We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful isolated bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful isolated bay”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Loved walking out our bedroom door onto the beach every day. The rooms are kept cool with a/c and a strong fan when needed but we liked to leave the door open and keep the screen closed to let in the breeze and ocean sounds. November was a GREAT time to go! It was never too hot but still warm enough in the sun to swim. The bathrooms are open air at the top so sometimes frogs will get it, but that didn't happen to us. The staff is very friendly and happy. It is a place for relaxing and laying low. You can go on a bike ride, and there are a few places to swim or kayak to and see wildlife. The food is pretty good and the dining space is really great with an open-air bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach house with another couple friend of ours. It's super close to the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewjamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    35
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at FBV last week. Couldn't have picked a better, more beautiful, more friendly destination. We highly recommend. Everyone on the island and at FBV were super-friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, this is the place. That said, there are active things to do - fishing, hiking, biking, snorkeling, kayaking, sight-seeing - as well. But the picturesque views and the clear-blue water are so ideally conducive to sitting on the beach and chilling out.

Jason and Donna at FBV are first-class hosts - so helpful, so friendly. The owners, Tony and Pam, are great too. This place is a gem!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is the perfect place to just unplug. No TVs, no phones, very limited internet (we did not use it). The water is amazing!! The bay is very protected. We saw sea turtles, baby sharks, and sting rays at the creek entrance. Kayaking, paddle boarding and snorkeling are available (no fee). I felt very safe. We didn't even lock our cottage door. Outdoor bathrooms seemed strange at first, but the became really neat quickly. Awesome place! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJB193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Me and my husbend visited FBV last year and the place took our breath away. Escaping from crowds of New York City, we felt like the last people on earth. Its so relaxing and quiet, being there you just want to live forever. Fantastic location, crystal clear turquoise water and pink sandy beach. We stayed at The Beach House just a few steps from the ocean. You should see the stars at night, Its like different dimention. Mornings were best for snorkeling, kayaking, board padding, biking and exploring the island and hot afternoons just relax on the beach with a pinacolada.

The food was great especially the local seafood ( exept the deep fried) and the coconuts droping around from the palms( nice afternoon snack). Tony, Pam and all FB staff thanks for the great visit and see you soon again.

BTW- take a fly and insect repellend when you are on the island, they will eat you alive if you dont.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family has visited the Bahamas for more than 35 years and we thought those idyllic places had disappeared--until we found Cat Island and Fernandez Bay. Miles of beautiful beaches--all to ourselves. Like the islands we visited in the past, that slower pace, no locks on the doors, no telephones, no newspapers, but now with the convenience of cell phone coverage.
We stayed in Royal Palms Cottage, just a few steps from the beach or the club house. The cottage has a wrap around, covered porch with comfy chairs and a hammock. Just those few steps from the front door await two lounge chairs under a thatched roof umbrella on the beach.
Food is excellent, even though served buffet style, which we usually shy away from. Breakfast was a large array of fresh fruits, pastries, meats, and eggs, with the option of ordering cooked to order omelets,etc. We skipped lunch each day but wouldn't dream of skipping dinner. For that meal, there was always a seafood entree and either pork, chicken, or beef. Since we are seafood lovers, we always opted for the delicious seafood. I can't remember having lobster (prepared 3 different ways) three times in one week. Happy hour around the thatched roof outdoor honor bar begins around 7ish with local entertainment. Wonderful appetizers are served a bit later and then dinner in your choice of the airy dining room or outside overlooking the Caribbean.
Donna, at the front desk, is a dream. Want a rental car? She'll arrange it. Need directions to anything? She has them. Want a special celebration dinner? She can arrange it.
Fernandez Bay is in the perfect location on Cat Island. We rented a car for a couple of days and were able to see the entire island in that time. Don't worry about traffic, there's only one traffic roundabout. It is a fascinating island to explore and with such friendly people, there's no worry about getting lost.
Fernandez Bay has kayaks, snorkeling gear, and boats available for those who want to spend time in water adventures.
If you need a break from the busyness of a stressful lifestyle, Fernandez Bay Village is your answer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As soon as we walked into the main "lobby" we were greeted with warm smiles and firm handshakes (not to mention a cold beer) from both Mr. & Mrs. Armbrister, as they welcomed us to their lovely resort.

When we first started looking for places to stay for our honeymoon, we wanted a place that was quiet, provided adventure, authentic and had charm. Fernandez Bay provided us with all of that. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and will do whatever it needs to make sure you are pleased. The food was tremendous, the honor bar was fully stocked, and the views of the water never got old.

We stayed at the Royal Palm cottage, steps to the water, sand as soon as you walk out of your door, and a view of the sea that seems to always relax you. The Royal Palm provided us a sanctuary that gave us plenty of privacy throughout our stay.

We highly recommend paddle boarding, kayaking to the blue hole and through the mangroves, snorkeling, riding your bike to Como Hill, taking the private Eco-Tour with Mark, visiting the town, biking to the "Pink Sand" beaches and sipping on many different rum concoctions.

My wife and I can't say enough about our stay there. A special thank you to the wonderful kitchen staff, Donna, Mark, & Mr. and Mrs. Armbrister. You all made our honeymoon perfect and we will cherish the memories you all helped to create.

We are already planning another trip down to stay at one of the houses Fernandez Bay offers with out family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from my 7th trip to Fernandez Bay and loved it as always. I refer to it as "barefoot elegance". No plush carpets or velvet but you are right on the sand and steps away from the most perfectly colored sea you've ever seen. There is an "honor system" bar and dinners are buffet style, eaten on an open air patio within steps of the water. There is plenty to do if you want that or you can just luxuriate in the peace and enjoy good food and great environment. Oh, by the way, you almost never see other people on "your" beach - which is just the way I love it! Do give it a try....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wao25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
165 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
13.4 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Property: Fernandez Bay Village
Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing