We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenwood Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cape breton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

41/2 hours by car, 3 planes, 4 landings, 40 minutes of innumerable island potholes ...One look at the beach made it all worthwhile. The beach is 8 miles long and deserted. We walked for miles each day and never saw a soul after we left the resort. The beach is wide and is powdery white sand interspersed with pink coral. The water is blue/green and endless. The resort was comfortable, the hosts gracious and helpful, the food very good and the guests eclectic and interesting. I stopped wearing shoes the second day. The resort has lovely relaxing atmosphere. There was great swimming,snorkeling and diving. Greenwood has their own boat and instructors. This is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. The 3 mile beach walk south to Little Winding Bay is a must-do. The only caution...bring bug spray, the sand fleas come out in late afternoon and by the time you know they are biting it is too late. Along the 8 mile beach you will discover an astonishing variety of debris from all over the world. It gives you incentive to clean up your act at home.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    27
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
64
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GGC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

A touch of true caring, pleasantness, and luxury in the midst of The Bahamas as it was many decades ago. The location (a fantastic beach), great meals and wonderful companions (the other guests) made this a remarkable experience.

Looking under the surface, you realize how hard it is for the operators to provide such a wonderful experience in a 1960's environment.. For example supplies arrive weekly via the mail boat. The the host, hostess, and staff overcome the additional burdens of "being off the beaten path" to cater to each guest's expectations. It exactly this environment that makes Greenwood such a treasure.

I only hope that I have the blessing of being able to return.

John Sporck

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuanaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Greenwood is an amazing place, run by people who know the island and the business. The location is unexcelled, and snorkeling off the beach is the best on the island. A bohemian resort, very clean, with some of the best beaching in the country. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The folks know diving (not a surprise when one learns that Waldemar is one the best known divers in the world). Compare it to Fernandez Bay from a price/value/quality standpoint, and there just is just no comparison. Greenwood is the best deal on the island for resort accommodations.

I would encourage folks to do meals occasionally elsewhere. I suggest the Bluebird for a great Bahamian lunch or early dinner.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salmo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My 25-year-old daughter wanted to go on dive trip for her 25th birthday. We had been to the Bahamas years ago and enjoyed it, but I was looking for some place unprentious and more secluded with a great beach, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good food. Boy, did we find it. Greenwood is quite simply one of the real hidden gems in the Caribbean -- and we have now visited a lot of it. The water is beautiful, the eight-mile beach deserted, the accommodation very adequate, the island fascinating and laid back and the food fabulous. Owners Anna and Voldemort knocked themselves out to accommodate us -- literally and figuratively. (Voldemort even held my wife's hand for an hour while snorkeling because she's not all that uncomfortable swimming.) The reefs are great, and they start just feet from the beach in front of the resort. Voldemort is a veteran diver with fascinating stories to share, and his preparation for our scuba diving in the hotel pool was professional, reassuring and effective. The dive he led us on was a high point for my daughter -- and for me. Another plus was the young German staff, the great, local food and the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a much needed rest at the Greenwood in May 09. We were cheerfully greeted by the on-site owners. The rooms are clean and accommodating. Meals are served family style and delicious with flavors of Germany and the Bahama's. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel right at home. Our top 5 reasons to head to the Greenwood in on Cat Island are: 1. Isolated private location with miles and miles of unpopulated pink sand beaches. 2. Crystal clear water in shades of shocking blue and green. 3. Great food and company. 4. Peace and Quiet. 5. A great location to rediscover life without interruptions! We'll be back......

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Beautiful, secluded beach and simple, charming hotel made for a relaxing vacation way off the beaten path. There were kayaks, scuba equipment, and bikes for us to use. Food was delicious as well. We stayed a bit early in the season and the pool was empty/being repaired so we did not see it is its full glory. The only downsides of staying here was the ride from the airport was expensive (50 dollar cab ride, no other options available) and for such a simple hotel the >100 dollar per night cost seemed way too much. Also, the food is not cheap and there really is no other option of food for most of your meals. Ended up spending more than we were hoping to.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatswhatshesaid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

My husband and I spent 9 wonderful days at Greenwood last July for our 20th wedding anniversary! It was so beautiful and peaceful. The rooms were clean and the food was wonderful. The staff was fabulous and very helpful. We will certainly go back again!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.9 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
163 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
13.4 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.7 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Beach Resort

Property: Greenwood Beach Resort
Address: 1 Ocean Drive | Port Howe, Cat Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwood Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Greenwood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Beach Hotel Cat Island
Greenwood Beach Cat Island
Greenwood Beach Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing