We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FBV is Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have to say a massive thank you to all of the staff here. Firstly Kelly, she is great and made our stay a pleasure. As did the rest of the team, it’s like a family affair. Pam is a great manager who stops by to check everything is going great with your stay, a nice touch. Also Donna and Mark are so chilled that they make is a really relaxing trip, Donna is bubbly and i like that jokey personal feel where she is able to help and Mark is laid back and helpful.

The accommodation is very comfortable. All of them right on the Beach. We very lucky to stay in pinte house right at the end of the bay. It has a hammock, the beach is fantastic and the waters are turquoise. You can use the kayak’s and snorkel gear free of charge and there are a couple of mini rock/islands that your can kayak to do dome snorkelling which was pretty cool.
The breakfast and dinner are buffets so you can choose what you fancy and the tiki honour bar is very well stocked and has great views. A special shout out to the music man who kept our daughter entertained with her dancing for a good couple of hours everyday.

Cat Island is very chilled, so if you are looking for relaxation with nothing to do be eat, sleep ad beach around then this is your place

Room Tip: Pointe House, end of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

So glad we found you!. Not knowing we would end up on Cat Island this week as we ended our sailing trip in the Bahamas - we had not explored any hotels as possibilities - so on the way to the airport we turned in to Fernandez Bay for a quick tour. Thank you Lord is all I can say! A piece of heaven and we cannot wait to go back to both kick-off and end our sailing adventures next year. FBV is an exquisite piece of paradise! Tucked away in a perfect cove for sunning, swimming and endless views. Rooms were wonderfully decorated and spacious (very clean). The best bathrooms - enclosed "outdoor shower" was so fun. Private verandas for each bungalo facing the beach. Food was fabulous and the staff ultra friendly!!! 10 STARS! No crowds here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a trip to FBV.Since touching town back home, we have often felt our minds wandering back to this little slice of heaven on Cat Island.
We had read many reviews and found that the resort definitely met up to our already high expectations. We stayed in Hummingbird Cottage and we loved the location. We spent a lot of time on the glorious beach outfront and it is pristine. When we weren't out on the beach, we snorkeled everyday, kayaked, went paddleboarding and biking, too. Everything was easy to arrange at this no-hassle resort. We snorkeled at the little lump of limestone outfront and were impressed by the clarity of the water. We are divers and have snorkeled a lot and this water is pretty amazing. The fish life was good, too. We also snorkeled from the boat a few times and went off either end of the beach and in the mangroves. Each spot had something to offer.
We rode our bikes for sunrise at the Hermitage which was a beautiful experience. Otherwise, we stayed put and were very happy about that as this crescent of sand is pretty special.
We had wonderful meals at the clubhouse. There was plenty of delicious food and great desserts, too. We loved the opportunity to visit with other guests at the bar.
The staff was super accomodating and we are already dreaming of a return to FBV

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Whether it's a quick 4 day getaway, spring break or christmas holidays with the kids - we love Fernandez Bay. Every place we have stayed in ( and there have been many) were perfect vacation home away from homes. Our favorite is Beach House - great location on the beach and close to the Clubhouse. The food is excellent - one of our favorites is the grouper ceasar salad - yum! So many choices for the dinner buffet - and the best desserts!
But what really makes this place special - besides the surreal location is the owners and the staff.
Our girls have grown up with the resort manager Donna - she is worth her weight in gold and then some. No bug bites, sun burn or any kind of ill goes past her notice. Pam and Tony and their family treat you like family. Nothing is too much trouble - quick trips to town for food or beverages, car rentals to tour the island. Fishing trips, paddle boards, kayaking up the creek. Water sports when Shane is around, snorkeling trips. All can be arranged with one word to Donna or the staff. Every time I come I feel like we are coming back home. This place is not for everyone - and that's why we like it so much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKNYker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had one of the best trips of my life in February when i visited Fernandez Bay. 4 Girls and myself went for Birthday Celebrations and it was a blast. the food was great, service and hospitality by the resort managers was amazing from Airport pickup to drop off... the place was clean, beautiful and relaxing! cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222mfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our first trip to Fernandez Bay Village was everything we hoped it would be and more - such a perfect, relaxing Spring Break trip for our family!!

The location on the bay is amazing - that crystal clear, gorgeous turquoise water you dream of, very gentle and relaxing. Better than any pool. So kid friendly. Completely calm or gentle waves - perfect for floating, s'up boarding and the sea kayaks you can borrow any time. There is a saltwater creek/mangroves you can explore that is supposed to be full of sea life - we checked it out but did not stay too long. Next time we'll plan to spend more time exploring, as it is lovely and we heard many guest stories that they saw turtles, sharks, rays, fish, etc.

The clubhouse is the central point and the real personality of the place. We had breakfast and dinner there each day. Everyone staying joins for happy hour before dinner - kids get together to play and everyone shares their stories of the day. It's very laid back and relaxing. As others have mentioned - you can feel totally comfortable to be as social or not as you feel that day.

The landscape around the clubhouse and villas is simply beautiful - pines, palms, and a variety of greenery and flowers along with occasional hammocks and wood swings make stunning backdrops for your photos.

We stayed in Sand Dollar house - very cute. As described it IS perfect for kids - but perhaps older ones (12+?). The main part of the house with the loft beds is separate and across from the patio from the master. Our young son (7) was not comfortable sleeping that "apart" from us and neither was I. So, the sleeping arrangements were...cozy.... with all 3 of us in the Master most nights. But, everyone was so exhausted after the fabulous days that it didn't matter. Our weather was perfect every day, we were hardly ever in the house. We did spend several of the nights star gazing on the patio.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful - with any needs or questions about how best to get around, etc.

The food was very good - tasty, satisfying, family-friendly...with at least one "special treat" - like lobster, conch, grilled tuna, etc. and dessert. We really felt no need to leave for meals.

One day, we explored the South side - including hiking up to The Hermitage which I definitely recommend for the history and view. We drove around the south side to the end at Hawk's Nest and had a very tasty lunch there (conch tacos - so so good!). There is not a lot to see and the few places recommended to us (Bluebird for lunch?) did not look open. Another couple told us they did a tour and learned a lot - so that might be worth while. We'll explore the North side next time - there seemed to be more there. But I think the point of Cat Island, and certainly Fernandez Bay is to relax and not have a big agenda.

We loved out trip and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PooshkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I have been on at least 8 different trips to the Carribean/Mexico. We have enjoyed every trip. But Fernandez Bay on remote Cat Island takes the cake! We were looking for a relaxed, not crowded, quiet place directly on the beach, and boy did we ever find it! The owners, Pam and Tony, are nice as can be, and EXTREMELY helpful/approachable if you have any questions. There are so few people on the resort, (it being fairly small, but seemingly always booked up), you tend to get to know one another, at least by sight. However, you can choose to interact as much, (or as little!), with the other guests as you want.
The food was excellent! Every morning there was a HUGE buffet selection of delicious breakfast choices, and in the evening an even BETTER buffet dinner! We're talking all you can eat gourmet 5 course dishes including dessert, all for a very reasonable price! We only ate off the resort once or twice, which is unusual for us as we like to try the local cuisine. There just aren't a lot of dining out options on Cat Island, and many restaurants are simply too far away to get to easily. That being said, while the places we went off-resort were good, the BEST food was at Fernandez Bay.
The water in the bay was relatively calm most days. Some days were gusty, and the water was a little cold to get in sometimes, but all in all, one of the best beaches I have ever been to. You can use the kayaks and bikes on the resort for free! We spent 9 days biking, swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, (bring your own gear, they don't have any), and just generally lazing around the beach. PERFECT!

Room Tip: No rooms have TV or phones. You can only get Wifi at the clubhouse. Some cottages are very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carribeanqueen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
74 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
169 reviews
27.7 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
13.4 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: £179 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing