We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Pigeon Cay Beach Club was absolutely the perfect getaway for our 20th wedding anniversary. The cay is beautiful - crystal blue green waters tempting you meters from your perfectly furnished bungalow. The beach was nearly deserted, and made for nice long romantic walks. We kayaked, snorkeled, road bikes, played golf, made sand castles with ridiculously fine sand and enjoyed the club's other activities. The hosts, Leslie and Ned, were gracious, friendly and down to earth, really great people, and the staff, especially Georgianna, were fabulous. The nightly meals prepared by chef Ned were delicious, and the honor bar provided just the right level of make yourself at home comfort. I would highly recommend Pigeon Cay for your next romantic and quiet getaway!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
94
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our family spent 10 days at Pigeon Cay in early August 2014. We have three kids, ages 19, 10 and 8, and we had all the room we needed and the options we needed for a really great family vacation. You can make a trip to Pigeon Cay into whatever you want, with a little planning. The option to stay at the hotel and beautiful beach will surely be relaxing. There are no words to describe how beautiful the beach is, and it is steps from your door! You can also have as much adventure as you can handle, if that is what you want to do. Cat Island is the real Bahamas!
We stayed in the Boyles cottage, with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The kitchen was large and well stocked with cooking utensils, pots, pans, dishes and a purified water cooler which was a definite plus. We cooked many meals in the cottage and it was very easy. The Boyles cottage has no air conditioning, but the ceiling fans and the island breeze were fine for us. It cooled off every night and we were fine without AC. Ned was great about giving us ideas for adventures and directions. Here are some tips:
Groceries and beer/wine:
We borrowed a car (Ned rents it out to hotel guests) and drove to a grocery store just south of Pigeon Cay (about a 20 minute drive), near the Bank of Bahamas. The grocery store had everything we needed, from eggs, milk, cereal, chicken, fruit and beer (Kalik!). The grocery store in Orange Creek was cheaper, but did not have as large a selection of food items or alcohol.
The beach:
The water is crystal clear, Caribbean aqua and the sand is incredibly soft. On days when the waves were a little higher (2-3 foot swells), we got to surf, kayak and boogie board. On days when it was calm, you could stay in all day. The water is so clear, clean and warm, you may never want to get out. Pigeon Cay has ocean kayaks, boogie boards and paddle boards available for free use for all to use.
The food:
Ned cooked a gourmet dinner for us three of the 10 nights we were there and the food was excellent. We did not choose off of a menu, but he asked us what we wanted before each meal. Dinner is served family style, where all the guests sit at one table. We had one breakfast also and it was very good, with fresh fruit, eggs, sausages and the best toast and butter. We went to Da Smoke Pot one night with many of the other guests and enjoyed a great meal. The sweet and sour conch was one of the best meals I have ever tasted. My wife and kids enjoyed the food as well. We also had dinner one night at Kizzie's (she owns a restaurant just north of Pigeon Cay and works at the hotel) and it was outstanding. We were the only ones at the restaurant. Ned took our food orders in the morning and we just drove to the restaurant around 6:30 and Kizzie had everything started. We caught a decent size conch one day and Ned had the cook at Pigeon Cay make it into very tasty conch fritters, then we cleaned out the beautiful pink shell and packed it in our suitcase to bring home as a souvenir.
We also ate at Yardie's one night. Yardie has more food options (you don't need to order in advance) and cooks some reasonably priced, great tasting food. Our kids had cheeseburgers and fries, and the cracked conch was delicious. Yardie made conch salad for one of our dinners at Pigeon Cay, and it was one of the best I have ever had.
Adventures and things to do:
We took the bikes down to the church just south of Pigeon Cay and went snorkeling one day, and discovered the graveyard that was unearthed by a hurricane. It was creepy and cool at the same time. The snorkeling was pretty good around the point.
We did the 45 minutes walk to Man o' War point at the north end of the island near Shanna's Cove. We had great pizza at Shanna's restaurant, then walked the 45 minutes to the Point. It was an adventure, as the banana spiders were HUGE, and the cicadas and bees kept us busy. The beach at Man o' War Point is worth the hike, both for its incredible beauty and great snorkeling. If you hike there, check out the beach (when you can turn left on the trail) and the underwater caves. If you make it to the Point to snorkel, head to the tip where the Atlantic Ocean has deeper reefs.
We drove to Mount Alvernia and hiked up to the Hermitage. It was definitely worth the drive. The hike is uphill, but not too hard. The Hermitage is incredible. We could not believe Father Jerome built that himself!
We also biked to the Atlantic side one day to snorkel. It was a tough ride, over rough roads. We found a bunch of baby chicks just born on the way and got to snorkel at some great reefs. We saw a really large barracuda that scared us out of the water.
Ned arranged a boat trip with Charles to Alligator Creek one day. We chased sea turtles in the boat (they are very fast swimmers), got to snorkel through the mangroves, then Charles took us about a half mile off shore to snorkel on a few reefs. We saw reef squid, strawberry grouper, sting rays and a really big Nassau grouper. We highly recommend a boating trip with Charles.
The bugs:
The mosquitoes are tough at dusk, but they stay away when you put on bug spray. Ned told us to buy and bring 100% deet bug spray, which we bought at Sports Authority. The worst of all were the sand fleas, or "no see 'ums." All of us got bitten pretty bad, even with bug spray and baby oil. We heard from the locals that the "no see 'ums" are around from May to October, and they took their toll on us. We all had bites all over our legs. Try not to bring beach towels into the house. We saw a couple of water bugs in the house, but we took care of them. Everything else was manageable.
The stars:
If the moon is new or if it sets early or rises late, make sure you get outside to see the stars. The stars are incredible, with thousands in view and a full, clear view of the Milky Way right above.
Family time:
There was no TV in our room, and the WiFi was spotty at best. We played a different game almost every night in our room, borrowed games and books from the library at the main house. We played Clue, Apples to Apples and a bunch of card games. Our kids were drawing most of the day after 5 or 6 days and we all hung out together every night. How many times does that happen on vacation? Our oldest daughter runs cross country in college and kept up with her training by running every day. She could run one mile each way on the beach at low tide, and ran several miles on the main road later each day. Our younger kids got to explore and search for land crabs in the many holes next to the road, shells on the beach, hermit crabs on the paths and lobster in the rocks just offshore. We got to unplug, go on adventures and just be together for 10 days. It was a great break from our hectic lives at home. We were delayed almost 4 hours in Nassau on our way home and there were no fights, crying or upset moments, mostly because we were relaxed and recharged from our week at Pigeon Cay.
In summary:
You get whatever you want at Pigeon Cay and Cat Island. The beach is breathtakingly beautiful, as is the rest of the island. The people are friendly and helpful. This isn't "The Atlantis". If you want to be with a lot of people or be catered to, this isn't for you. If you want to get away to a beautiful gem of an island that is undeveloped and unspoiled, come to Pigeon Cay and Cat Island. Just ask for anything you want. Ned, Leslie and the rest of the Cat Island residents can help you make your vacation into a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: Call Ned or Leslie and tell them what you need in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deo741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is the perfect place to just relax and lay on the beach. You can go kayaking if you want or paddle board if you want or just lay on the most beautiful beach you'll find anywhere. If your looking for all the amenities of a resort this is not for you. The owners, Ned and Leslie Kennedy, are great host and hostess. Dinner is served about 3 times a week and served communal style. Great for meeting everyone. There are restaraunts if you want to go out or you can cook your own. All the cottages are self-sufficient and there are markets. If you need to drive somewhere you can use the car they have available for a nominal fee.
Long story short, If you want a place to relax that's kind of off the grid and recharge the batteries Pigeon Cay is perfect.

P.S.

I highly recommend Da Smoke Pot restaraunt. We went there as a group and had a blast. Good food and live Rake n Scrap music.

Room Tip: The Sea Studio is a little small. We stayed in the Winston which was a 1 bedroom and perfect for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I spent the week of 7/18 -7/25 2014 at PCBC, and it was everything I'd been hoping for. At the risk of being redundant, the beach is breathtaking: crystal-clear water, and the softest sand I've ever touched. We stayed in the Windsor, one of the 1-bedroom houses. It was lovely, but when we go back, we would probably choose another house, because the living room furniture in the Windsor isn't great for lounging. But the view was incredible, and we spent a lot of time at the table on the patio.

Ned, the owner, prepared dinner two nights, and both meals were delicious. Ned will let you know as soon as you get there which nights he'll probably be cooking, and make sure that works with your schedule. He'll make sure you're set up to get to the grocery store, and will have a car ready for you at your convenience.

If you've read the other reviews, you've read about the "no-see-ums", so let me just say: take them seriously!! I, unfortunately, am one of those people that they seem to love to bite around the clock. Take PLENTY of 100% DEET (I ordered mine on Amazon), and use it!! They're so tiny, they can actually get inside the mesh of a screen, so if you're one of those people they love to bite, you're going to need the DEET. But for plenty of other people, they're not a problem at all.

We basically stayed at the resort most of the trip. We ventured out for dinner one night, to what is supposed to be one of the nicest places to eat on the Island, but honestly, we weren't impressed (which is why the restaurant will remain nameless). We enjoyed our dinners at the beach club, and the dinners we cooked for ourselves, much more. We also drove around the island and saw some beautiful scenery, and had a delicious lunch of conch and jerk chicken at a wonderful little place. But otherwise, there was no place more perfect than right where we were staying!

If you need to truly relax and de-stress, you're not going to find a more perfect place than this lovely resort on this lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you read the other reviews this one will sound redundant, but that speaks to the obvious consistent experience you will have at PCBC. We were greeted right out of the cab by Leslie (and Daisey and Hopper - the sweetest dogs). Immediately escorted to cottage, I stayed in The Winston, and invited to settle in and take a relaxing dip in the water before dinner. The accommodations are basic but more than adequate and comfortable. Everything is incredibly clean and in its place. Plenty of towels (beach and bath) as well as basic amenities (and lots of body lotion in case you enjoy too much sun). There are windows all around the cottage and the breeze off the water and the sound of the waves creates a tranquil back drop to a comforting first impression.

The grounds are immaculately kept. You are just steps from the porch to the water. There are no words to describe the beaches and the water. The sand is beautiful white and powdery (not gritty like some Caribbean beaches). You just sink in! Looking over the water, there are 3 shades of blue contrasted by the blue sky above. Crystal clear and inviting. Walking into the gentle waves, the stress and tension just melt away.

On the beach you will find lounge chairs, hammocks (I think I wore one out as this was my favorite spot), kayaks, and water boards. Also on the property you can grab any kind of water gear you need. Things I never took advantage of but are available include a library and closet full of games.

Dinner was wonderful. Since I went in beginning of off season (I was there June 21-28, 2014) meals are not available every meal. You can expect dinner your first and last evenings and probably some in between depending on bookings and guest preferences. Leslie made me a delicious breakfast one morning but the others I just had yogurt in the cottage that I picked up on run to grocery store. Early in your stay, you will need to take the car and run up to Orange Creek Inn and Store (about 20 minutes north) to stock up on what you might need for your stay. There are a couple of stores within biking distance for a light load, but check first to see if they are open. Expect island prices but selection at Orange Creek, while not extensive, was impressive. You will want to experience the local eating spots as well. Not everything is open all the time, so you have to check ahead, but Ned and Leslie can help you with those. One night, all the folks at PCBC split a cab and went to Da Smoke Pot and enjoyed authentic Cat Island fare (Leslie arranged everything for us). Also one evening Leslie took our orders and arranged for Yardie's to bring us dinner. There is a tendency to be anxious at first about the meals, but don't be. Trust Ned and Leslie and visit with them, you will be taken care of.

One day I took one of the bicycles, available free to the guests, and biked over to the Atlantic side to snorkel. The waters are beautiful, more rocky cliffs but same great sand. Another day I used Ned and Leslie's car and took about a half day trip (charged me about $40) to the south part of the island. If you are in Bight, be sure and eat at The Bluebird (she was serving chicken and lamb the day I was there and it melted in my mouth). Also you have to take the hike up to The Hermitage (probably the one touristy thing on the island). Be sure to check out the cave Fr. Jerome lived in that is off the little path and down the hill behind the structure. The main road (only one running length of island) is an asphalt shlalom course with many pot holes and side roads are rock and sand. Only disappointment on the island is trash on roadside (they obviously like their beer here). But the people are so friendly and helpful.
You don't really need to rent a car if you are just going to make runs to store or lunch. And you probably wouldn't need car for more than day even if you were going to explore all the island. If you want to rent one for the day, Leslie and Ned can arrange it for you. You will find everything, even the drinks at the honor bar, reasonably priced at PCBC. Housekeeping is provided and they are wonderful and friendly ladies.

As others have noted a unique creature here is called the no-see-em (like a little gnat). They are out about an hour after dawn and hour or so at dusk. I felt them bite but never left a mark on me. A few mosquitoes but not bad. Take some full strength DEET to wear at these times and you should be ok. Others were using baby oil effectively.

Ned and Leslie actually left for their vacation in the middle of the week but left us in the most capable hands of their friends Lee and Michael. Lee went above and beyond to take care of us (and I fell in love with her dog Jay who is my new buddy).

If you are looking for adventure this is not the island for you. If you want quiet and best place to relax, this is paradise. I came back from this trip the most relaxed mentally, physically and spiritually than I have EVER felt in my entire life. It felt like home and family. This will definitely be my place of rest and respite in the future. Five stars and Five Hearts!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms, except Garden rooms, overlook the beach and right on water. A couple are 1BR/1B others h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTexasTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a fantastic week here. The beach that reveals itself as you walk up the stairs to the houses is breathtaking. White sand, bright green ocean, blue skies. Ned is a really relaxed guy and after he shows you your little house it won't take you 30 minutes to feel at home. Leslie is a really nice, caring personality whom we immediately liked a lot. The houses are well-equipped (I especially liked to water dispenser with the cool water, the little grill, the abundance of towels). There is attention to details in every house and you keep discovering them for days. Then there is comfortable bar with the wonderful view. If you just want to relax and do not need much activities you couldn't find a better place in the whole world.
f you want any activity be prepared that you will need a car. Fortunately Ned has one for you. It's an old one but the island has only one paved road with lots of holes, so believe me you would not want a Ferrari here. The locals are extremely nice. This island is not a fancy tourist center. Be prepared to live village life. You will have to follow some no-nonsense rules, e.g. not having food left out on the table in a tropical environment. There are bugs early morning and at sunset. There would be on almost any tropical island without chemicals in the soil. Go out, shop for you food, eat at the conch stands, enjoy your time, find activities. For timeless beauty and relaxation stay at Pigeon Cay Club.
Dora and Karoly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

i just returned from a family trip to pigeon cay, and it could not have been more perfect! ned & leslie were amazing hosts. friendly people, amazing food, kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boarding, perfect views, and the beach all to our selves....perfect!

Room Tip: i didnt see a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
16.8 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
24.9 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
29.9 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Cay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Property: Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Address: Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arthurs Town, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Cay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Cay Beach Club consists of 8 cottages on a 3 mile white sand beach. We are located in the Northern part of Cat Island, 7 miles South from Arthur's Town Airport (ATC) 20 miles North of New Bight Airport TBI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pigeon Cay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Hotel Cat Island
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing