We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to be back :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sad to be back :(”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Alissa, Shane, Tony, Tom, Donna, Deborah, Mrs. Pender at the New Bight Airport...Everyone including the other guests we met, made our 1st trip ever to anywhere in the Bahamas just amazing! We are so happy to have stumbled upon Fernandez Bay Village online. We were struggling to find anywhere in the Caribbean that had the laid back, non-tourist-y, low-key, on the beach location we wanted. This fit our bill in every way. This is the Corona commercial brought to life. I heard they also shot a Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue here. This trip was for my birthday and it couldn't have been better. This is a couple-friendly resort as there was only one family with children there the entire week. Whether we were lounging inside or on the beach, kayaking out to the cays to snorkel or up the river to snorkel through mangroves to the blue hole or anywhere we wanted to go we enjoyed every bit of it. We enjoyed Fernandez Bay so much we didn't visit anywhere else on the island except the grocery store & the beaches we kayaked to. We are very sad to be back home. The main tip for a visit here is to pack VERY light to make sure your luggage gets there the same day you do (weight limits on the small planes), but definitely bring a jacket if you're traveling early or late in the season as the trade winds are blowing. If you need a blowdryer, bring one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2l82w8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    34
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
143
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had four great days at FBV, despite a strong cold front that roared through bringing rain and wind. The beach is lovely, and the cottages and villas are steps away from the water. The cottages are beautiful, clean and comfortable. Cat Island is quiet, laid back and (thankfully) undeveloped - a real gem. Everyone made us feel welcome, both at FBV and on the island. Donna, in particular, was a treasure trove of knowledge and made everything happen for us. We thought the food was OK, but not great (we're both vegetarian) - you really need to make a trip to the Bluebird for an authentic Bahamian meal. FBV is not cheap, but we felt it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Royal Palm Cottage is slightly larger and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Paradise found. This resort is five star all the way. The location is breath taking. Remote and secluded and very low key. Cottages are steps from the water. Try Shane's Shack it has a wonderful porch and is 10 feet from the water. Pam, Tony and Shane are incredible hosts. So welcoming, helpful and fun! Donna and Alisha are so sweet too and help you with ANYTHING you may need. If you are looking for a romantic getaway to unplug from the world this is it! Food is beyond good, no need to go anywhere else! The kayaks and paddle boards are always available to take into the mangroves in the creek or out to the cays for snorkeling. Bikes are great to take a ride to the market and get some supplies and a few Kaliks. Rent a car and explore the island. People are so friendly and the island is easily seen in one day. Plenty of beautiful beaches to see sun rise or sun set. Don't miss the Hermitage! I have traveled the world and this resort is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Can't wait to go again!!!!

Room Tip: Shane's Shack - 10 feet from water, with a great porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingwithboysNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just back from FBV. The resort is in the middle of an amazing stretch of white sand beach, perhaps a mile long. It was amazing to us that at any given time there might be a dozen people at the most on the whole stretch of beach. The setting is amazing including unbelievable sunsets right over the beach. The resort offers, kayaks and various other small water craft to explore the area including a unique river set in mangroves. The snorkeling on either side of the beach is surprisingly good, but you can also take excursions to reefs. Bicycles are available to explore the inland area, which we very much enjoyed.

The resort is a bit rustic with a main lodge of stone and stone cabins. Not luxurious but has a lot of charm and it lacked nothing for us. We stayed in Coral cabin which is very small, but we didn't feel we needed it to be bigger. We were literally on the beach.

We have never been at a place where all the guests were so friendly. Everyone was relaxed and having a good time. Guests congregated in the bar area or by the nightly bonfire. But the socializing was mixed with privacy. Most guests dine with their own group.

The staff was eager to please and friendly, especially the younger generation. They are not as attuned to assisting with activities off the resort but the information was available. There is not much else to see on the rest of the island but an excursion is worthwhile.

The food is buffet style and not spectacular but certainly adequate. We certainly didn't mind the fact that we spent way less on food than in a typical resort. This place is all about enjoying the the incredible setting it is in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My family and I just got back from a great stay at FBV. It was our first time and our first trip to the Out Islands. We will be back! The beach is probably the most beautiful one I have been to, ever. Calm, clear blue water. Great kayaking trips up the creek chasing turtles and baby nurse sharks or paddling out to snorkeling around small islands in the bay (with a swim through cave). Gorgeous sunsets while meeting new friends around the well stocked, self-serve bar. Great buffet dinners right on the water and more relaxing around the evening beach fire.
The kids (13 & 6) had a blast. The beach is great for swimming and exploring. The whole area is very safe. The atmosphere is like a big family reunion, but there are no chores for you to do! If you go, try to book some 1/2 day excursions before you arrive. We were able to do everything we wanted but things seemed to fall in place at the last minute. We would have worried less if the excursions were setup in advance. You will want at least 1/2 day at FBV everyday, so nothing to long off site. We spent several days just lounging around at FBV and those days were so nice.
Everything is pricey on the island, FBV included. You can save some decent money by making your own breakfast and lunch at your house. Just make a quick trip to the local store when you first arrive and stock up. Dinner at the Clubhouse really can't be beat though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Pros: Excellent, amazing food. The best we had in the Bahamas! Gorgeous beach and water. The place is great to kick back and relax.
Cons: The room we stayed in ended up being quite far from the resort. It needed some work too. The staff was overall great but the lady that greeted us was loud and quite highly strung. Kind of anti-vacation. They had lost our reservation too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boldtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tameron13, Owner at Fernandez Bay Village, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. We're glad that you got to relax and enjoy the food and beach. And we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I searched for over 20 years for our dream vacation spot for ten days in late January-early February. We wanted a small resort on a beautiful beach where my husband could take long walks and I could be in the shade. We wanted wonderful food in a place where we could just relax and unwind. Finally, we found this dream vacation spot at Fernandez Bay Village and have now been there six times. On one trip, we met a couple who were celebrating their 25th visit there!

My husband and I stay in the Royal Palm Cottage, with a wrap-around porch. Whether we are inside or outside, we can see the beautiful ocean and hear the waves. We love the peaceful tranquility there ... no tv, radio, phone, clock in our cottage, though there is a clock, wifi and pay phone in the main building.

My husband takes off his flip-flops when he arrives and goes barefoot until it is time to leave. Dress is very casual, but if you want to dress up, that's fine too.

The food is wonderful! We love the breakfast buffet, the happy hour and its appetizers, and the dinner buffet, and the chef is always happy to accommodate any special dietary needs. There are other dining establishments on the island, but so far, my husband and I have been too content to venture out!

This was our first time using SunAir, which we would like to praise.

Other pluses to FBV include the people, both the staff and the other guests you meet there.

If you're someone who enjoys casinos and big chain hotels, FBV may not be the best choice for you. But if you need to relax or want a wholesome family vacation, FBV can be paradise!

Room Tip: I like the Royal Palm because it is close to the main building, where dining and wifi is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssentialOils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
1226.1 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Property: Fernandez Bay Village
Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing