We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pristine, secluded, friendly, paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A pristine, secluded, friendly, paradise!”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We're just back from the Fernandez Bay Village on Cat Island and can't wait to go back again. The resort is located at the center of a gorgeous bay, with quaint stone and white washed cottages, right at the edge of the beach - tumble out your door right into the sand. This is a very romantic spot with no electronics to distract you from long walks on the beach and exploring the shore by kayak. The food was outstanding and we loved gathering around the honor bar for conversation with other guests. The nightly bonfires on the beach were another highlight. Best of all the folks at Fernandez Bay resort were genuinely friendly, we will return as much for the people as for the stunning setting. This is resort makes you feel like your in your own private beachfront paradise!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston-Travel-Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    35
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
145
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

a little island of the bahamas off eluthera..cat island is a little bit of the robinson carusoe we are all looking for. fernandez bay, on a beautiful crescent isolated beach with picture perfect vistas is the quintessential getaway where the beach is practically your own. the beach front house we stayed in was 2 bedrooms with a large living room inbetween was literally steps from the water. we were greeted by donna, the resident throw back manager who was more 1970 maui than 2009 bahamas. what a great lady. the room was great with a/c and clg fans. there is no need for anything but a carryon when you go to fernandez bay. the buffet breakfasts and dinners are accompanied by anything else you want. we ate steak and the most delicios lobster under the stars in our shorts without shoes. what a laid back place. we were actually involved in a wedding and i had the pleasure to gave away the bride. as wth any thing or place that is so over the top there was one drawback. SANDFLEAS. i was bitten 500 times[and they itch] my wife was not bitten once so we have decided to sell her blood as a precaution. go here, its great. we have been to appox. 25 different islands from bermuda south to the grenadines..go to cat while it is still the wild place you are looking for.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We have just returned from our honeymoon, where we spent 7 nights at Fernandez Bay Village. This place is amazing...there are no other words for it!
From the minute that we arrived in what has to be the smallest airport ever (on Cat Island), we were greeted by someone sent to collect us and only five minutes in the car ‘til we were there.
On arriving we met Donna, who is so helpful and friendly. She was available the whole week for any questions or anything we needed and if she wasn’t available then any of the staff were more than willing and able to help out.
We were booked into Shane Shack and loved staying there. It's right on the beach with a 180 degree view from the balcony and you can see a lot of the beach from inside the room too. The photos and film on their website really don’t do the room or the resort justice…it’s breathtaking being there.
The meals are absolutely delicious and there is so much to do. We spent most of our time lazing around the beach but made sure to fit in some snorkeling and a tour to the Hermitage. We snorkeled at the edge of the resort and saw some amazing fish but we heard that if you went a bit further then you were able to see even more impressive fish.
The Tiki Bar is an honesty bar so there is no barman (or woman) so you just help yourself to whatever you fancy to drink and record it for your bill later. It really adds to the atmosphere as everyone sits around it in the evening chatting well into the late hours of the night.
The people are so friendly here and the surroundings are amazing! I would definitely recommend this resort...5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloTooner&Edinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Tucked away on an island my wife and I had never heard of until good friends of ours introduced us to Cat Island and especially Fernandez Bay Village is this glorious spot for total and complete relaxation and "chill out!" If you are seeking peace, quiet, beautiful warm clear water, soft sand, great food, warm and friendly staff and the hospitality of a family owned and operated resort - this is the place. Tony and his team make for the most perfect get-away-from-it-all. In a matter of hours we felt the stress just wash out of us. The goal now is to keep it that way until our next visit, and the next and the next. The private outdoor shower for each cottage or villa are an experience everyone should have sometime in their life. Early morning coffee (6am) is always accompanied by lots of laughter coming out of the kitchen from Nancy andthe staff as they get warmed up for the day ahead. Have only been back a day and miss it already.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I visited Fernandez bay for our honeymoon in May, and we do not have enough good words for the place and people. All of the pictures cannot do it justice--the island is so surreal and beautiful. First of all, the staff was absolutely amazing. It is the first time I have ever felt that I want to write thank you notes to each person at a resort. They are unbeatable.

Pam & Tony, who own FB, welcome each of their guests as their own family. They are so warm and down-to-earth. Donna, and her husband Mark, are extremely outgoing and accomodating; the first day we arrived, Donna showed us around, and even offered to drive us to the New Bight store to get anything extra for our stay. Mark offers eco-tours and snorkeling trips, and he is just a wealth of knowledge. Either one of these exursions are well worth it! On our eco-tour, we saw over 9 baby sharks, it was such a unique experience. We look forward to booking another trip with him on our next visit. Evan is a person who makes you feel comfortable the moment you meet him. He has such a special gift with people, he is so accomodating and helpful. He showed us around Cat Island and provided such great information, we look forward to seeing him again!

All of the people we met were return visitors--most who have been visiting for around 30 years. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests during cocktail hour, they were all so wonderful. I felt it spoke volumes about FB that so many people--who had the means to visit other places--chose to return to FB over and over again. Their testimony is so true--you have a beautiful beach, amazing people, accomodating cottages on the beach, good food, what else could you ask for out of a vacation?

As many travlers have said before me--this is not the place to go if your are high-maintenance. It's okay to admit if you are, but you probably wouldn't be at home here. We LOVED the outdoor shower/bathroom, the rustic feel, and layed-back atmosphere, but it's not for all people. We ate dinner at the resort every night, and the food was AMAZING! The cooks and wait staff were so sweet and helfpul. Food and items are more expensive because of the shipping, but there are definitely ways to regulate your costs. The best way is to probably shop on Nassau, Fort Lauderdale, etc. before you fly in, and just get whatever food or beverages you would like for your stay. And as other travelers have said--bring your bugspray! We did get eaten up by the sand flies and looked like we had the chicken pox by the time we left. But the experience was well worth it!

Also, I've read complaints about the gratuity on the honor bar--remember that it takes someone to re-stock and keep everything available for guests. All of the staff work very hard to keep up FB, and they deserve every penny of that inclucded gratuity. It's not cheap to keep a resort running, and so if you are looking for a "bargain trip", I would recommend finding a vacation package somewhere else. You may spend a little extra at FB, but it is worth every penny--this is a quality place with people you will miss after you leave. It is hard to find a pocket of the world like this, we are so thankful we did, and look forward to our return!

Jenn & Dustin

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJMayOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I was hunting around at the end of 2008 for an island vacation for my husband, myself and what would be a 1st island vacation for our 2 children. Looking for a lovely beach, calm waters, a serene setting, and the option to eat at our villa or at a main building- et viola- FBV. Donna and all of the staff at FBV were so genuine, helpful and warm- the villa, was clean and had a very authentic feel. I loved the bedrooms in particular and the choice of ensuite bathroom or feeling the sun on you in the open air shower/bathroom. The kitchens were stocked with a little bit of everything you may need to cook and eat your meals- they were clean and everything was in very good working order- kitchens are quite old, but again- kept in very good condition.
Would I recommend FBV for all families with young children- that would depend on you & your children. Do your kids need lots of high energy activities (splash pools, rides, etc)- then this is not their place. Can they enjoy a lovely stretch of beach, small kayak trips, collecting shells, etc with their siblings/parents- then this is their place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S.CatP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, VA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Fernandez Bay, for us, was an enchanting vacation. This resort is the perfect balance between rugged and luxurious, and the people at the resort and on the whole of Cat Island are incredibly friendly. Thanks Donna, Mark, Kaylee, & Evan especially for over-the-top service!

Our room, Coral Cottage, was so peaceful. Open air and made of stone, it was not over-the-top fancy. But, the bed had crisp white linens, was very comfortable, and was practically on the beach! We awoke every morning to the peaceful sound of waves lapping on the shore. The bathroom was very "Swiss Family Robinson," all outdoor and not too fancy. The shower is completely open air, and it was great showering and looking up at palm trees, sea grapes, and casurina trees.

The food, although pretty expensive, was excellent. And, on an island this remote, you cannot expect cheap food since most things have to be brought in. We did have some local lobster and fish that was excellent. The club house dining facility and tiki bar are awesome! It is right on the water, and breathtaking!

There are many great activities for active lifestyles at Fernandez Bay. We would recommend kayaking down the creek to the blue hole, and going on the snorkel trip with Mark! What an experience!

We rented a car one day and drove to the Hermitage, and also to the north end of the island. What a beautiful place!

One word to the wise- if you need marble halls, casinos, and all the amenities that you have at home, Fernandez Bay is probably not the place for you. But, if you are looking for a genuinely friendly, active, casual, natural, and absolutely beautiful trip, then I would definitely recommend Fernandez Bay. It's unspoiled beauty is calling to us still. We travel to the Caribbean frequently but have never been anywhere twice. But, Fernandez Bay will be the first on our list to return to!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
163 reviews
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
13.4 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Property: Fernandez Bay Village
Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing