We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just back from FBV. The resort is in the middle of an amazing stretch of white sand beach, perhaps a mile long. It was amazing to us that at any given time there might be a dozen people at the most on the whole stretch of beach. The setting is amazing including unbelievable sunsets right over the beach. The resort offers, kayaks and various other small water craft to explore the area including a unique river set in mangroves. The snorkeling on either side of the beach is surprisingly good, but you can also take excursions to reefs. Bicycles are available to explore the inland area, which we very much enjoyed.

The resort is a bit rustic with a main lodge of stone and stone cabins. Not luxurious but has a lot of charm and it lacked nothing for us. We stayed in Coral cabin which is very small, but we didn't feel we needed it to be bigger. We were literally on the beach.

We have never been at a place where all the guests were so friendly. Everyone was relaxed and having a good time. Guests congregated in the bar area or by the nightly bonfire. But the socializing was mixed with privacy. Most guests dine with their own group.

The staff was eager to please and friendly, especially the younger generation. They are not as attuned to assisting with activities off the resort but the information was available. There is not much else to see on the rest of the island but an excursion is worthwhile.

The food is buffet style and not spectacular but certainly adequate. We certainly didn't mind the fact that we spent way less on food than in a typical resort. This place is all about enjoying the the incredible setting it is in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    34
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
143
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My family and I just got back from a great stay at FBV. It was our first time and our first trip to the Out Islands. We will be back! The beach is probably the most beautiful one I have been to, ever. Calm, clear blue water. Great kayaking trips up the creek chasing turtles and baby nurse sharks or paddling out to snorkeling around small islands in the bay (with a swim through cave). Gorgeous sunsets while meeting new friends around the well stocked, self-serve bar. Great buffet dinners right on the water and more relaxing around the evening beach fire.
The kids (13 & 6) had a blast. The beach is great for swimming and exploring. The whole area is very safe. The atmosphere is like a big family reunion, but there are no chores for you to do! If you go, try to book some 1/2 day excursions before you arrive. We were able to do everything we wanted but things seemed to fall in place at the last minute. We would have worried less if the excursions were setup in advance. You will want at least 1/2 day at FBV everyday, so nothing to long off site. We spent several days just lounging around at FBV and those days were so nice.
Everything is pricey on the island, FBV included. You can save some decent money by making your own breakfast and lunch at your house. Just make a quick trip to the local store when you first arrive and stock up. Dinner at the Clubhouse really can't be beat though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Pros: Excellent, amazing food. The best we had in the Bahamas! Gorgeous beach and water. The place is great to kick back and relax.
Cons: The room we stayed in ended up being quite far from the resort. It needed some work too. The staff was overall great but the lady that greeted us was loud and quite highly strung. Kind of anti-vacation. They had lost our reservation too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boldtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tameron13, Owner at Fernandez Bay Village, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. We're glad that you got to relax and enjoy the food and beach. And we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I searched for over 20 years for our dream vacation spot for ten days in late January-early February. We wanted a small resort on a beautiful beach where my husband could take long walks and I could be in the shade. We wanted wonderful food in a place where we could just relax and unwind. Finally, we found this dream vacation spot at Fernandez Bay Village and have now been there six times. On one trip, we met a couple who were celebrating their 25th visit there!

My husband and I stay in the Royal Palm Cottage, with a wrap-around porch. Whether we are inside or outside, we can see the beautiful ocean and hear the waves. We love the peaceful tranquility there ... no tv, radio, phone, clock in our cottage, though there is a clock, wifi and pay phone in the main building.

My husband takes off his flip-flops when he arrives and goes barefoot until it is time to leave. Dress is very casual, but if you want to dress up, that's fine too.

The food is wonderful! We love the breakfast buffet, the happy hour and its appetizers, and the dinner buffet, and the chef is always happy to accommodate any special dietary needs. There are other dining establishments on the island, but so far, my husband and I have been too content to venture out!

This was our first time using SunAir, which we would like to praise.

Other pluses to FBV include the people, both the staff and the other guests you meet there.

If you're someone who enjoys casinos and big chain hotels, FBV may not be the best choice for you. But if you need to relax or want a wholesome family vacation, FBV can be paradise!

Room Tip: I like the Royal Palm because it is close to the main building, where dining and wifi is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssentialOils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner brought me here for a surprise weekend away and what a lovely surprise it was.
If you want to unwind and forget everything, this is the place for you. Beautiful surrounds, easy going, friendly staff and a breathtaking ocean view. They really look after you at this place. Nothing was too much to ask and we needed nothing more. Don't forget your bug spray and if you're looking for a Tv, wrong resort.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

we just returned from a really great time at fernandez bay village, family of 4 plus mother-in-law ... it was exactly what we'd hoped for. the beach is spectacular, the rooms & villas are perfect, great food, and we had excellent weather. but what makes it "simply wonderful" are the people there. from the minute we got off the plane, we were treated like family. the resort is small enough to get to know everyone. they went out of their way to help make our time there perfect. we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petrvspetrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I don't want to talk this place up too much so I want to start out this review with the negatives--it's not easy getting to Cat Island with just two flights a day on an airline that follows island time (that is, sometimes they leave early, sometimes they leave late). There's only one main road here and the side roads are rocky and bumpy. The nightlife and spa/casino amenities are almost non-existent. No phones or televisions in your room. No places to get kitchy trinkets for home! Pretty awful eh?

So, if you've gotten this far, you'll know those negatives are actually positives. Fernandez Bay Village is quiet, low-key, relaxed and hardly a "resort". It isn't Breezes, it isn't Sandals. If that's your cup of tea, I wouldn't recommend this place at all. If you're looking for quiet, uncomplicated and off the beaten path, you've found your place. FBV is situated on a pristine, beautiful, clean beach with the best sunset views. The beach is quiet without the pumping music and crowds typical of the Nassua/Paradise resorts.

If you want even more privacy, you can kayak to the beaches at the south end of the bay or into the creek where you will literally find not another soul. The kayaks, paddleboards etc are complimentary to use and the staff will recommend the best places for kayaking, exploring, snorkeling or doing nothing. They have fishing and snorkeling excursions and they know the island and it's surrounding waters intimately.

Speaking of the staff, they are absolutely wonderful. The Armbristers are some of the most wonderful hosts I have ever come across. Completely helpful, accommodating, dead social and kind. They set the tone for this relaxing island haven.

The food is amazing and all the meals we had were great. The grouper finger appetizers are to die for. Seriously.

Words are not enough to explain how great this place is. If you're the Atlantis big resort type person, that's great, but this place isn't for you. If you're looking for a place to truly unwind and do nothing, come here. I know we will again, and again........

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeltyLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
1226.1 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Property: Fernandez Bay Village
Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing