We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ned: rough edges but really a teddybear!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ned: rough edges but really a teddybear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

If we all could could just be appreciative of people operating "A" business
in the Bahamas.

Ned and Leslie are those people.
Everyone that visits a Bahamian island should act and be what you only are:
"A VISITOR". You don't have the right to be on private property and certainly have no right to criticize someone when he says "you can't walk my private beach".

Privacy is what Pigeon Cay is all about. Had you showed up on my private stay at Pigeon Cay and wanted to walk those steps to get to the beach, as a paying customer, I would insist you leave.
People pay for the right to privacy.
Ned has his right to protect my privacy and his own.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
93
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

nice private beach, beautifull ocean, great food (ask Ned for the lobster), good mix between relaxt and able to be active.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondintherough101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We just returned from 4 days at this remote paradise and have mixed feelings about our stay at Pigeon Cay. The location is stellar: gorgeous beaches, calm warm waters that are a sparkling shade of turqoise; no people around. The island is picturesque and all of the people you meet are friendly. You can swim, snorkel, dive or do nothing - perfect for us to get away from the pressures of life.

The stay at the beach club was mixed: the cottage was charming and in a bit of disrepair, but overall very quaint. It was right on the beach and there was only one other family there. Our mistake was coming in the off season when there was not a full-time cook on premises and Leslie was states-side. Left in the "capable" hands of Ned, our experience was spotty, ranging from a great lunch he pulled together one day, to a breakfast that was never served one morning. Ned realized it was a mistake, so insisted that he make us "anything we want" for the morning we were departing. Well, not only did breakfast never arrive the last morning, but Ned explained "that he had the twins and that means that sometimes guests are not the priority". Charming, eh?

My advice would be to confirm that Leslie is on premises for your visit and arrange all meals because the dining options are limited. I'm sure they do a great job in season, but we caught them at a time where they had their own priorities, our complete satisfaction not being one of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyinCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at Pigeon Cay right before Christmas ’09 and over New Year’s, and enthusiastically recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away from it all and relax on an unblemished perfect beach with an incredibly cosy atmosphere, feel-at-home lodgings which are beautifully furnished (small houses in effect) and wonderfully original owners, Ned, Leslie and their family who came to this paradise setting years ago to a burned out beach motel and rebuilt it from scratch into a collection of self-contained beach bungalows set in a several acre compound and furnished with taste, style and all you need to relax inside or outside during the incomparable Bahamas days and evenings. Each bungalow is different, and beautifully decorated by Leslie, who has great taste. Each has its own fully-fitted kitchen, library, dining area and (small but good enough) sound system outside pateos or porches right on the beach so that you can prepare your own meals or at least lunches/dinners as Pigeon Cay also serves great breakfasts. There is also a bar and communal dinners with other guests are served on the beachside bar and restaurant several evenings a week. The beach is almost empty, the water sparkling turquoise and clear and Ned and Leslie will help arrange excursions, rental cars and give you tips on how to get around. The resort also has wifi in every bungalow, which is very helpful when you need it. From the standpoint of great accommodations, roominess and privacy, Pigeon Cay is the best choice we have seen on Cat Island.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

My husband and I decided to take a trip to the Outer Islands for our 30th anniversary. This was our first trip to the Bahamas and we wanted to have private bungalows on the beach. We found Pigeon Cay and found paradise.... This setting was exactly what we wanted small and quaint with the most beautiful beach right out the front door. Leslie and Ned were very accomdating and wonderful people to get to know. They made you feel like family and we cannot not wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMC1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

My husband and I like to find out of the way little gems. Boy did we hit our mark with Pigeon Cay Beach Club! The perfect private getaway. It was quiet, peaceful and relaxing! It's nice to unplug from the stresses of everyday life and I do mean unpulg. No t.v., cell phones or pc's-thank goodness! We took long walks on the most amazing beach I have ever seen. The beach was clean and pristine with the bluest water I have ever swam in. We did some kayaking, fishing on the flats-across the street from the beach club, on the backside of the island and there was snorkeling, biking and sightseeing to do as well. But my favorite thing to do was having a yummy cocktail while basking in the sun and reading a good book! Because this beach club has only a handful of rooms(9 I think), you really get excellent service and feel relaxed not cramped like those overcrowded "hot spots". The rooms were very charming with some whimsical beachy decor. It was wonderful falling asleep to the sound of the waves, and waking up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee:-) A delicious and hardy breakfast was offered every morning but some mornings we opted out in order to get an earlier start on exploring the island. As for dinners, be sure to find out if dinner is offered each evening, and you need to let them know if you are staying for dinner. You have the option of cooking/grilling yourself which we did one night and it was kind of fun. WIth the help of the owners Ned and Leslie's pantry, and picking up a few items from the local grocery & liquor store, we were fine. The food was delicious Island fare and dining overlooking the ocean was just the best! We highly recommend Pigeon Cay Beach Club and will definitly be back:-)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

If you’re looking for a swim up bar, all-night clubbing, and endless trinket shopping you might as well rip up that plane ticket, Cat Island is not for you. It is an absolute “get-a-way from it all paradise”! Pigeon Cay, owned by Ned and Leslie is one of the best places we’ve ever stayed! The relaxed atmosphere of the Pigeon Cay, and Cat Island for that matter, is outstanding! Beaches that are out of this world are steps from the front door of the most fantastically funky little cottages. With only 7 cottages it feels like you have the place all to yourself. The staff at Pigeon Cay keep the cottages immaculately clean and the grounds well kept. We checked out a few other resorts on the island and found Pigeon Cay to be the most private, comfortable, and quaint of them all. It truly is the perfect little “beach club”.

I’m willing to bet that any of the negative on here is from people that were just wound too tight and couldn’t let go. Everyone working at the resort as well as everyone we met on the island was extremely friendly and helpful. I suggest renting a car (arranged by Leslie from $75-$100) for a few days of exploring. Bikes, Kayaks, Canoes, snorkel gear all comes free at the resort. Get groceries and liquor when you arrive off the plane because the taxis aren’t metered! If not on too much of a budget, forget the food and groceries and Pigeon Cay has everything you need. Breakfast every morning and dinners every night, but you will need to give them a heads up. Very casual setting at the honor bar……or they’ll just bring dinner to your room!

Bring along some bug spray for the evenings……there are little “no-see-ums” around some nights that will riddle you with bites if you’re out on your private deck, wondering the beach in the evening, or visiting with other guests at the honour bar. The bugs didn’t bother me, but my wife was itching like crazy.

We were thinking when we landed……what are we going to do for 2 weeks!……..but we didn’t even scratch the surface of what we wanted to do here. World Class bonefishing in every flat you see, snorkeling and exploring if you rent a jeep or venture on the bikes. Kayaking, skin boarding, relaxing on the quiet beach with a great book, surfing on the windy days, the Hermitage, caving, the blue hole, offshore fishing, exploring all the small villages and towns and chatting with all the super friendly locals. I could just go on and on about how great this place is……..but think you should just see for yourself if you make it to Cat Island!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildernessjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
25.2 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
10.5 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#6 of 9 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
17.1 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 3 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
32.3 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#5 of 9 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Cay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Property: Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Address: Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arthurs Town, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Cay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Cay Beach Club consists of 8 cottages on a 3 mile white sand beach. We are located in the Northern part of Cat Island, 7 miles South from Arthur's Town Airport (ATC) 20 miles North of New Bight Airport TBI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pigeon Cay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Hotel Cat Island
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing