We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place simply "gets it"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place simply "gets it"”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Believe the reviews. You will run out of superlatives to describe this place. Your stay here will be the benchmark that you measure your travels too. From the owners to the housekeeping and kitchen staff, everyone here will make you feel like lifelong friends. Everyone thinks "if I was in charge I would do things right" .... well these folks have. Remarkable with this level of attention to detail is that the place is still an incredible value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
231
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We visited back in March for a full week and had a wonderful time. It is rare that you are still talking about a vacation spot, on a regular basis, four months later. We can't wait to go back. Please try the Greek pizza, we sure do miss that.

You can read the tons of other reviews for more detail, but I wanted to give a few quick tips. Be sure to bring your own toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, etc. These were not in the room. We also brought our own beach towels, as we love an oversized and fluffy towel, as opposed to the bath sized, thinner towels that were available. Do wear sneakers and bring a bottle of water if you go on the hike. Some parts of the trail were a bit tough to walk on and sandals would not do. There is a shelf of books in the dining room that you can borrow from, if you want to avoid having a bunch of books in your suitcase. Frank will take you to and from the airport, and it is about a 15 minute ride. Do check out the gift shop on site, it had some cute items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank purplejenn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexa2586
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been trusting tripadvisor for years to help us with our vacation selections, and we couldn't believe there was a resort with only perfect reviews. Surely, these other reviews just haven't travelled much or had different standards, because a place like te one depicted in the Shannas Cove reviews couldn't exist.

Much to our surprise and joy, it does. Every review was spot on and Shannas Cove IS that amazing. Cat Island itself is beyond gorgeous, but the real gems are Gabi and Frank. Don't let their laid-back persona fool you: they are consummate professionals and wonderful hosts. They make it clear that you are their guest and it is their priority that you enjoy your stay.

The rooms are large and clean, views are spectacular, the food is wonderful, and we loved kayaking in the clearest water we've ever seen.

We have already booked our return trip for April 2013, this time bringing friends. We can't wait to experience paradise again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexa2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta,Ga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Wow!!! What a trip! Traveled in early June for a week and I wish we had stayed longer than a week.Accommodations are good.Service is excellent.The food is "out of sight".Frank and Gabi are two of the most incredible hosts.They do everything they can to make sure that your time away from the "hustle and bussle" of every day life is so relaxing.The Food was delicious(thanks Marley and Tara and Patrick) and plentiful.Dinner is simply put,Outstanding!!!!The beaches are beautiful and secluded and the Scuba Diving was unbelievable.Thanks Rod and our world class "dive guide"(can"t seem to remember his name) for the wonderful dives and the beautiful spots.One night we took in the "local flavor" of the island at Da Smoke Pot.Julian and the gang were gracious hosts and entertainers as we all danced and play a little Rake and Scrape!! Hey Gabi, you still can rake and scrape with the best of em!! What a treat....
As I try to finish this review, I was like alot of people who had gone before us.Somewhat skeptical how some place had gotten nothing but excellent reviews.I only can tell you what I experienced personally.The best vacation my wife and i had ever had.It was so good that we booked another trip within the first week of our return.It was just what we wanted in a vacation.Very private and laid back vacation with good service and two of the most accomodating hosts. I am happy to of been apart of their "family" for a week(we love you guys).What a treat to get to know you and your staff and look forward to our return next year......

Room Tip: All rooms are the same except Dolphin which is bigger.Not necessary to be particular about rooms cau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCKAugusta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a fabulous time and cannot recommend Shannas Cove enough. The setting is beautiful, the food is fantastic, and the hosts are fabulous. There was zero stress -- we had nothing to worry about, no obligations. This made for a perfect honeymoon! We will definitely be back for another visit, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CnBtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Everything is true in all the reviews and more!
The resort is amazing by itself because of the setting but what really makes it a perfect holiday destination is the level of service and wonderful gastronomy provided by Gabi, Frank and all the staff.
It is true hospitality at its best, never too much, exactly what you need, to enjoy your holiday.
Gabi and Frank truly deserve all the credit, because they created an amazing resort.
We would definitely like to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wylie, tx.
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We recently retuned from Shanna's Cove Resort (we were there the same week as Erkanyay a previous reviewer). All I can say is that all the reviews are right on. It is a great place to unplug, and relax. Deserted beaches, amazing views, and the best food I have found on any trip. Frank and Gabi are excellent hosts. Frank took us on a snorkeling trip, and Gabi took us to a beach on the Atlantic side where we saw hundreds of conch shells on the beach. The bungalows are clean and comfortable. We sat on the deck and had coffee each morning, enjoying the beautiful water view. Tara and Molly took good care of us at mealtimes. We really enjoyed the people we met. The evening mealtimes were special as we all talked and got to know each other. If you vacation at Shannas you won't be disappointed. It is a fantastic place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Don't worry about which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eramp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
300 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
164 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing