katie made for great tour guides, both together and separately on our various activities. We did the shark feeding and the snorkeling at the Sapona, both of which we did last time. This time we also did a private charter snorkeling excursion and were fortunate enough to get to swim with spotted dolphins. It was amazing.

But you don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun. I spent an almost embarrassing amount of time just walking around the marina and looking at the fish there. It's like a giant aquarium. Nurse sharks, eagle and sting rays, parrot fish, crabs, urchins and tons of other stuff can be seen in the marina. Overall, it was an all-around great trip and I can't wait to go back for a third time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband was deployed in Afghanistan for six months in late-2011 and early-2012. He became very depressed while there and kept telling me that all he wanted to do when he came home was to escape to a secluded, tropical island. Unbeknownst to him, I planned a trip to the Bahamas on Bimini Island at the Bimini Sands Resort and Marina for him, our two teen-age daughters, and our 3 year-old son. We could not have asked for a more relaxing trip, or a lovelier condominium to accomodate us (#21A which has a panoramic view of the Marina and Ocean). The water on the beach of our condo unit was some of the most beautiful water we have ever seen. Though the island is poor, and food is hard to come by (other than the over-priced restaurants), the Biminite people are kind, and the pace is slow and relaxed. The staff was great. Very helpful and upbeat. It was truly a dream vacation for all of us, and one we will remember fondly forever.

Room Tip: We loved unit 21A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jami398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

..we stayed 9 weeks at bimini sands..

20th of january 2012 to 25th of march 2012.

.and it was an absolute dream.
.a perfect stay. .
.the best months of our life..
the bimini sands crew is the best we ever met in the bahamas..
.from breakfast..lunch. ...to dinner...even the best sushibar in the caribean is located there...we where pampered all day long..
.a clean and wonderful beach directly infront of of our apartement. .
there are also two marinas located on the property of bimini sands..with hotel boats for excursions to the gulfstream, dolphin and shark exploring trips..the grand bahama bank..the street of atlantis etc etc. ..

also a 30 acres wilderness park with palmtrees and all lokal trees of the bahamas, orchidees, freshwater wells, animals, etc etc. called " nature trail "...the one and only in the bahamas...while we where in bimini sands, 2 filmcrews, one from italy and one from national geographic came in to bimini sands hotel and the crews shared every evening the hd-movies of the days with the hotelguests, so that i could also see the underwater world around bimini, what i never could do on my own while a bad ear...
..there is also a professional dolphin- tourboat stationed in one of the bimini sands marinas called"indigo" and the owner of this ship is geoffrey a nice american diver with his 5 person crew..we will do a trip with him next year from bimini sands to see sharks, manatees,turtles,mantarays etc..we cannot wait to come back to bimini sands in 2013.
thanks a lot to the cooneys, the owner family of bimini sands...it was wonderful..
yours dd family..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grafvonbruehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bimini
3.2 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Resorts World Bimini
Resorts World Bimini
#4 of 6 in Bimini
470 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bimini Sands Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimini Sands Resort and Marina

Address: Alice Town, 33418, Bimini
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Bimini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bimini
Price Range: £177 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the other side of Bimini! Bimini Sands Just 50 miles from Florida, Bimini Sands is a boater's paradise! Our deep water marina and beach front condos are perfect for a tropical getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bimini Sands Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bimini Sands Resort And Marina Hotel Bimini
Bimini Sands Resort And Marina Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing